Bear 1-05/ AMPS 443/ +4 316/ +9 340/ PMPS 420/ +3 505/ +6.5 361/

It's hard to say on the first cycle. I don't know about Bear, but I know my buddy Lou usually goes higher on the first cycle (New Dose Wonkiness). It looks like Bear had gotten down to greens on the previous dose just a few days ago, so I think a 0.25u increase was the safe option. Obviously the experts may have a different opinion, but I would see what Bear can do on this dose. Here's hoping he surprises you. :bighug:
 
Hello,

my cat was started on Lantus almost like Bear at the end of December.... this is why I'm monitoring Bear improvement and compare them to those of Wally.

I was curious to know the thoughts of your vet on the application of the TR protocol.

I'm trying to find some reasurrance, because my vet blamed me several time for the dose we increased so far in just 1 week... It's very frustrating to manage this situation.

I forwarded to my vet the TR protocol guidelines and havent received any feedback yet

I would like to hear your experience, and would be happy to know other caregiver experice with their vet..

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...d-vet-opinion-on-the-cure-of-your-cat.209064/
 
Last edited:
Here is another one tagged wrongly. I bet you thought I wasn't responding. :( @Wally & Stefano

My Vet is fine with me following TR. She has seen that I monitor Bear everyday and test for ketones. I show her Bear's Spreadsheet and we talk over how things are going.

Bear has had some of the best BG numbers on Lantus.

The biggest issue is his bounces and getting his BG under better control because I don't want Bear to have DKA again.

If Bear has good BG majority of the time then I know his body will make less Ketones.

Cats naturally make ketones and pee them out. It is when their BG is high that they make too many ketones, so much that they can't get rid of enough of them when they pee.

So it is very important for me to keep increasing his doses to keep his BG down. I think he will stabilize when he gets the amount of insulin he needs.

I have looked at other cats Spreadsheets and usually the doses increase foe a while, then go down majority of the time.

I know this Forum/Protocol was put together using a wealth of information and I believe in it. Not because I trust easily, because I rarely trust, but because I have looked and read so many Threads and have seen so many Spreadsheets and they show that it works.

I also read articles on diabetes and research that has been done and most everything I have read is also known here in this Forum.

Just remember Vets are humans and most humans don't like things they are unfamiliar with. Also keep in mind your Vet works for you and if you want to follow the Forum that is your choice not the Vets.

If your Vet can't work with you, you can find a different one.

I have changed Vets once. I found one that I can work with as a team. My new Vet is more up to date on cat nutrition and recent research.

I also watch your threads on Wally also. :D
 
Last edited:
I am so jealous of you Lora! I would love to find a vet who could be a true teammate in this with me. My original vet (who diagnosed Lou) was perfectly fine with me hometesting (because I'm a lab tech, so she figured I'd be more comfortable with it), but had issues with me using a human meter vs the Alphatrak. I'd send her the spreadsheet so she could stay up to what Lou was doing, and she'd call me trying to give advice that I didn't need. Every time she'd try to tell me essentially that my numbers aren't right or mean nothing because I'm not using the pet meter. I told her flat out it was cost-prohibitive. Finally, the next time I brought him in to be seen, I curiously had the other vet in the practice. I think the first just gave up on me. The other vet seemed a little bit more knowledgeable, and doesn't fight me on the human meter. She's the one who suggested we test Lou for acro, which was a pleasant surprise (I suggested we add the IAA test as well). However, we don't talk about dose or his diabetes directly. They basically just let me do whatever I want since I haven't killed him yet I guess. I had brought him in because of am vomiting and to test for hyperthyroid, and she brought it back to diabetes and suggested I go to an endocrinologist (who would be 3.5 hours away). She said things were beyond her knowledge because she's just a general vet. :rolleyes: I like this vet because they are less than a mile from my place, but I think it might be time to find another. Considering I don't bring him in for diabetes-related issues, I'm not totally sure it matters. But the thought of actually being able to bring up this forum and the protocols we use would be awesome! I'd love to work with someone more familiar with FD or willing to learn/work with me.
 
@Amanda and a Loudogg @Stefano

Amanda you and I have had very similar experiences. Vets are comparable to human M.D. s. They have a vast amount of health issues to cover and their education is based more on common health problems that will arise in their practice.
There is also the problem that as far as Feline Diabetes is concerned there is not enough research being done. Why? Research requires funding and is contingent on the probability of future profitability.
The majority of Medical Research that is being done is pharmaceutical with the expectation of lucrative gain.
The other issue is that Home Health Care for Felines is more proficient because cats are high anxiety/stress, with the need to at least minimally test on a daily basis and that can't be done adequately in an office setting.
That is why this Forum is amazing and priceless to those that deal with Feline Diabetes. (It has collected years of data that could only be gotten by home testing with trials plus errors and it didn't require funding.)
That is why this Forum has more knowledge than the majority of General Vets have and even some that are specializing in Feline Diabetes.

My Vet is my back up for lab tests, medications and general health only.
 
My recent experience that i want to share with you you is that I phone called my endocrinologist on new years eve (last week) when Wally was showing 4.4 on ketones blood meter as suggested by this forum members. Attention level on the manual is 1.6. The feedback I received is that we have to be patient and I don't have to do anything and wait to see the action of the current insuline dose (we switched 2 days before to 2u of lantus - we were on 4u of caninsulin).

Thanks to the forum I learnt that I should monitor ketones daily... (nobody told me before to test for ketones!
!
Also i learned thanks to you all that i could do something EASILY to make things a little better like give plenty of food mixed with fresh water and fast track on insuline dose.

I'm still waiting a feedback from the email i sent to my endocrinologist about Tight Regulation (that I guess he never heard before).
 
I tagged this incorrectly. I put Stefano instead of @Wally & Stefano (RETAGGED) I think I have done this a few times. :rolleyes:

Within the first week of joining this Forum and home testing, I was told I should test Bear for Ketones and I did.

He was in the moderate range and we went to the ER because it was on the weekend. Bear had DKA and this Forum/Members saved his life.

So you and I have also been on the same road. Bear's Vet had never talked with me about home testing, ketones and thought Hill's prescription dry kibble was the best diet for a diabetic cat.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top