Stacey, what is the "new Diet food" ? Sometimes the vet recommends the "prescription" food from the vet clinic, and this food, although canned and wet is still too high in carbs, as well as expensive. There is a food chart at the top of the Main Forum, that gives broken down info on many, many wet, canned foods. Many of us here on the board feed Fancy Feast classics and/or Friskies pates. No gravies or sauces. There are a great number of wet canned foods accessible either in local stores or via online ordering. I was urged to purchase the Hill's brand dry and canned food on diagnosis. Idjit wouldn't eat the canned food and both were too HIGH in carbs. Self defeating. We returned it for a refund and got on the FF and Friskies. Some of our kitties thrive on a raw diet also. Take a look at
www.catinfo.org for more in depth information on diets for cats.
It's time to get that signature done, so that members who want to respond have Baxter's information right up front. You aren't always going to be online to answer and vice versa. How to create a Signature:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/ This information can be updated at any time, going forward.
What kind of insulin? You will notice that the Forum Menu has Insulin Support Groups. Each ISG has informational "stickies" at the top. It would be a good idea to familiarize yourself with learning about that insulin, the procedures and protocols.
I learned that testing should be done prior to giving insulin, to ensure that it's safe to "shoot". Also to test at different times of the day, evening and night (if possible) to determine when the nadir (lowest BG point in a 12 hour cycle) is. Many of the insulin dosages are based on that nadir, not on the pre-shot test. Take a look at some of the members' spreadsheets, (not mine, I didn't help Idjit into remission correctly at all, was trying to work between advice here and vet instruction), when poof he was there! That's my baby boy! You are going to get lots of response on testing from more knowledgeable and experienced members. There are lots and lots of low carb treats. Freeze dried treats, low carb deli lunch meat, boiled or baked chicken breast bites. Don't forget treats for yourself, after all you are doing the work!
I will defer the question of where to get the insulin to others. Although you said you are supposed to start shooting tonight? Some members save $$ by ordering from a Canadian pharmacy, and depending on the type of insulin there are choices as to pens or vials. There is a Supply Closet here on the board with offers of insulin.
Simply, Stacey, there is a lot to learn at first, but it's doable. From testing to insulin to food to syringes and lancets, the information is here, in written form and via members responding to questions. I was absolutely overwhelmed, and unsure on arrival, but the members helped me, guided me and I am forever grateful. These people know what they are doing.