Bailey UK thanks for your support yesterday

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
Good morning Sandy & SIenne,
Bailey & I want to say thank you for your support yesterday. I stayed up with B until 3am,he had eaten again,and was snoring away so I took myself off to bed.His shot times are 6/30am and 6/30pm, so being as we had shot an hour and a half late at PMPS,this morning I delayed his AMPS by half an hour,and hope to pull it back into line tonight.
I was expecting a big bounce this morning, but he surprised me with a lovely13.2 and at + 6 a 9.6 so so far so good,fingers crossed for no more scares tonight!Am I doing the right thing by keeping his dose at the same 4 units?
Many thanks,it was really appreciated,hope you are all having a good weekend.
Bailey & Diane
 
Good evening Diane,
BaileyUK said:
.His shot times are 6/30am and 6/30pm, so being as we had shot an hour and a half late at PMPS,this morning I delayed his AMPS by half an hour,and hope to pull it back into line tonight.

If you have shot early again this evening please be aware that shooting early can increase the amount of insulin in circulation.

If I'm reading your post correctly, it sounds like:

You shot 1.5 hours late yesterday PM.
Instead of waiting 12 hours for the AM shot , you took back 1 hour - shooting at +11 hours since the PM shot.
You plan to take back the remaining 1/2 hour today at PM cycle, shooting +11.5 hours since the AM shot.
Making the total early shooting 1.5 hours within a 24 hour period.

If this is the case please monitor closely

Back to back early shooting in increments greater than 30 minutes in 24 hours can result in unexpected lows.
When faced with the need to get back to schedule or change schedule the recommendation is a max of 1/2 hour per 24 hours-
15 min. early each cycle or 1/2 hour early once in 24 hours until you reach the desired shot time.
 
Since the nature of Lantus is cumulative, under these circumstances I recommend you watch the next few cycles closely as a drop can sneak up on you.
 
Good morning Sandy,all is well here with Bailey,tested bg at midnight 12.2,checked on him again at 2am he was fine,didn't test again as his ears looked a little sore,gave him food.
This morning he was 14.8,so fingers crossed we have escaped a bounce.There is so much to learn about how to treat FD I am learning all the time,I certainly won't make that mistake again.
On the 30th and the AM shot of the 31st(day of low numbers) I had given him fat 4 units(3 cycles) to try to get rid of the pinks that were getting more frequent,do you think this caused the low readings on that day? I have now taken him back to 4 units.
Bailey seems to be so erratic on numbers considering his food and injection timing is kept the same,I think because he is so unpredictable it might be unrealistic to try to achieve better numbers,without being vigilant throughout the night.
Really appreciate you keeping an eye on us,many thanks. Diane & Bailey
 
Bailey's numbers are looking better.

Could you add the "fat" to the units column on the days you gave the extra fat dose? That will help the people looking at the spreadsheet. A lot of us just right F4.00 for fat, or S4.00 for skinny.

You'll get the hang of it.

Also, we are all used to seeing BG numbers in the US format. I know it's a hassle, but could you post Bailey's numbers in the US format?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top