Benny's Pre Meal BG was 94, what do I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

girlboheme

Member Since 2015
I tested Benny earlier today for first time and it was 61. I was not expecting that so I retested an hour and a half later and it was 94. I thought at first I had messed it up. This is my first time doing this so I'm a bit nervous. I usually give Benny 4 Units of Novolin N after he has his meal. Now i'm not sure what to do. I don't want him to have issues. I do plan on doing a full day curve tomorrow but i want to know what you suggest I do tonight.

I'm not starting levemir right away. I lost too many days to be able to monitor him properly. I might have to wait till we have another 3 day weekend or take a day off to do it.
 
I just reread my intro thread and it was suggested not giving him any if it's under 200. So I'm going to skip it tonight, check him every hour before bedtime and spend tomorrow on a curve. I love it when I post when I don't need to. I was freaking out a bit.
 
I agree, skipping is the right thing to do with a pre-shot that low. You don't HAVE to test every hour tonight (though of course you CAN if you want to see what happens when he doesn't get a shot). A curve would be a good idea to see where the insulin is taking him during the cycle. :)
 
Going to be giving him his curve today. I checked his BG first thing this morning and its 226. Now. This is what scares me. I had to raise him to 4 units from 3 a few weeks ago because he looked terrible and was still drinking and urinating all the time. Raising it made a huge difference.

But I also changed their food. Previously he was free ranging iams indoor weight loss and hairball care. No idea what its carb content is. But my other cat started having bad tummy issues and had to switch to no grain. I hadn't checked his blood until now after this change and I shudder to think what could have happened.

I'm obviously not going to give him as much insulin as usual. Not sure what to give him but will do some looking around.
 
Testing let's you determine how much the glucose drops on a given dose of Novalin N.
If you check throughout the day, you will observe how that dose works with that starting glucose.
 
I think I'm just concerned about the fact that he's been lower than ever before and I didn't give him insulin last night. So I gave him 1 unit after he tested at 226 then fed him quite a bit and he's at 116 two hours later. I gave him the rest of his breakfast for a snack and will test again in about 20 min. I don't want it to drop significantly each hour. I know his usual lows hit between noon and 2pm and its only 9:30am.

Today is probably a bad day to do a curve to test insulin because I don't know what his usual numbers are with this lower carb food. I'm going to be nervous until this evening. Still doing a curve.
 
Thanks. Been doing that and feeding him lots of high carbs. Criminy. Thank God this happened on my day off. Just tested him again and he's at 57, not happy. I don't have anymore high carb foods. I feel a run to the store in the near future. Need to stock up for emergencies.

Edited to add: I just laced the food he wouldn't eat with honey and he ate it up. Tested his blood again and its at 64. It had been about 20 min since last time. So I will drag him out from his new hiding place and check again in a half hour. He's not particularly happy with me right now.
 
Last edited:
Well, he's at 206 last reading and I feel better. Goodness, that had me worried. Been having to chase the poor guy down, he's so sick of getting his ears pricked. Can't blame him!
 
That's probably the start of a bounce with that last reading. Unfortunately, that will mean your curve data won't be typical of an average day for him (unless that's happening with him fairly frequently), but it's a good thing you were running it anyway to catch him dropping quickly like that! Well done on handling those low numbers today. :)
 
Well done, you, for handling those low numbers! :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
Looks like a dose reduction is needed....

Benny will forgive you for the ear pricks. Don't worry about that. :cat:
.
 
Help! I just tested him twice just now and is showing a too high error. In just 2 hours it spiked over from 206 to 600+? Is that possible? Or is it catching up from when he ate a few hours ago? I tested my self and it works fine for me. I guess I'm nervous again. Grrrr. I have to give him insulin and no idea what he needs at this point.
 
Just tested a little over an hour after he ate. I had given him 2 units because of that hi reading I had double checked and his BG is now 167. I'm going to be as cranky as him in a minute. I will check again in one hour to see how fast its going down. After that I will either give him something to bring it up or go to bed. Unfortunately I have to work tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top