Bear 12-28 /AMPS 509/+3 355/ +6 398/ +7 400/ +9 387/PMPS 376/ +3 292/

Perfect! They are essential with depot insulins.

Go Bear!
Okay, I can be patient, but logic tells me the percentages are rising for ketones. If we are basically in the reds at +6 then his BG numbers could be worse than AMPS, unless his pancreas kicks in a little. Any thoughts, suggestions, or modifications because R is looking better to me as my concerns increase?
 
That difference between +3 and +6 is within meter variance so he's really staying somewhat flat right now. May not be as low as you hoped he'd go but remember those beautiful greens from yesterday caused a bounce and that is still in the picture. Keep testing Bear for ketones but I wouldn't introduce "R" into the picture again until you see how the Lantus is working for him unless there is a very solid reason to do so.
 
That difference between +3 and +6 is within meter variance so he's really staying somewhat flat right now. May not be as low as you hoped he'd go but remember those beautiful greens from yesterday caused a bounce and that is still in the picture. Keep testing Bear for ketones but I wouldn't introduce "R" into the picture again until you see how the Lantus is working for him unless there is a very solid reason to do so.

You are right his +3 and +6 aren't far apart but your solid and my solid differ a bit. Looking at other Lantus SS the numbers rise after +6. In my mind reds and sometimes blacks at the fringes of blue, yellow and pink during a cycle are less worrisome than in the middle. That gives Bear a majority of reasonable BG's with a smaller percentage of ketones. His +7 is a few minutes away so lets see how he's doing.

Please continue giving me your honest opinion, no matter what. I won't wilt and I adhere to facts and information.
 
You'll be fine! I can't recall - has he ever had ketones or DKA? If so, put it into your grey signature text. Aside from that, follow the advice of these very experienced people. They've mentioned TR versus SLGS. Have you decided where you want to start? You can switch if it doesn't work out.
 
That difference between +3 and +6 is within meter variance so he's really staying somewhat flat right now. May not be as low as you hoped he'd go but remember those beautiful greens from yesterday caused a bounce and that is still in the picture. Keep testing Bear for ketones but I wouldn't introduce "R" into the picture again until you see how the Lantus is working for him unless there is a very solid reason to do so.

He is holding steady at 400.
 
You'll be fine! I can't recall - has he ever had ketones or DKA? If so, put it into your grey signature text. Aside from that, follow the advice of these very experienced people. They've mentioned TR versus SLGS. Have you decided where you want to start? You can switch if it doesn't work out.
Yes he had DKA about one week after I started home testing him testing him. The end of September. I'm going with TR while I can.
 
your solid and my solid differ a bit.
I don't know if they would differ that much but Bear's ketones were tested yesterday and he was negative so adding "R" in now would just complicate matters because you don't know yet when he usually has his nadir with Lantus (some cats have later nadirs with Lantus) and day one on Lantus in the middle of a bounce is not likely to be a good representation of what his cycles will look like once the bounce is cleared and the depot is filled. If ketones enter the picture again, then you can re-evaluate the need for "R".
 
You'll be fine! I can't recall - has he ever had ketones or DKA? If so, put it into your grey signature text. Aside from that, follow the advice of these very experienced people. They've mentioned TR versus SLGS. Have you decided where you want to start? You can switch if it doesn't work out.[/
I don't know if they would differ that much but Bear's ketones were tested yesterday and he was negative so adding "R" in now would just complicate matters because you don't know yet when he usually has his nadir with Lantus (some cats have later nadirs with Lantus) and day one on Lantus in the middle of a bounce is not likely to be a good representation of what his cycles will look like once the bounce is cleared and the depot is filled. If ketones enter the picture again, then you can re-evaluate the need for "R".

You make some valid points. You know I trust you Linda.

My mind takes great pictures of the worst times of my life. I can see my half dead cat with glazed eyes starring vacantly with the most pitiful sounds coming out of his mouth. His coat looked so shabby and he almost looked like a horrific facsimile of a stuffed animal when he had DKA. I am just overly passionate when it comes to ketones.

On a positive note it spurs me on to do the best possible thing within my ability for Bear.
 
My mind takes great pictures of the worst times of my life.
I hear you loud and clear and can only imagine how you were feeling when Bear was so sick and how that preys on your mind. Ketones are certainly something that has to remain front and centre of plans with him going forward. If it would make you feel better, you could get your DH to add a line at the very top of your spreadsheet under the Date, AMPS, U, +1, +2 +3 etc. row and type in History of DKA the way he did the starting Lantus row. Then have him freeze the top 3 rows so they are always visible. That will ensure anyone offering advice will know and take that history into consideration.:D
 
Back
Top