? BG 176 at 12 hrs. Shoot or no shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuePea

Member Since 2015
I gave him 1 unit at 6:30a. His numbers rose throughout the day but just came back down. Should I give him another unit?
 
I would stall, don't feed and retest. It is a weird cycle

I didn't feed him. It's been another 40 mins since the original test. I'm going to try again in a few minutes and see what it says. Based on the margin of error and the fact that the meter runs a little low on cats, I'm wondering if I'm worrying for nothing. He could be sitting right at 200, right?
 
If he's rising and near 200, I think I'd give him insulin BUT reduce the dose. Anytime you get a long cycle with such a late nadir, it's a sign the dose is high
 
He started the day at 315 so I gave him 1 unit after the panic the day before when his numbers went wayyyyyyyy down. Then it went up at +3 and down at +7 and then down again for PMBG. I waited an hour & would you believe it didn't go up? It went down! It's now 155.
 
So either his body has finally figured out how the insulin and food work together, or his pancreas is waking up. Regardless, you have a unpredictable situation.

I wouldn't give him a shot tonight. He is still dropping so the insulin is still working or his pancreas is. He may be high in the am (after 24 hours since the last shot and/or because his pancreas got tired and went "back to sleep" for awhile.). Regardless, I would reduce the dose in the am - maybe .5?
 
This is looking very much like it did day before. Take a gander at my SS and you'll see what I mean. He went 24 hours without a shot b4 his blood sugar started to really climb. I was thinking just yesterday it would probably be some sort of miracle if his pancreas responded that quickly, but I sure wouldn't complain. If I need to, I could move to an even lower-carb food and still save money off the juice, I suspect.
 
I do have excellent news--he is no longer drinking like a fish! I think adapting to a two-meals-a-day thing is hard for him; as long as we've had him, he always could eat at will.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top