Been away for a while

Status
Not open for further replies.

lildude

Member
Sorry I've been MIA. Life has been on the not so fun side... :roll:

Well, I was reading some more on this site & saw that for diabetic cats a good BG reading would be between 100 (at peak) and 300. Lil Dude's BG readings have been 250-350s range. My question really is this OK or should I try to get it a little lower. He's had a few dips of low blood sugar levels & one really bad day of high readings, but overall, his readings are staying about the same. He gets 2 units, twice a day right now, tho today I upped it to 2.5 units since it's still seeming high.

I am still trying to get the SS thing worked out, so it's still a WIP, but you can have a look and tell me what you think.

He is on Lantus & has been since 9/22/11.

TIA!

Robin & Lil' Dude
 
Welcome back Robin!

Well, "normal" BG for kitties is usually listed at between 50-120. Those are the sort of numbers you would get from a non-diabetic cat.

As far as what to do, and if you should try for numbers a little lower....
Well, it depends really on what you overall goal is. Diabetes can be a life-long manageable condition. People can live with it for many years. So can cats. However, cats can go into remission, and for many people, that is the ultimate goal. BUT, it doesn't have to be the goal. The goal can be as simple as "I want my kitty to live for many long years, I want him to have a good quality of life, and I want him to be happy". And with that goal, it isn't required that the cat go into remission, just that his BG is controlled to a point where that goal is possible. Some cats will never go into remission, while others will, but then relapse for some reason. As we say, ECID.
Living for too long with BG levels that are "high" can ultimately cause other problems.
In the Board FAQ thread, there's this, which may help you evaluate where you and lil dude are at now, and where you might want to be in the future. :
6. REGULATION

Q6.1. What is regulation?

A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
There may also be an extra category of "mostly above 300 (16.7) but with good clinical signs" which occurs with some cats who are getting insulin. We don't know why it happens, but such a cat probably should not be considered to be regulated. On the other end of the spectrum, it is possible for a cat who is not getting insulin to have blood glucose as low as 40 mg/dl (2.2 mmol/L) on a home glucometer. If you have a non-diabetic cat, try testing her with the same meter to get a safe comparison figure.

Q6.2. Which definition of regulation should be my goal?

A6.2. That depends on your individual situation. Generally, it's thought that a cat will suffer less long-term organ and nerve damage if his average blood glucose is lower rather than higher. However, because preventing hypoglycemia is a top priority, it may not be practical to try for normal numbers. The ability of your cat to respond to food and insulin in a consistent manner and your own ability to monitor your cat are both important factors in setting your goal. For most cats who are receiving insulin, "regulated" is a reasonable first goal, after which you can try for "well-regulated". For the lucky minority who can be diet-controlled, normalization is often achievable. It’s important to realize that some cats never consistently stay in regulation range in spite of all efforts, and yet they can be happy and healthy anyway. Ultimately, you should tailor your goals to your cat's individual situation, and you should always consider your cat's quality of life as well as the numbers as you evaluate how well your treatment protocol is working.

Ultimately, Robin, it comes down to personal choice. Observing 'lil dude every day, and seeing how he acts, how it looks like he feels, if he seems to be "good" where he's at. That will tell you a lot. It's quality of his life and your life that really matter.
Nice to see you posting again! Hope that the "not so fun" gets better for you,
Carl
 
Looking at your spreadsheet, I'm wondering if you are shooting too high a dose of Lantus. I think it is worth a try to drop back to 1 unit and hold that dose for 3 to 7 days. In order to get the full benefit of Lantus or Levemir, you have to "fill the shed" first. That means that the first few days on Lantus, much of it is sucked up in the tissue and once the tissue is full, then it begins to be released from the tissue into the blood stream to fully do its job.

You are doing an excellent job getting mid-cycle BG tests. Some worthwhile information is what is happening at +1 and +2. This will give you an idea of what kind of "rise" you are getting at the beginning of your 12 hr cycle. This data, over time, will educate you on whether you should shoot insulin if you get a pre-shot BG number you might question. Your other important data is the nadir . . . so data for +1, +2, & +6 can be very helpful as you try to establish a good dose.

Lana
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top