BG 22, new low.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mary hornbeck

Member Since 2017
can someone please advise me. My cats sugar was at a new low of 22 at the PMPS. After guving him karo and 1 can of good it went up to 315, should I still give him insulin? This was at 6p and now it is 7:10p
 
I have to wonder if the 22 was a wonky test strip.....anytime you get a number that's that "out of whack", it's a good idea to test again to make sure

Can you shoot again in 12 hours? If you can, I think you could go ahead and shoot now but I'd drop the dose back down, just in case that 22 was a real number

I'd plan on getting a couple more tests in tonight too just to make sure he doesn't drop back down (like a +1 and +2 to start with)
 
I have to wonder if the 22 was a wonky test strip.....anytime you get a number that's that "out of whack", it's a good idea to test again to make sure

Can you shoot again in 12 hours? If you can, I think you could go ahead and shoot now but I'd drop the dose back down, just in case that 22 was a real number

I'd plan on getting a couple more tests in tonight too just to make sure he doesn't drop back down (like a +1 and +2 to start with)
Judt got another reading:
6p- BG 22, no insulin, gave 1-2 cans of fancy feast and 1/2 teaspoon of karo
6:22- BG 315
7:22- BG 345
 
That's still an awfully high jump, even for Karo and lots of food

I really think most likely that 22 was a bad strip

How was he acting? Any different?
 
I am fairly certain it was a bad strip or the blood sample was way too small. If you ever get a weird number like that, retest immediately.
 
If nothing else, this has been a learning experience. Low numbers can be scary. It does look like a bad strip. It never hurts to do a recheck if you get an unexpected number, either high or low. I'm glad it all turned out OK.
 
In 2015 Squallie had a hypo with a number of 22 and was completely asymptomatic, so it can happen. However, I agree that in this case it was most likely a wonky strip, or too small a sample; the Relion meters will almost always give an incorrect, low reading if the sample is not large enough.
 
If she was that low she would almost definitely have obvious signs...

I'm assuming a human meter? Some cats can go real low and not get any signs. The guideline my vet gave me was that down to 36 on a pet meter (so guessing that could easily be 20 on a human one) there was no cause for panic (and probably no signs). Just putting that out there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top