Baxter~Back @ IHOP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Very Active Member
I supect Baxter is back at his old ways. Hanging out with his buddies...Linus, Hershey & Grayson @ IHop. The last couple of days Baxters AM cycle have been flat.

I find this so frustrating. I thought he was doing well. I had just pulled him from a month worth of flat cycles. With a new bottle of ProZinc & new sliding scale.

I sure could use some advice or encouragement. Baxters SS is updated.
 
He is frustrating, Jenn. I like his numbers better at lower doses. I wonder if the upper end of the scale is too much insulin. He seems to have not responded well to one unit in the 300s, but responded pretty well to the lower doses at lower numbers?

Just an idea...
 
Hmmmm.... I'm thinking the opposite on this. If the pinks appeared to be bounce related, I would agree with Sue. But I don't see anything to lead me to conclude that he's bouncing. So to me, his numbers say "I need more". It looks like the lower doses aren't lasting 12 hours at times, too.
Carl
 
Meant to add....
What Lisa said in your prior thread. It could be that Baxter isn't a 12/12 kitty, and maybe 11/13 might balance things somewhat.
Carl
 
Carl & Bob in SC said:
Meant to add....
What Lisa said in your prior thread. It could be that Baxter isn't a 12/12 kitty, and maybe 11/13 might balance things somewhat.
Carl

I agree... this might be the ticket for Baxter!

BTW - I've been away too long ... when did Carl get a Zoe???
 
When doing a 11/13 shot schedule do you mean to give him is shot in the AM normal time which is 7 & PM would be earlier.
His Amps was pink & PMPS was yellow. The last couple of days it been opposite. So I am a little confused when to do 11/13. I usually shot at 7:30.

AMPS-332-1.0 fat
+5-301
+12-PMPS-223-.6
 
Lu - Carl didn't get a Zoe. Being his normal Carl self - he set up a SS for someone else's kitty. What a guy :-D

If you were on an 11/13 schedule and you gave the AM shot at 7 (and it was your 11 hour schedule) you would give the PM shot at 6pm. So, that cycle would run 13 hours. I think the reasoning would be to use the 11 hour cycle to catch him before he can go up that last hour. Hope that makes sense -
 
Baxter seems to do what Copper does when i give him a slight bit too much insulin. He stays high and flat. I will have to agree that the lower end of the scale he seems to do better. Just experiment a couple of days on the lower end and see what happens.

Hope Baxter gets back on good numbers. I know FD is VERY frustrating!

lori
 
Jenn,
PM Lisa because she can explain the logic better than I can. Basically you adjust the timing of the doses rather than the amount of insulin in order to get the preshots more consistent. Angela does 10/14 with Henry, and Lisa started using 11/13 with Cass and got results...

LuAnn,
Zoe is a DCIN kitty and I set up a SS for her beans so that it would be easier to see their data. It's actually the first time I've done a real SS. Bob never had one. Once I set Zoe's up, I set the permissions so that they could do the updating, but I've left it in my sig to make it easier for me to check how she's doing.

Libby,
You know I found it's actually easier to set one up and then adjust the edit permissions than it is to try to explain to someone how to do it! So if you see a new member needing one, and Sue isn't available, let me know. :smile: (Sue is still the resident SS geek!)
 
Hey, Baxter, it's Linus. Mom was telling me Grayson may come to Colorado, so I was doing something very special. I got on the thing where she does the typing, and I looked up where are the IHops, so Grayson and I can go when he comes here. Can you come to Colorado, too? We can all go to a Colorado IHop together. Here is the link. You can look for an IHop on your flat thingy. http://hosted.where2getit.com/ihop/index.html Look up Ft. Collins, Colorado. That's where we'll be. I'm having french toast and bacon.
yur friend, Linus
 
Cass was running high (low 300s) at amps & low (low 200s) at pmps. So I give amps at 3 and pmps at 4. So the high cycle is a short 11 hours while the.low is a.long 13. As usual, it took a few days to settle, but he settled in around 270/280 for.both ps's. (of coursw we're off track at the moment) Hope this helps!
 
Dragonfly229 said:
Hey, Baxter, it's Linus. Mom was telling me Grayson may come to Colorado, so I was doing something very special. I got on the thing where she does the typing, and I looked up where are the IHops, so Grayson and I can go when he comes here. Can you come to Colorado, too? We can all go to a Colorado IHop together. Here is the link. You can look for an IHop on your flat thingy. http://hosted.where2getit.com/ihop/index.html Look up Ft. Collins, Colorado. That's where we'll be. I'm having french toast and bacon.
yur friend, Linus
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Silly little kitties!!! Don't you realize your mommies read this too???!!!
 
Hey Jenn:
Sorry to hear Baxter is giving you fits again. We know that feeling all too well. Hopefully adjusting his schedule will be helpful to you guys.
Good vibes coming to you from us :YMHUG:
 
I thought Baxter was doing better!
hopefully he will settle down a little and stay away from pancakes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top