Baxter-4/27-+22-242

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
Well...it's very early for Baxter & I. I feel like I'm doing this in my sleep, but I do have both eyes open.

Baxter has gone +22hrs without insulin for a couple of reason.
1. Being his numbers last night at PS were really good. +12-144
2. To get him on schedule around the events I have this weekend.

This is where we are this morning...
AMPS-242-.4---hoping this is the manic dose. Let me get my IHop no serving Baxter sign out. :lol:
I'm feeling like this is pretty good considering he has gone almost 24 hrs without a shot. Yes, it's still diabetic, but when I went to sleep he was at +18-294.

Got to go back to sleep. See everyone in a couple of hours. ;-)

Carl....you there? You said 5:30am wanted to have sip of ~O) with you. Make it a great day at work.
 
LOL, i am already on my second cup!
I expected pink numbers this morning so this is great!
Pat him on the head and tell him I said "waffle house"...
get a cat nap, both of you,
Carl
 
:lol:
I thought it was pretty good.
Maybe a little pancreas work? Still hope for reaching the bright star in the sky?
I actually thought about seek g what 2 more hr would give us, but I went ahead with the planned timeline made last night. It was more of a .4 skinny.

See you later Carl. :-D I will tell him waffle house? Thinking I'm hanging his no serving picture above his bed.
 
Next time i run to town i will take a pic of the waffle house sign and send it to you....for a motivational poster.
Carl
 
WOW Baxter!!! 22 HOURS??? Somebody want's to go to the falls w/ his other (non-IHOP) buddies!!! Can Grayson come too???
 
Well this isn't what I expect....like anything about FD is? :roll:

+5-271

I'm leaving for my appointment & hope to back in a few hours. Guess we will see where Baxter is at that time. Hoping for something much better. Maybe I should have tested him again before the shot to see if he dropped because of food. I will be doing that tonight for sure if he decides to turn back before he gets to IHop. He has been eating his food on & off since 5:30. I can tell he knows he is off schedule. He went to his food at 8:00am like he does.

Have a happy Friday my friends! ;-)
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
I can tell he knows he is off schedule. He went to his food at 8:00am like he does.

Have a happy Friday my friends! ;-)

Aren't they funny? Hershey will eat the food offered off-schedule, but still want the 'regularly-scheduled' food, too. :smile: I know getting off schedule and these wacky numbers are frustrating, but you can't let FD completely take over your life. You have things you want/need to do and things will get back to some kind of normal. ;-)

Take care and have a wonderful Friday!
 
Libby Baxter is the same way. Takes food off schedule & wants food at the time of his normal schedule.
Silly guy.

+10-337
Now this what I excepted. @-) . It's gone be a high PMPS.
 
Libby Baxter is the same way. Takes food off schedule & wants food at the time of his normal schedule.

I have been trying, with Bob and Mullet, for at least 12 years to figure out what "normal feeding schedule" is. I have come to 2 conclusions.
1 - they can't tell time.
2 - "Normal time" would be any time I walk through the kitchen.
I swear if I set an automatic feeder to dispense every hour on the hour, they would both eat until they explode or I ran out of food. Right now they are both sleeping on top of the table in the "dining room" (my kitchen won't fit a table in it so I improvised). I have to walk past them to get to the kitchen to refill my coffee cup. If I do, it will be time to eat again, although "normal" on my clock is about 2 hours from now. So, either they eat early, or I will hear about it for the next two hours. My typing on the keyboard three feet from them, they can sleep thru. But let me try to tiptoe barefoot across the carpeted floor into the kitchen that is further away, and they'll suddenly switch from "tired" to "starving"....

Recap
AMPS 242, .4
+5 271
+10 337

Baxter, what's up with that? You surf for almost 24 hours and have an AMPS that is a little lower than you were 8-10 hours earlier, and this is what you want to show Mom tonight? Dude. :?

Carl
 
There is something very wrong with todays cycle.

For some reason I can't open any ss anymore without locking up both computer and laptop.
 
PMPS-334

Not sure how much to give because of today's cycle. Suggestions?

Robin really wish you were able to open SS. Not sure if you looked at Baxters in awhile lots been going on.
 
That's awesome that Baxter went 22 hours without insulin. So if I'm reading your posts right, he was at 294 at +18 but dropped down to 242 at +22? So he obviously did that on his own, that's great. At least you know he's capable of lowering himself on his own. I know you are seeing higher numbers now, but I think that 24 hour cycle is encouraging.

I'm new at the advice giving side of things, but I know food played a HUGE role in Josie's remission. You obviously feed Baxter low carb wet, but specifically how do you handle his feedings? Does he eat two large meals or several small ones? If he eats larger ones, have you thought about doing smaller ones? That made a MAJOR difference for her.
 
