Baxter| 6/23 pmps 353, pm +2 321, 6/24 amps 298, +2 298

Baxterandbess

Member Since 2025
He's been at 5.25 for 6 cycles now. Would I want to do a full curve today or tomorrow before increasing his dose?

He's looking much better after some fluids but I'd like to see less of those going straight through him from peeing so much. Ordering ketone strips (somehow none of his urinalysis from the vet have ever detected them but I should be monitoring much more regularly)
 
With TR you can increase after 6 cycles if nadirs are above 200. A curve isn’t required, since you are testing at least once during each cycle as well as preshots. At this size of dose (over 5u), the increases are made by 0.5u. You could increase either tonight or tomorrow morning to 5.75u if you prefer to monitor a little more on the day of increase.
 
With TR you can increase after 6 cycles if nadirs are above 200. A curve isn’t required, since you are testing at least once during each cycle as well as preshots. At this size of dose (over 5u), the increases are made by 0.5u. You could increase either tonight or tomorrow morning to 5.75u if you prefer to monitor a little more on the day of increase.
Ahh, ok. Thank you for clarifying! Have you found most cats respond in the first 12 hour window of dose increases or the second? Or any variance with how long they've previously built up a depot? Just curious.
 
Ahh, ok. Thank you for clarifying! Have you found most cats respond in the first 12 hour window of dose increases or the second? Or any variance with how long they've previously built up a depot? Just curious.
Some kitties do in the first cycle or two, some need a few days on the increase before they show what the dose can do. Sometimes when kitties get comfy in higher numbers, it just takes increasing the dose to get through the glucose toxicity. With acro, you are dealing with a different form of insulin resistance, so you want to be able to get him to where you are seeing better blood glucose numbers for longer. You were at 3u units for 9 cycles, plus one at 3.5u so that is likely enough cycles where the previous 5.5u depot is depleted. Good luck with the increase :)
 
Some kitties do in the first cycle or two, some need a few days on the increase before they show what the dose can do. Sometimes when kitties get comfy in higher numbers, it just takes increasing the dose to get through the glucose toxicity. With acro, you are dealing with a different form of insulin resistance, so you want to be able to get him to where you are seeing better blood glucose numbers for longer. You were at 3u units for 9 cycles, plus one at 3.5u so that is likely enough cycles where the previous 5.5u depot is depleted. Good luck with the increase :)
Thank you! I think I was just basically ripping his insulin away every time we got to where it was actually starting to work because I got the fear of glob put in me about the somogyi..
 
Thank you! I think I was just basically ripping his insulin away every time we got to where it was actually starting to work because I got the fear of glob put in me about the somogyi..
You’re welcome! Cut yourself a little slack, it’s very hard to juggle some of these aspects, including his ear inflammation. Hoping tomorrow is a good day for Baxter. Looking forward to seeing an update on how Baxter is doing :)
 
Back
Top