Baxter-4/19-I dont know anymore?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Very Active Member
The last couple of day we had some what looks like some flats cycles. :sad:
Baxter PS seems to always be in the mid to upper 200's. Which is good, but could be better. It seems though he just stays in those ranges through out the day with out much movement.
So now to figure out why this is.
When I try giving him a increase it does seem to work & bring the numbers down.

AMPS-269-.5
I went with .5 instead of .6 to see if a little less would move his numbers. I don't know maybe that's not now things work?
I guess a few test today will tell us.

Enjoy your day! :-D

I will updated his SS today.
 
Re: Baxter-4/19

I feel your frustration. You're right, the 200's aren't bad, but I know you want better. I hope the decrease gives you a clear answer about which way to go to bring Baxter's numbers down. Sometimes, when I think I start to understand how this things works, I try to explain to Doug the new things I've learned. I hear the words come out of my mouth and think - well, that doesn't even make sense! And, my thought matches the look on Doug's face!! :lol: I understand not enough insulin makes for higher numbers, but what do you mean? too much insulin can also make for higher numbers?? (Just one example) :roll:

I hope y'all have a great day!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: Baxter-4/19

You are exactly right...it plays in my mind. So if I give to much its flat. If I don't give enough it's flat. What use to work 3 weeks ago doesn't work today. Does flat cycles mean yes the pancreas is working? Does it mean when I give him to much & he doesn't hypo it means the pancreas doesn't work?
Oh cheese whiz...all these questions & no evidence of support for answers. We haven't seen a sign of Mr.P in weeks. I'm not sure I like him anyway...he is a sneak!! He comes & leaves when he wants. He visits other cats. He isn't loyal to Baxter. He just isn't nice to us. :sad:
I'm going crazy with all these questions.... :dizcat
 
Re: Baxter-4/19

Mr. P is a sneaky trickster. He used to visit us some on Sat nights, trying to see if he could mess our Sundays - I think. But, no sign of him in weeks. I wish I knew what attracted him long-term. If I find out, I'll let you know.

Jenn & Baxter said:
So if I give to much its flat. If I don't give enough it's flat. What use to work 3 weeks ago doesn't work today. Does flat cycles mean yes the pancreas is working? Does it mean when I give him to much & he doesn't hypo it means the pancreas doesn't work?

I'm going crazy with all these questions.... :dizcat

I know what you mean - every day is completely different. Sometimes it feels more like I'm guessin' than actually have a clue what I'm doing...
 
Re: Baxter-4/19

I think it is time for me to repost dr. Lisa's "lots of other stuff in play besides the dose you shoot" advice. I can't from my phone though, damn.

But, my simple think on this...

If you want to "know" which way to go, the difference in dose has to be bigger than .1.
I'll have to expound on that later when I can find links and stuff.

Carl
 
Re: Baxter-4/19

Thank you. I was going to give him .6 like my scale says. I really think it would have been flat if I did.
Let's see in a couple of hours where he is.
 
Re: Baxter-4/19

Almost without fail, when Hershey goes up like that and I dread the next PS, he seems to level off and not rise so much those last few hours. Wish I knew why and could apply that the the other hours of the cycle...
 
Re: Baxter-4/19

Me too. Baxter seems to do the same thing.

PMPS-266

I don't know how much to give?
I look at his PMPS pretty much the same as his AMPS .5 didn't work to well. Last night .6 didn't work into 250. I'm clueless what to give.

SS is updated for viewing.
 
I'm with Carl that if you increase or decrease it needs to be meaningful, dose about 20% more?

So which way to go....I see no evidence that the dose is too high, also no evidence that Mr. P is playing around. I say go up, I would take that 183 as being on the low end of meter variance because that makes it fit better with the 229.

So a meaningful increase..... .5u, wanna try .7? I don't see where you need to be scared of low numbers and maybe it'll jolt him into getting his butt in gear.

Of course, get another test before the shot cause maybe things have changed by now.
 
