? BG 173 this AM, Should I give Rambo his insuling this AM?

Karrie Molitor

Member Since 2021
Rambo tested at 173 at 8:30 am. I am not sure what BG number you do not give insulin at. Should I give him insulin this morning?
 
Will you be home to monitor? If not when do you have to leave? Did you feed yet? If not stall, don’t feed, and test again in 30 minutes.
 
Well I gave him 1 unit because it was almost an hour past his insulin time. If it was 150, I probably would have withheld it completely.
 
Here’s your last condo for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosage-change-skip-tonights-insulin.252666/#post-2856585
It was a very safe number to shoot if you could monitor. Shooting 1.0 will probably not effect this cycle as the depot is in play. When you get a lower number than used to the procedure is to stall, don’t shoot, and don’t feed. Then you check again in about 30 minutes to see if the bg is rising.

Which dosing method are you going to follow? With SLGS you can shoot around 200 until you have enough data. Since you are only testing at amps and pmps you can’t do TR. Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes your cat. That requires some more testing, at minimum a curve every 7 days. Cats often are lower at night and I suspect that’s what is happening with Rambo based upon his higher amps.
 
Back
Top