Baxter-4/30-Heading the wrong way

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Very Active Member
This morning started out what I thought might be a promising day.

AMPS-262-.5
+5-297
What the French Toast? ohmygod_smile He is going the wrong way. Why day after day is this happening? The last couple of weeks we had similar PS numbers where .6 didn't work. It gave us flat. Should I give more? Should I give less?

Everyone have a great day!
 
I may be crazy.

But.....I am very suspicious because of that no shot cycle you had.

I know we've tried small doses before. But they were always into a low PS after a cycle where Baxter didn't ihop. If every time you shot a .2 he was already on his way to another ihop then you really don't know that the small dose wouldn't work. What if the scale had been to high for a while now and ask the flat cycles have been his body fighting against the dose ? Then when one bounce clears you get a drop and the p again triggers a liver dump? I don't know,I would try something like the.2 for a few cycles regardless of PS just to rule it out, can't think why else he would be lower without insulin.
 
Ok we are thinking alike. I have been kind of wondering if maybe the dose is to high. It seems when Baxter has a lower PS & I shot a lower dose I get movement. When his numbers are a little higher & I give more then IHop here he comes.
Maybe going lower & letting the hormones clear from the higher doses will give me some info. I don't know maybe it's not the way to go. Right now it's kind of like me not giving any insulin. So wouldn't dropping the dose down be almost the same? But with the same hopes of dropping the BG?
 
I agree, try the lower doses and see. If that doesn't work then at least you know and can raise, but I would try the lower dose first.
 
I agree, climbing back up the dose ladder after reducing is much easier than going down in steps after you've gone too high. And safer. The worst thing you'll get from a big reduction is higher numbers, and if higher numbers are already the problem.....

I saw this on Barb's thread today, and it got me thinking....
I haven't talked to the vet about what I'm doing. I did say once that I didn't shoot below 200 & she seemed happy (one of them anyway) but there has not been any real conversation. She did discuss experiments where some vet school implanted a monitor into a cat and saw that a cat could hit a low number for less than 5 minutes & have a rebound effect. Apparently no one expected that.

First off, I would love to know more about this experiment! But in Baxter's case specifically, what if on those days you give a higher dose, something like this happens. You don't/can't catch the drop with a meter. It happens all of a sudden and triggers the old "liver panic" concept, and rockets the numbers right back up. And all you/we see is "high and flat". If that is happening, then you wouldn't expect it to happen on the same numbers with a lower dose, right? He wouldn't drop as far or as fast, so maybe he'd tolerate the drop without jumping right back up?

We need to find out if Barb can find out from the vet any more details and research this...
Carl
 
Wow, Carl - I'd be interested in hearing more about that study, too.

Good luck with the reduction, Jenn! Is there a healing color to encourage better numbers? If so, I'd be tempted to paint the whole house that color! :lol:
 
Let's come up with a color together. I would say maybe purple? Orange?.
Black, Red, Pink, Yellow, Blue & Green are taken.

Getting ready to test, feed & see....
 
PMPS-295. Dose is a big :?: confused_cat

I know that in this thread we spoke about a decrease. Should it be .2? Or was to just a example of the decrease. .2 would be almost a 50% drop from the .5 i gave this morning & over 50% from what I gave yesterday.

Here are his numbers from today.
AMPS-265-.5
+5-297
PMPS-295
 
HI Jenn,
This is an easy one for me. Here's my basic theory on doses and changes.

IF the goal is to make something different happen, then I believe that the dose needs to be different enough to be conclusive. Conclusive in that the difference you see HAS to be considered to have come from the change in dose, and not some other random reasons.

SO, based on your question..... you shot .5 earlier? Then I think that .2 is a large difference. .4 for instance, wouldn't be that huge a difference.

Hoping others chime in, but that's my take on it...

Carl
 
Carl I have always admired your wisdom on FD.
I fed him 30 minutes ago so I need to go ahead with a shot at this time. I will try .2. With my fi gets crossed with time it will give me some answers.
 
Fingers crossed here too, just remember out may take a few cycles to see if anything is happening, if his numbers at least aren't worse I would be encouraged.
 
OK, one more thing. If you do not see immediate results, don't get discouraged! Nothing happens in just one cycle. Even things that do happen the very first cycle - if they don't repeat, then you can't put too much faith in them. When you see it happen two, three times in a couple of days, then you can reach a conclusion that it seems to be doing what you wanted it to do. Just like bouncing, there's a residual effect from a dose that you have been using for a while, and when we say "settle in to a dose", sometimes it just sounds like automatic words rolling off our fingers, but "settling" is what needs to happen before you can conclude anything.

crossing everything I have two or more of!
Carl
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Let's come up with a color together. I would say maybe purple? Orange?.
Black, Red, Pink, Yellow, Blue & Green are taken.

Getting ready to test, feed & see....

My living room (where Hershey hangs out most of the time) is painted yellow with orange sponged over it. Doesn't seem to help him much. Maybe purple...or green AND purple (since they're complementary colors)...

Hope the decrease shows you something repeatable!
 
C'mon Baxter Buddy! Give mom some pretty numbers so you can hang out w/ me on the flat thing!!! Mom said no IHOP tonight!!!
 
Do you check for ketones? When lowering doses, I think it is imperative to check vigilantly!
 
I won't get discouraged to quickly. I might wall paper the wall by Baxters bed with those IHop posters I made the other day. DH might think I completely lost it. :lol:

I have been testing for ketones since his numbers went up in the 300's. Is there any signs that I should be on the look out for when developing ketones. I have read they develop very quickly. If I knew some symptoms to be on the look out for it would really help.
 
The first symptom that I notice is his breath. It smells like nail polish remover or fruity. Also, his eyes seem to be really glassy. Grayson NEVER had the inappetance... he's almost always ready to eat!

But just be sure to catch him in the box. If Grayson ever got more than SMALL, I increased the fluids.
 
I have been testing him. I have plastic under his LB because lately he has been missing. So the plastic catches it & I dip the ketone stick in it. Am I testing the right way? His paddles are average size for him. Nothing small.
 
PMPS-295-.2
+5-305

He was eating the rest of his dinner around +3. Oh gosh I am getting scared of what AMPS is going to bring.
I hope I am doing the right thing about lowering the dose.
 
So, so far it looks like another flat cycle....but he only ranged about 40 points, looks no better but no worse than he did previously but on a lot less insulin. Maybe a few more cycles will be more telling.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top