BG 167 so I did not give Lantus...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Will&Laura

Member Since 2016
Kenzo's BG was 167 this morning at 645am so I did not give any Lantus. Should I give him half a unit tonight to keep up the "reserve" if it is still under 200 on Relion Confirm meter (which runs considerably lower than AT meter at vet)? I know the vet is going to think I'm non-compliant when I take him on Saturday because she told me to give him 2 units twice daily and I have cut back to one because I'm so afraid of him going Hypo. Any suggestions?
 
Kenzo got 1 unit last night and his BG was 165 again this morning at 615am. If it is in the 160's again tomorrow morning should I go ahead and give 1/2 unit. I am only concerned because I will not be home to monitor him if he goes hypo...
 
Would you suggest staying with 1 unit at night if his PMPS is over 280 and just doing 1/2u if in AM if AMPS is around 160ish range like it has been?
 
It is best with Lantus/Levemir to use same dose AM and PM since those insulins ae depot insulins and build up in the body. I myself sometimes use small differences in AM and PM dosing like 0.2 form my Patches II with a dose of about1 1/2 units
 
I'm so confused by all of this. I think as your said @Larry and Kitties it may be best for me to give 1/2 unit AM and 1/2 unit PM (provided that his numbers are in a safe shooting range) to see if his levels will be closer to range instead of doing 1 unit and him being lower in the AM and me skipping dose because I'm afraid to shoot. Also we are going out of town in a few weeks on a Friday afternoon and do not have anyone I can trust to check his sugar and give him his insulin for 36 hours. Is this going to totally mess up any progress we make with his dosing?
 
Sometimes, like this evening, Patches II was 45 so no full dose tonight. That happens not infrequently.
Thanks for the reply, Larry. What sort of effects do you see in the depot as a consequence of using slightly variable dosing? (Very, very interested in this because I'm struggling to give Saoirse insulin consistently at the moment due to my own poor health so I'm trying to find some way to minimise the impact of my shortcomings on Saoirse's treatment.)


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top