Began insulin first time today

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Member Since 2011
Lucy began insulin today, after one year OTJ. I will do glucose curve in a week.

At least I know how to test now, and will be able to do my own glucose curve. And obsess.

I'm supposed to give her 1 unit of Prozinc every 12 hours,How much testing should I be doing in between now and then? I know I need to test before the injection, but should I be checking throughout the day also? I just tested her (15 minutes till next dose) and she is 326. It was 197 three hours after her (very first!) dose this morning. Should I wait a few days and stay on this dose, and call my vet then? Of course it's the weekend! I could stay with this does till Monday. Here we go!
 
Both those numbers look good, and yes, you need to give her a while to settle into the insulin. We have a great tool here - a color coded spreadsheet. It will help you keep track of her numbers and will help us answer when you have questions. Here are the directions:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

It is a little tricky; if you need help, just ask.

Besides before each shot, testing around 6 hours after the shot should give you a good idea of how the insulin is working - how low it takes her. If she was in the 40s at that time (nadir) you'd want to lower the dose. We also suggest that new diabetics don't shoot when the preshot is under 200, but wait 20 minutes without feeding (because food would raise the number and you want a "true" number to base your dose on) and retest. Not only do you want the number over 200, but you want to be sure it is rising, not falling.

It is overwhelming at first - a steep learning curve, but the more you learn, the more confident you will feel and we'll be here to help!
 
What type of insulin was Lucy on before she went OTJ?

I agree with Sue. If you can test at AMPS, PMPS and +6, stay with 1u unless you see a really low nadir for several days, that will help in trying to figure out how well she is responding to the Prozinc.

Carl
 
I just started a new thread, I don't know if I'm supposed to do that, or continue in this thread I began friday, I don't want to be a nuisance and don't know the protocol about posting a new thread or continuing on. So here I go, I am copying and pasting my post of three minutes ago and hope I don't get in trouble!


t's been 12 hours. I just started her Friday, and she's been between 265-324 every day for the past three days (since diagnosed Thursday). So she's had just four injections. I promise I will try learn to use the spreadsheet tomorrow. It will probably take me all day to learn. I tested her five minutes after she ate.

I have the insulin ready in the syringe but don't know what to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top