Your are right Holly. Food is important.
I currently give him 2 meals. He eats on that meal for about 2 hrs. The thought of changing the meal plan came to me last week. I have been thinking of giving him 4 small meals instead.
Tell me how you do Josie's meals.

PMPS-334-.6 I went of the my scale. I will be home until +3 & back by +7 I hope. WAFFLES...WAFFLES....BAXTER!
 
Today's cycle is just high and flat. I don't see anything on the SS that would make a "bounce" make sense. Looks like a "fur shot" cycle, although not saying you had a fur shot. Just no action from the .4 at all.

OK, just saw you already shot .6.... was "to scale" .7? I think the .6 is fine, especially since you are trying to arrange for early shots the next two shots at least.
Nevermind, the cutoff between .6 and .7 is probably at 350, right?

Carl
 
Bob's meal plan was pretty basic. 1 can for breakfast, 1 for supper 12 hours later (FF classics 3oz cans). He got a half can between +5 and +7 during the AM cycle, and 1/2 can whenever I was ready to go to bed, so pretty much in the same +5-+7 range.

Carl
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Your are right Holly. Food is important.
I currently give him 2 meals. He eats on that meal for about 2 hrs. The thought of changing the meal plan came to me last week. I have been thinking of giving him 4 small meals instead.
Tell me how you do Josie's meals.

PMPS-334-.6 I went of the my scale. I will be home until +3 & back by +7 I hope. WAFFLES...WAFFLES....BAXTER!

Well, I got my idea about meals from Cathy. She explained how she fed Kitten and I decided to basically just copy what she does. It worked! Josie doesn't eat that much. She's chubby, but little, and needs no more than 4oz per day. So, I give her about 5/8 ounce (I have a scale, thank goodness!) 6x per day, for a total of just under 4 oz daily. These meals are about 4-5 hours apart. However, that's what I do now, off insulin.

On insulin, she would crash if I gave her that little with her shot. But she was prone to crashing, whereas Baxter is not. So you might be able to divide his meals up that much and he probably would still be safe. On insulin, I had to play it safer. I played around with all kinds of feeding schedules, but the last thing I tried was this: I would feed 1 and 1/4 oz with the shot and then another 1/2 oz at +2 and 1/2 oz at +6.

Here's the thing about that +6 meal. When we first started insulin, feeding that late would ensure higher numbers. But towards the end, it would actually stimulate her pancreas and lower her numbers. I don't know how it would work for Baxter, if you'd see better PS or worse. But I think it's worth a try to just see what happens. See if a small meal at his nadir (which may not be +6) doesn't somehow stimulate his pancreas. I discovered it by accident (and didn't even understand it until people on here explained what was going on) but it became a huge catalyst to Josie going OTJ.
 
I want to talk more about feeding plans, but I am walking out the door.
I have ran my last test until somewhere around +7. Everyone have a good evening.

PMPS-334-.6
+2-324
No any movement which isn't surprising. He keeps going back & forth eating his food.
I will post when I get back.
 
Not any movement, but that is good to know too. Many times, if it's going to be an "active" (low) cycle, you can see the drop right off the bat. In other words, go out and enjoy the break and forget about BGs for a few hours. ;-)

Carl
 
If you're trying to feed at nadir - here's to figuring out when that is! :lol: Hershey's isn't predictable; since diagnosis, we've fed shot times and +6. Tried dividing it to have more at shot time, but that didn't seem to make a difference. Now, I just divide them pretty evenly. Again, every cat and all that...

Hoping you're onto something! :-D
 
Holly, the funny thing is you and I were feeding about the same way when we were on insulin cause I had the same problem with her numbers tanking.

I'm with Robin, this doesn't look right to me.

I'm glad you skipped last night cause this is pretty interesting.....
 
Tomorrow when I have a little more time I have some questions about feeding 4 small meals. I'm not sure where to post those questions here in PZI or health?
Feeding 4 small meals is the only thing I haven't tried that I can think of.

Baxter is one interesting big brown cat.
+10-152


Recap:
PMPS-334-.6
+2-324
+10-152

Oh what is the AMPS going to bring?
 
WOW; I'm liking that +10! I think I'd change the subj line of your thread to show that number off!!

So, maybe Baxter is casting his vote for skipping a shot?? :-D
 
Great +10, and very interesting that it is your lowest test. Maybe his body is fighting the insulin early on and once it is clearing his system you are getting a truer reading. I have no idea! But, it sounds good!!! I will say this, I did some situations like that when I was dosing Chewy. He would be the highest while the insulin was first dosed. That is when I started reducing the dose and his numbers came down.

Have a Great Weekend!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top