Bailey UK - AMPS 263 / +3 270 / +5-7 239 / PMPS 292

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
A funny day result wise, we're pretty sure he's been bouncing overnight so looking to reduce the dose to 3.5 once he levels out a bit.

Any feedback on his numbers greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Barnes and Bailey
 
Re: Bailey UK - AMPS 14 / +3 15 / +5-7 13 / PMPS 16

Barnes --

I hate to ask this but can you convert the numbers from your meter into the US format when you put them in your subject line? The vast majority of people here are from the US and we use mg/dL as the common language for numbers. If you look at the tabs at the bottom of Bailey's SS, the conversions are on the tabbed page. (Or, you can multiply the numbers in mmol/L x 18 to convert the results.) For most of us, we won't know if you need help if we see the numbers in the international format.

This is a flat, yellow cycle. On occasion, this can mean that Bailey may be planning on lower numbers in a cycle or two. We'll need to see how the numbers play out, though.

You might want to take another look at the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. The dose isn't reduced when bounces clear. For a cat that's within a year of diagnosis, the dose is reduced if numbers dip below 50 mm/dL (i.e., 2.8 mmol/L) on a human meter. If you're using a meter calibrated for an animal, then 80 (4.4 mmol/L) would be the point at which you reduce. Thus, for those of us who follow tight regulation, we would not have suggested that you reduce Bailey's dose on Jan. 8th.
 
Thanks Sienne

I have adjusted the title so that it's in keeping with the US format

Appreciate your advice and herein lies the problem with coming over from Relaxed to Tight we need to brush up on the protocol to stay on here but thanks for the pointers

Hopefully as you say the flat yellow will give way to some blue in the next few days

Noted re your point on not lowering on Jan 8th we'll keep him on current dose and see how he levels out - he was however bouncing an awful lot on the previous dose which is why we lowered but again maybe that's coming from another (relaxed) school of thought

Thanks again!

Barnes and Bailey
 
Hi Barnes!

don't worry, you don't have to know how the protocol works yet - you can just ask if you think you might want to adjust the dose. the long term people here are happy to look at his ss and help you see whether or not it's a good time to increase or not. Eventually you won't need help with dosing decisions, but in the meantime, no worries about asking. We don't expect anyone to do it on their own!

wow did you step up the testing today! don't feel like you have to do that every day, but we never turn down data! ;-) :lol:

i'm glad you got that +6 last night because it says that Bailey didn't go lower after the 158. that's good to know.

Have a great morning!
 
Hello Julie,
I am the other half of team Bailey.Barnes rescued Bailey 11 years ago when he was a student at university.Bailey had a unsettling start in life having 3 homes in the first 2 years of his life,he was eventually found hungry uncared for and wandering the streets.
Barnes intended to look after him until he found him a good home,he came to visit me (his mum) for the weekend and brought Bailey with him.I had never owned a cat before,always dogs,vowing not to have any more animals after my last dog dies,as I get too attached,and they end up ruling my life! Needless to say I fell in love with him and Bailey had found his forever home.
Barnes now has his own home,and family,we decided Bailey would stay with me,he had a wonderful life until he wad diagnosed with diabetes,the last year has been a roller coaster,he started off on caninsulin,and we eventually got him onto Lantus,the vets in the UK try their best but really know very little about this illness,and have no knowledge on Lantus,so we are on our own with this,and could not have got this far without the amazing people on this forum,we shall be eternally grateful to you all,as this has been,for me a very emotional,and at times frightening ride.
Bailey has pancreatitis,looking back we think he may have had this problem before being diagnosed withFD! I think this effects his BG,and is making it difficult to regulate him,we would like to get him to a level that keeps him safe,as I cannot monitor him through the night,with his fluctuating numbers we have been at a loss to know if we are giving him too much,or too little insulin? We hope with your guidance that will be achievable.
Sorry for the long post,thankyou for taking the time to read it.

Diane (Barnes and Baileys Mum)
 
Hello Diane. Dyana here :) Bailey is a beautiful cat. I can't believe someone let him wander the streets hungry. Poor guy.
I'm so glad he found his forever home.
Most vets here, don't seem to know all that much about Lantus and feline diabetes either. So you're not alone.

A flat yellow cycle sometimes precedes an more active cycle, so maybe you'll see some blue numbers today :) I hope so.

Hope you have a good day!
 
Hello Dyane,
Thank you for replying,Bailey has a lovely nature too,I feel so sad that this has happened to him,and that when we think we are on the right track for a few weeks he goes bouncing up into the pinks,that sends me into stress mode!
Maybe with his pancreatitis issues it is unrealistic to expect this to be straightforward.
Hope you have good numbers and a peaceful day. Diane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top