Batman is AMPS of 280

I will be interested to see where he nadirs today. He doesn’t waste any time getting to work with the insulin! The only way I can think of to day his nadir is to feed a few more carbs at breakfast time, but I would only advise this if he were bouncing from the rapid drops he is sometimes doing. Right now I don’t see bouncing as a problem for Batman.
 
Agree! He starts dramatic (to me) decreases only 10-15 minutes after his shot! Drives me crazy with worry, little devil. He’s all the way down to 141 and it’s only 11:00.
 
Agree! He starts dramatic (to me) decreases only 10-15 minutes after his shot! Drives me crazy with worry, little devil. He’s all the way down to 141 and it’s only 11:00.
Sorry, that’s incorrect. He was 141 at 10:00. My Libre app has lost signal, I’ll post on SS when I get an 11:00 reading
 
I’ve been invited to a dinner tonight but it would make Batman’s shot 1 to 1.5 hrs late. If it were you, would you stay home?
 
Last edited:
I decided to stay home so Batman will get his insulin on time. Randy has the phone that “talks” with the Libre so I can’t update SS with 6-8 pm BG readings until he gets home.
 
I’ve been invited to a dinner tonight but it would make Batman’s shot 1 to 1.5 hrs late. If it were you, would you stay home?
I don’t think an hour late would be too bad. I am sorry you mossed dinner pit (with friends?). Usually you have to work your way back to your regular shot time by no more than 30 minutes per day.
 
I don’t think an hour late would be too bad. I am sorry you mossed dinner pit (with friends?). Usually you have to work your way back to your regular shot time by no more than 30 minutes per day.
Ok, good to know about how to run late (or early) and get back on schedule. I’m a genuine cat lady, I was fine sitting here crocheting all night. Yarn and a cat is all I need.
 
Good morning. It looks like Batman is behaving more “normally “ this morning. At least he didn’t do a big drop at +1. Maybe because he didn’t start put in pink?
 
Jinx! It was at +1.5 today

upload_2024-9-20_10-55-30.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-20_10-55-30.jpeg
    upload_2024-9-20_10-55-30.jpeg
    28.4 KB · Views: 147
Batman has been in the SS blue since 9:05 (+1:05) last night! He had a really good Saturday. He’s telling me it’s because I let him go without his onesie all day (he wears it to keep from pulling off the Libre))!
upload_2024-9-22_7-51-38.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-22_7-51-38.png
    upload_2024-9-22_7-51-38.png
    128.7 KB · Views: 138
Wow. Batman! Good boy! He has earned a reduction down to .75 units because he dropped below 90. That’s according to the SLGS protocol. Since he is on an all wet food low carb diet, if you wish to follow the Modified ProZinc Method, you can switch to that and hold his dose where it is if you feel that would be in Batman’s best interest. Then you would reduce the dose if he dropped below 50. Since you currently have real-time glucose monitoring with the Libre, he would be very safe. Also, the Libre tends to read a little low in the numbers below 100. How has he been doing today with his numbers?
 
He is a good boy! And his skin dandruff is clearing up, he is bounding up the steps AND he wants to groom all the time. What a joy to see our love ones get better.

I just got off work and updated his SS. I also haven’t read the modified PZ protocol yet, on my list to do tonight. Being so new and having made mistakes while learning, I’m hedging toward staying where he is but, I don’t know the pros and cons. Your advise please?

side note — Batty has very long and thick hair so being shaved and in a onesie. We can see his body shape now. Is he obese to your eye?
upload_2024-9-23_17-23-49.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-23_17-23-49.jpeg
    upload_2024-9-23_17-23-49.jpeg
    83.8 KB · Views: 135
Seeing his numbers today and also yesterday’s numbers, if he were my cat I would leave his dose exactly where it is right now. You can read the MPM protocol when you get a chance. It’s in the ProZinc Dosing Methods sticky note after the SLGS section.

It’s hard to tell from the photo but I don’t think he’s obese! It’s wonderful to hear that he’s feeling better and his dandruff has gone away. Usually their coat condition will improve a lot and their energy levels will be better once their bodies adjust to the lower numbers again. How is his appetite?
 
His appetite is getting bigger as he gets accustomed to his new diet. Today especially, he ate a lot this morning and mid-morning snack. He had 1/2 C LC wet meal and a heaping TBS snack. I let him because I’m cautious he may be loosing too fast. He goes to vet Friday (monitor coming off ) and we will have weight checked and compared using the same vet scale.

is it expected for appetite to increase or decrease?
 
Well a lot of the time the appetite will decrease when they get into the greens, but I think it’s okay. I would be cautious about him losing weight too quickly as well. Do you have a baby scale at home?
 
I weighted Batman on people scales in a box on 9/3 and again tonight. Says he’s lost .6 of a pound. I’ll ask the vet Friday for an “ideal weight” goal for him and do the calorie intake math to keep it at no more than 1/2 lb loss per month. Lots of math to keep a healthy kitty!
 
Back
Top