BeeGee too sweet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat

Member
I am in need of advice from experienced Prozinc user. If you look at my ss you can see we were going along just fine now all of a sudden high numbers. Yesterday her nadir was below 90 so I reduced insulin by .25 am I doing the correct thing? Please advise, thanks Pat and BeeGee confused_cat
 
You're using a human meter, right? (please put meter in your signature block using the control panel at the top left of the page)

I'm thinking that 1 unit doses are too high for him, and that he spikes after those because the insulin triggers compensatory hormones to release stored glucose.(aka 'bouncing') I'm almost wondering if you could try a day or two with no insulin and just monitor ketones and glucose levels to see how he does. What do you think about doing that? And most of us don't shoot below 150, and definitely not below 100 unless we are home to monitor every few hours.

He's on such low doses - have you considered using U-100 syringes? They let you adjust the dose in 0.2 unit amounts. (every half unit mark on a U-100 syringe = 0.2 units of a U-40 insulin.)
 
Thanks, using a human meter, Relion Confirm, I sort of feel she is on too much insulin also but needed confirmation from someone with more experience. I have had little to none luck on the ketones she won't urinate if anyone near plus I have two cats, one can only try.
 
I've a few tips on urine testing in my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools.

If you are using U-40 syringes, here are instructions for making a Reference Gauge This may help standardize some of your dosing vs eyeballing on a U-40 syringe.

If your state doesn't require an Rx for U-100 syringes, those would be better.
 
Thanks, I printed out your chart for future reference but did get the U 100 syringes. Think I will go without insulin as you suggested until Monday and work at getting urine samples, her breath smells just fine and she seems fine, any additional advice is very welcome. BG 4+182
 
Did it (maybe) Watched her like a Hawk, as soon as she jumped out of the litter box I put a test strip in the urine clump if all went well we got a negative. Someone should really make a movie :lol:
 
Testing urine in a clump doesn't work well, it's contaminated by the litter, or so I'm told. Try putting a CLEAN soup ladle under her butt when you hear her going or just stick the test strip under her. When Lucian is in the process of peeing, he can't turn it off, so I can get his test. BeeGee may be able to just STOP, but he can't.
 
If she goes over 200 mg/dL, try a small dose of 0.2 units,

Basic reference chart
U-100
mark = U-40 dose
0.5 = 0.2
1.5 = 0.4
2.0 = 0.6
2.5 = 0.8
 
Thanks, her nadir was high but she is very upset with me testing so much, I will stop testing until her +12 and if over 200 give the reduced dose of insulin, she is having a snack now and may calm down, I will also stop bugging her at the litter box
 
Just checked the U100 syringes there are 5 marks to the 10 so to give 0.2 I would give just 1/2 to the first mark ??? Package says use with U-100 insulin for 100 units or less, are there different types of U-100 needles? Woe is me.
 
U-100 = 100 units peer mL
U-40 = 40 units per mL, or .4 as strong as U-100
multiply 0.4 times the mark to get the U-40 dose

0.4 * 0.5 = 0.2 units of U-40
0.4 * 1.0 = 0.4
0.4 * 1.5 = 0.6
0.4 * 2.0 = 0.8
0.4 * 2.5 = 1.0
0.4 * 3.0 = 1.2
 
Sorry to be so dense but still confused, my syringe markings look like this


10 20 30
1111 1111111111 in other words there are only 5 marks between the numbers so to shoot 0.2 on the U-100 I would have to eyeball between the lines correct :?
 
So you do NOT have half unit markings, correct?
If it is only marking single units, then yes, halfway between them would be 0.2 units of ProZinc.
 
PM bg318 any suggestions as to dose?http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/images/icons/911icon.jpg
 
If you can get a before-bed test in around +2 or +3, that will help fill in some of the puzzle pieces. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top