Benjamin AMBG 171 - Lantus dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cindyh

Member Since 2012
I updated Benjamin's spreadsheet, and I will get his profile set up today. But I am wondering about his am dose, stick with 1u? Thanks so much for all the help.
 
I would stay with the 1U.
I am having some trouble with your spreadsheet. For me it opens as an image with many spreadsheet pages shown and I cant zoom in to read it better.
 
Thanks, Larry. I think I have done something wrong with the spreadsheet, I'm using Google Drive. I need to figure that out too. But you can zoom in by using the tool on the right above those extra spreadsheets.
 
Please be sure to go to the Lantus board so that you can read up on the insulin and how/when to change dose, etc.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Here is a snippet from this post:

"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Thank you, Hillary, yes I have read it numerous times. I have previously posted with the issues going on with Benjamin right now.
 
Hi Cindy,
I looked at Benjamin's SS and saw you held the dose at 1u, which I think was the right decision. Going along with what Hillary posted, I think you should stick with that dose for 3-5 days, and then see if it needs to be increased or decreased, which will be totally dependent upon the numbers you come up with for the next few days. Today's numbers don't look bad at all. It is going to take a few cycles for the depot to adjust to the 1u doses. If you see any really low numbers, really high numbers or low preshots, then we can immediately advise an adjustment. But for now, it looks like a decent safe dose to me. The really determining numbers will be any tests you can get in the middle of the cycle, when the nadir is taking place. That lowest number of the day is the one used to base dose adjustments on. I personally think, and others will give you their opinion, that you should hold off on shooting if you see a preshot below 150, at least until you've built up a couple of weeks of data.
Also, feel free to post daily on the Lantus TR forum because that is where you are most likely to get "Lantus" eyes on any questions that might come up (especially if you need a quick answer).

Carl
 
Thanks, Carl. I'm pretty happy today. I certainly hope I can stick with the 1u for a few days and get him a little more leveled out. I will keep testing and see how it goes. I was able to find syringes today with half unit markings, so I feel more comfortable with that too, in case I need it. Thanks for the advice about the pre-shot number, I will go with that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top