Before you responded I had already went with .8. After what Carl said today about just increasing by .1 wasn't doing anything I decided to go with .8. My scale says to go with .6 so that's where I got the increase by .2 from that.
I'm with you.....maybe a larger increase will shake, rattle or Ka Pow that Mr.P. Something needs to wake him up.
I will be keeping a eye & testing Baxter tonight. I need to know what .8 is doing.

Thank you for taking your time to look at his SS. ;-)
 
Great, I was actually going to suggest .75 or .8 but I didn't know how ballsy you were feeling tonight!
 
Tonight & always....I feel ball-z. I feel risky. I feel like Mr.P better get back to my house...SOON. I mean business!! :twisted: Please don't ever hold back with me on giving advice. Always tell me like it is. I can handle it. Of coarse if I ask then I should be able to... :lol:
I think in the past I was scared a lot of giving to much because of what could be the outcome. I just hope that fear from the past hasn't messed up what the future could bring.
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Tonight & always....I feel ball-z. I feel risky. I feel like Mr.P better get back to my house...SOON. I mean business!! :twisted: Please don't ever hold back with me on giving advice. Always tell me like it is. I can handle it. Of coarse if I ask then I should be able to... :lol:
I think in the past I was scared a lot of giving to much because of what could be the outcome. I just hope that fear from the past hasn't messed up what the future could bring.

I'm with ya'! I've had those same feelings lately, but I believe we were right to be cautious until we learned more about this dance and more about how our kitties might react...of course, we still don't know everything, or even as much as we'll know 5 months from now, but we're moving in the right direction! Now that I'm feeling more assertive/aggressive, I'm having to keep myself reigned in and not move too fast in my desire to be proactive
 
Hi Jenn
Sorry I have been so absent lately
still trying to catch up...
Hang in there, you will get there soon! I have a great feeling!
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Tonight & always....I feel ball-z. I feel risky. I feel like Mr.P better get back to my house...SOON. I mean business!! :twisted: Please don't ever hold back with me on giving advice. Always tell me like it is. I can handle it. Of coarse if I ask then I should be able to... :lol:
I think in the past I was scared a lot of giving to much because of what could be the outcome. I just hope that fear from the past hasn't messed up what the future could bring.

This week's B.O.S. award goes to Jenn.

As long as you are watching, you're good. At the very start, a low number might freak you out. But not anymore. I'll be up a while if you need eyes.

Carl
 
PMPS-266-.8
+3-288
What the French toast!!?? :o

Do I need to go back to basic FD research? I thought his numbers are suppose to decline at this point? I'm I confused? Do I have this wrong?
 
Oh Baxter, why won't you just play nice? I guess if this holds we go the "meaningful decrease" route!?!

He really likes pancakes.
 
Maybe just a late onset, and a longer duration cycle on the way?

Carl
 
I hope so, Baxter spends way too much time at IHOP and Jenn is about to start pulling her hair out!
 
Baxter,
Waffuls iz bedder than pannicakes..
Bob
 
Baxter anz Bob,
Waffuls anz pannicakes iz ful of carbz, us'z diebeterz anz beans says no can haz!
Kitten
 
haha_smiley

Hehe...I luv those pancakes & the waitresses at IHop. Don't tell mom. I've been having a good time there with Grayson. He has a girlfriend there. Better go I don't think she is very happy tonight. Something about her plan not working.~Baxter
 
See but pannicakz look lik this
----------------------
An woffulz look lik this
\_/`\_/`\_/ rite?
So wen the beans see pannicakz, they do this
:sad:
But wen dey see woffuls then dey ar all happy lik this
:mrgreen:
Be sidz, effrey body noes dat woffils haf holz an in the bottum ov da holz iz wear all the yummy searup iz hidin!
Bob
 
Just checking on y'all. It's 2:53am here, not sure what time it is for you. Hoping to find the latest test was a good number!

Wishing y'all a SUPER day!!
 
No good numbers. :sad:
+8-312 :shock:
Already in the 300's. .8 was clearly the wrong dose. So much for the .2 increase. I guess this is evidence he needs a decrease? So confussing!
Now how do I bring that down in the AM cycle?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top