Best feed schedule for Max

Status
Not open for further replies.

NoahFL

Member Since 2020
Hello again, sorry to keep posting so many questions, but there is so much to learn about diabetes and I want to ensure I’m doing the best for Max.

Due to COVID I’ve been teleworking since March and probably will be through August so I have a lot of flexibility when it comes to feeding Max (and my other 2 cats). What is the best feed schedule to aid in getting him regulated? Currently, I feed AMPS, +6, the PMPS.

Thanks much!
 
Hi Noah,

I feed smaller meals because that’s how my guys eat better so here’s what I do:

Amps 1/2 can of FF. Then I give them another 1/2 can within an hour and another 1/2 at the +2 mark.
+6 1/2 can of FF
Minnie gets a treat at about +8 so she can last until
Pmps where I repeat the amps routine

The main thing to know is that you should give the bulk of the meals around preshot times and then a few smaller meals as needed throughout the day, but try not to give much after +6, which is why Minnie only gets a few treats at +8. Makes sense?
 
Hi Noah,

I feed smaller meals because that’s how my guys eat better so here’s what I do:

Amps 1/2 can of FF. Then I give them another 1/2 can within an hour and another 1/2 at the +2 mark.
+6 1/2 can of FF
Minnie gets a treat at about +8 so she can last until
Pmps where I repeat the amps routine

The main thing to know is that you should give the bulk of the meals around preshot times and then a few smaller meals as needed throughout the day, but try not to give much after +6, which is why Minnie only gets a few treats at +8. Makes sense?

yes! Thank you. I may try this and see how he does. I kind of did this today, but was trying to avoid hypo!
 
When you get low numbers like you got today Rebecca, all the rules about feeding at set times "get thrown out the window."

Have you thought about a timed feeder, for when you go back to work?

Yes I have! Either get a timed feeder or have my oldest feed while I’m at work depending on her work/college schedule.
 
I would still give him a snack at +2 or whatever time you choose.
I’m not sure why you increased this morning when you had to skip last night ?

I made a mistake. I thought maybe that skip was an anomaly because the past 2 days he seemed regulated but still high. I missed the part where Deb mentioned he was clearing a bounce and to not increase. Still trying to get the hang of this. My previous sugar cat was diabetic and on insulin for just a few weeks, so this is so new to me. Never did nadir checks, check for ketones, feed wet only but I’ve learned to do them with Max.
 
Then I think you need to reduce the dose to 2.25 U as a drop under 90 usually triggers a reduction with Prozinc. @Deb & Wink
Yes, a drop < 90 mg/dL is an automatic dose reduction. Even if it occurs at pre-shot, or after a 1 hour stall, that low means you need to reduce the dose. Even is you ended up skipping the shot, you need to reduce the dose for the next cycle, when the BG falls < 90 mg/dL, per the Prozinc SLGS protocol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top