alicia.1771
Member
It has been a month since we started Beau on ProZinc. He seemed to do well in the beginning but not so much lately. His numbers were pretty good when he was on 1.25-1.5 along with decreased clinical signs (less ravenous appetite, less urination and softer coat). So we started tapering him off as he had quite a low nadir on that dose. But his numbers started to go everywhere hitting the same low #'s on different dose and different #'s on the same dose. I have tried a few cycles with 0.8, 1.0, and 1.2 but have not gotten a consistent response. On Monday the vet suggested we increase his dose to 2.0 for one week and maybe consider switching to Lantus if he is not improving.
I'm quite concerned as his PS #'s has been consistently in the 400-500+ range for the past 2 weeks with nadirs mostly in the 100's and a few 90's/200's. I will do a curve tomorrow at the 2.0 dose but would like to get some input on the following questions:
1) Having such a high PS #'s with an acceptable nadirs in the 100's, is this telling us he is getting too much or too little insulin?
2) How come he responded so well before at a lower dose and not so much now at a higher dose? I'm considering lowering his dose again for a few cycles to see if his numbers improve before deciding to switch to Lantus, is 0.5 too little to restart? Is another week of ProZinc dose trial going to affect his response to Lantus?
3) He has a few bad teeth that seems to bother him and maybe we can use another urine culture (he had PU surgery which makes him prone to UTI, but he hasn't had one in almost 8 years and culture was negative last month). Should these be done before moving forward to another dose increase or switching to Lantus? How soon do you guys have your kitty's dental done after starting insulin?
4) Has anyone here switched from ProZinc to Lantus and got their kitty regulated or into remission? I'm a bit concerned about the strict 12/12 schedule, even though I have been able to keep Beau's shots within +/-1 hr of the schedule most of the time I don't know if I will be able to do that long-term on my own.
I'm quite lost at this point and would really appreciate any comment on our current situation and recommendation for our next step. Thank you all for the support!
I'm quite concerned as his PS #'s has been consistently in the 400-500+ range for the past 2 weeks with nadirs mostly in the 100's and a few 90's/200's. I will do a curve tomorrow at the 2.0 dose but would like to get some input on the following questions:
1) Having such a high PS #'s with an acceptable nadirs in the 100's, is this telling us he is getting too much or too little insulin?
2) How come he responded so well before at a lower dose and not so much now at a higher dose? I'm considering lowering his dose again for a few cycles to see if his numbers improve before deciding to switch to Lantus, is 0.5 too little to restart? Is another week of ProZinc dose trial going to affect his response to Lantus?
3) He has a few bad teeth that seems to bother him and maybe we can use another urine culture (he had PU surgery which makes him prone to UTI, but he hasn't had one in almost 8 years and culture was negative last month). Should these be done before moving forward to another dose increase or switching to Lantus? How soon do you guys have your kitty's dental done after starting insulin?
4) Has anyone here switched from ProZinc to Lantus and got their kitty regulated or into remission? I'm a bit concerned about the strict 12/12 schedule, even though I have been able to keep Beau's shots within +/-1 hr of the schedule most of the time I don't know if I will be able to do that long-term on my own.
I'm quite lost at this point and would really appreciate any comment on our current situation and recommendation for our next step. Thank you all for the support!