Beau 9-23-10 am BG 87 ONE YEAR OTJ ANNIVERSARY!

Status
Not open for further replies.
What an unbelievable story.

Diagnosed May 2007, put on vetsulin. Unregulated for 6 months (not home testing - going to vet once a week for BG test).

Oct 2007 revisited FDMB and started home testing and phasing out dry food. Regulated in a month. Not great numbers, but not the 400s, 500s, and 600s of before and no more hypos (which I am sure was happening on 7u of vetsulin when he was untested!).

June 2009 switched to levemir. Started on a .5u. He never got higher than that and was frustrating to regulate. While overall the numbers were better than vetsulin, he would zoom to the 300s and occasionally drop to the 30s no matter what I did to the dose (decrease to .25u, increase again, etc.). Finally, I figured out he was in rebound and started reducing the dose. At the end he was on .05u.

Sept 23, 2009 - OTJ!

And today he weighs 9 lbs - up from the scary low of 8 lbs last Feb. He also has hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and hyperthyroid and is prone to pancreatitis.
 
Re: Beau 9-23-10 amPS 87 ONE YEAR OTJ ANNIVERSARY!

:RAHCAT party_cat drinking24

Yeah ONE YEAR OTJ!!!! Yeah Beau! Yeah Sheila!!!

YEAH!!!!

:mrgreen:
 
Re: Beau 9-23-10 amPS 87 ONE YEAR OTJ ANNIVERSARY!

One of the best Levemir success stories, if you ask me. And groundbreaking as well because you proved it's not always best to keep increasing the dose when you're getting 300s.
 
Re: Beau 9-23-10 amPS 87 ONE YEAR OTJ ANNIVERSARY!

Happy anniversary, Beau and Sheila!! Looking forward to your second anniversary!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT dancing_cat drinking24 otj_icon
 
Re: Beau 9-23-10 amPS 87 ONE YEAR OTJ ANNIVERSARY!

Its a party!!!! Tunaritaz an tunapizzaz an catnip cake!!!!!!! Congrats!!!

party_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat party_cat
 
Re: Beau 9-23-10 amPS 87 ONE YEAR OTJ ANNIVERSARY!

flip_cat CONGRATS SHEILA AND BEAU flip_cat​
 
Thanks, everyone!

LOL, I just noticed that I posted in the subject line that I tested his "amPS" number and it was 87! Can't be a PS - he doesn't get shots!

He is such a good boy and I am so proud of him.

Now, if I could just get Jeddie to give up the juice.....
 
Can't believe I missed the party!!! Congratulations Beau and Sheila! That is a great milestone to be proud of. Now Jeddie you need to take notes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top