bg 0.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Betsyboo

Member Since 2020
We’re half hour away from nadir and her bg is 0.6! I’ve tried squirting sugary water in her mouth and giving her dry food. She has no symptoms
 
Have you tried maple syrup? A friend of mine (she's a vet) says it's the best thing. Syrup so it sticks to the gums and is absorbed quickly
 
Yikes!!!! Good catch!!!!

Keep testing, every 30 mins, for a while. You want to make sure that she can hold these rising numbers on her own, without the honey/sugar water, to make sure she's safe.

Great job!
 
Back on March 1st (1/3/2020 your date format, 3/1/2020 US date format), you had that BG of 2.8 mmol/L (50md/dL) and you reduced then.
Time to reduce now. Back down to 1U for the PM cycle on March 4th (4/3/2020 in your date format, 3/4/2020 in mine).

Those lows are why mid-cycle testing to find the nadir is so important. Without that, who knows how low Betsy's blood glucose would have gone.

Some cats can be more "sensitive" to insulin when they drop that low. Please monitor closely for the next few days if possible.

Was Betsy's appetite good today? Did she eat ok, about 20 minutes before you gave her the insulin shot?

p.s. I don't think the recent dates on your SS are correct. We entered a new month a few days ago, but you are still typing 02 for the month. Like we do when we go to write out a check and forget what month and year it is. :rolleyes: Leap day threw me off, since my old digital watch did not know about leap day this year. Kept telling me it was the 3rd of March when it was only the 2nd. :p

p.p.s What does the vet think about Betsy's BG numbers and the dose?
 
Yes she ate 20 mins before and was loving her dry food I was giving her during the low! She’s now bounced up to 19.7! She’s not eaten since though. Not sure if shes had her fill with everything I was feeding her or whether she feels wiped out. I’ll reduce to 1u tonight.
I’ve not sent my vet her curve since 9/2 when I upped her dose to get 1.5. I tend to get my advice off here!
 
Last edited:
Omg she was 20 at PMPS so I gave her 1u and now
1 hour later she’s 9.6! I can’t cope with her going that low again! Should I not have given her the shot tonight? I’m feeding her dry food now
 
You are going to need to feed Betsy until she passes the nadir point for her.

That will require some monitoring and guiding her BG levels with some food along the way.
That 9.6 (173) is not too low, But it is a bit low like you had this morning at +1.

Stay calm, don't panic, don't give her to much to eat at any one time. Please post again at +2.
A teaspoon or 2 of her regular low carb food may be enough to bring her BG numbers back up.
Dry food takes longer to be digested and get into the bloodstream.

Please keep the SS updated so we can help you.

Where are you located? US, CAN? Europe?
 
Ok, I'm on the east coast of the US. I'll stay with you and help to guide you with these low numbers.
Not going anywhere tonight.

I'll only have to step away for a few minutes to feed my cat her dinner. Be right back.

Please, test again no later than +2. Thank you.
 
A thought... how old is the battery in your meter? I mean, it's very possible to get these wild swings, especially on a powerful insulin like Caninsulin, but just in case...
 
Another possibility is that the low number was a bad test. Whenever you get a number that seems so different from a BG reading that you normally get, take another BG reading right away.

A bit of suspicion and a retest will not hurt anything.
 
Did you give Betsy any type of simple sugar along with the dry food you fed her this evening? Honey, corn syrup, maple syrup, pancake syrup, ice cream?
 
Last edited:
I’ve only had the monitor around a month but yes I’ll recheck again if it goes freaky on me again. I presumed it was the dry food lifting them up but it hasn’t done it that quick before.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top