Larry and Kitties
Member Since 2009
I adopted Badger last July over a year ago as an already-being treated diabetic. The previous caretaker did not home test and he was on three units of Lantus twice daily. Badger's PS BGs were typically in the 300's with little drop after the shot. In fact sometimes I would see a BG increase of over 100 at about +3. He did have problem with his left ear. Bacteria and yeast. He also had a polyp i the left ear. The ear was treated with Baytril Otic and Conofite. When the condition of the ear improved the BG control did not.
I tried N, Lantus, BCP PZI and lastly ProZinc. I settled on about 3.6 units ProZinc and 3.5 units N twice daily. I used the N to reduce the high spike at about +3. However, I still only obtained PSs in the 300's.. So in September I decided to have the polyp removed and also had a dental done as part of the procedure since he really did not need one but both were done together to avoid another anesthesia. One premolar was extracted and there was evidence of infection at the polyp removal area. After the procedure he was on Clavamox, mainly for the polyp remove and Baytril Otic. For the first two days I obtained a lot better/lower BGs and reduced the dose accordingly. However, then BG/does returned to pre-procedure levels. Also, there was still brown gunk coming out of his left ear. A biopsy of the polyp showed that it was likely not cancerous.
After a little more that two after the procedure I went back to the vet. When she looked at the ear with the oto-scope the tip was covered with blood and the site of the removal looked bad and inflamed.. The treatment was then changed to oral Clindamycin and topical Surolan. That contained an ant-fungicide, antibiotic and prednisoline acetate as an anti-inflammatory. Like baytril Otic, the Surolan is labeled for dogs.
Over the next week BG improved/dose lowered and ears got better. There was no gunk coming from the ears. Last Friday I went back to the vet and the ear looked great. Recently I have been getting PS in the mid 100's. This morning I obtained a PS of 168 with a +3 of 108. This was one 2 units ProZinc and 1 1/2 units N.
The Surolan minimally raised BGs and is not that unexpected since prednisoline acetate is not that potent of a steroid as compared with the steroids used in other ear meds.
I tried N, Lantus, BCP PZI and lastly ProZinc. I settled on about 3.6 units ProZinc and 3.5 units N twice daily. I used the N to reduce the high spike at about +3. However, I still only obtained PSs in the 300's.. So in September I decided to have the polyp removed and also had a dental done as part of the procedure since he really did not need one but both were done together to avoid another anesthesia. One premolar was extracted and there was evidence of infection at the polyp removal area. After the procedure he was on Clavamox, mainly for the polyp remove and Baytril Otic. For the first two days I obtained a lot better/lower BGs and reduced the dose accordingly. However, then BG/does returned to pre-procedure levels. Also, there was still brown gunk coming out of his left ear. A biopsy of the polyp showed that it was likely not cancerous.
After a little more that two after the procedure I went back to the vet. When she looked at the ear with the oto-scope the tip was covered with blood and the site of the removal looked bad and inflamed.. The treatment was then changed to oral Clindamycin and topical Surolan. That contained an ant-fungicide, antibiotic and prednisoline acetate as an anti-inflammatory. Like baytril Otic, the Surolan is labeled for dogs.
Over the next week BG improved/dose lowered and ears got better. There was no gunk coming from the ears. Last Friday I went back to the vet and the ear looked great. Recently I have been getting PS in the mid 100's. This morning I obtained a PS of 168 with a +3 of 108. This was one 2 units ProZinc and 1 1/2 units N.
The Surolan minimally raised BGs and is not that unexpected since prednisoline acetate is not that potent of a steroid as compared with the steroids used in other ear meds.