BG 305, should I give second dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Artemisthecat

Member Since 2020
The vet prescribed 2.5 units of vetsulin twice daily. I’ve been told numerous times that this is very high to start so I’ve been giving him just one unit twice today. Took his BG at 7:45pm before eating and it was 251. He ate about 1/4 of his food (has pancreatitis a fever, and had ketones, was in the hospital earlier this week, I check his urine every time he pees, no signs of ketones as of 5pm today) and then gave him his 1 unit shot at around 8:40pm. Just checked his BG again and it’s at 305. Should I give him another 1 unit shot?
 
The vet prescribed 2.5 units of vetsulin twice daily. I’ve been told numerous times that this is very high to start so I’ve been giving him just one unit twice today. Took his BG at 7:45pm before eating and it was 251. He ate about 1/4 of his food (has pancreatitis a fever, and had ketones, was in the hospital earlier this week, I check his urine every time he pees, no signs of ketones as of 5pm today) and then gave him his 1 unit shot at around 8:40pm. Just checked his BG again and it’s at 305. Should I give him another 1 unit shot?
With ketones in the picture, and your cat recently being in the hospital, you don't want to skip the insulin shot either.

2.5U may be high, but if your cat was hospitalized for DKA, he may need the larger dose. We have no history on your cat, unlike your vet.

We are very data dependent here, so setting up our standardized spreadsheet (SS) will help us to help you better.
Sticky New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
With ketones in the picture, and your cat recently being in the hospital, you don't want to skip the insulin shot either.

2.5U may be high, but if your cat was hospitalized for DKA, he may need the larger dose. We have no history on your cat, unlike your vet.

We are very data dependent here, so setting up our standardized spreadsheet (SS) will help us to help you better.
Sticky New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
Thank you! Tomorrow I’m going to call the vet and have her advise me further. He just hasn’t really been eating more than a few bites today or yesterday and no bowel movements since Wednesday. I’ve just been worried about giving him too much because twice this week he was nearly comatose after his shot. Although I can’t be certain that it wasn’t the pain meds that made him act/feel that way. Regardless, I cut back on that too (with vets recommendation) and so far no more “coma like” behavior.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top