Batman After the Storm

TJ Penn

Member
It’s been so long and life changed sooooo much as we went through Helene, the aftermath, and our new normal! What I want to tell you (especially Susanne ) is that we have missed you and Batman is fantastic! Thank you for your loving kindness and care in teaching us how to care for him, it paid off!

We test him every day before each meal and for over two months he has ranged from 82 to 118!! Usually in the 90s. He usually gets no shot but if he is above 110, we give him the smallest amount we can pull. Are we doing this right?
 
I read this yesterday and was so happy to see it. Big huge hugs going out to you!

I guess you don’t have any spreadsheet data anymore? I can’t even see how this all came about because the last spreadsheet data he was at about 1 unit and was in the blues. If he is staying between 50 and a maximum of about 120 with no insulin then I would consider him to be in remission. I would not even try a “drop dose” unless he’s over 120 on a regular basis. You’re doing a good thing to make sure by testing that he’s staying in normal numbers. If he keeps on like that, you can test less frequently, but still keep tabs to make sure he stays in the normal BG range.

You have taken great care of him, I can tell. I have wondered about you all and prayed for you all and am just so thrilled to hear from you.

Thank the Lord you all are okay. I have thought of you and Julie L every day.
 
You are so kind and I could not have got Batman’s BG under control without the support of this board and all of your help. The meter we use records for us so I did stop using the spreadsheet. His BG average over the last 30 days is 106 mg/dL. Here I was bragging on him and this morning he shot up to 132! Not sure why it went up so much. If he remains high, I’ll catch up his spreadsheet.

Now that I’ve learned about taking care of a diabetic, his brother got a bad report on a urinalysis - he has crystals so I’m trying to learn about that. Thank you so much for your prayers!
 
Yes. 132 is a bit higher than he should be. That was this morning before he ate? Keep an eye on him. His pancreas may need a tiny bit of support to ensure a long-lasting remission.

I am sorry to hear that your other cat has urinary crystals. Crystals are not uncommon in cats, but your level of concern will depend upon what type of crystals are found. He didn’t have a blockage, did he?
 
Yes. 132 is a bit higher than he should be. That was this morning before he ate? Keep an eye on him. His pancreas may need a tiny bit of support to ensure a long-lasting remission.

I am sorry to hear that your other cat has urinary crystals. Crystals are not uncommon in cats, but your level of concern will depend upon what type of crystals are found. He didn’t have a blockage, did he?
Batman was not feeling good. He didn’t eat last night and threw up a couple times and didn’t eat this morning. We did give him .25 dose. He didn’t throw up any more and ate his 5:00 snack meal and 8:00 dinner so I think he’s fine but of course will keep a close eye.

as for his brother with crystals, they did an x-ray and didn’t see any blockages. With a two story home and four liter boxes it’s impossible to know who is doing what all the time, but I can tell Red Red is dribbling instead of a normal urine stream. He will run as fast as he can out of the room and leaves footprints on the floor so I check the box and there’s no urine clumps. I need to do a lot of studying to learn about this and how to care for him. I know I’m not putting him on the rX food the vets tell us to use. I’ve joined a FB group for felines with lower urinary tract problems and learned that much (which I already suspected) and they also say to insist he gets pain pills and recommend some supplements. I’m thinking medically it may be harder to be a cat mom than a human mom! I need to go to holistic vet school, ha, ha!
 
Have you tried Cosequin? Did they find any bacteria? Or do they think he has FLUTD. Has he been stressed lately (you all have been stressed, I know.) Not all urinary tract infections will show up on a regular urinalysis. Was a culture done?
 
upload_2024-12-15_9-30-36.jpeg


Vet didn’t give him any meds and it was too late to talk with him Friday so that’s when I tackled the FB group files to start learning. I hope to get a lot more info tomorrow when I call the vet. It’s always difficult because Randy takes them to appointments because I’m at work, then they call him with results and he can never think of questions to ask.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-15_9-30-36.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-15_9-30-36.jpeg
    78.7 KB · Views: 58
Batman was back down to 98 bg this morning so I think he was just a little “off” yesterday with the throwing up and higher than normal reading.

I hope you are having a wonderful Sunday. Cold and drizzling all day here!
 
Back
Top