Back with Tommy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy&Tommy

Member Since 2013
I know that it has been awhile since I last posted for Tommy. Every so often when I have a few min I check out the board. My life is so hectic and I've only had time for Tommy's care. We are so short of help and we lost two other supervisors, so I've been helping those homes as well as the one I take care of. I'm exhausted when I come home and I basically take care of Tommy and go to bed. My husband helps me out once in a while, when he remembers, but sometimes he can't get a reading. Says it's the machine. Huh, I don't have a problem with the machine, :lol: . A few weeks ago I had a few days off to celebrate our 20th anniversary and got the heck out of Aitkin. But.... we had to take Tommy with us as no one would help me out. It really didn't turn out too bad as the hotel accepted pets, with a fee of course. While we were gone during the day we just put out the do not disturb sign so that Tommy wouldn't be spooked by housekeeping. He did very well and saw that he didn't wolf down his food the instant it hit the floor! Catling rivalry makes everyone eat fast, I guess ohmygod_smile

So now to his numbers. I have been frustrated that he starts to show a better pattern and then bamm, he's back in the pinks. I've tried my DH to get some mid-cycles, but he gets busy and usually forgets. I explain why, but that doesn't seem to help. I know that mid-cycles would help a lot, but can anyone sort of figure out what may be going on? I have a rare evening that I'm actually home and not overly exhausted. I will get a number before I go to bed. I tested at 6:30pm central time and will get a +4 or +5. Hopefully that will help. I know that I've read that it can take a while to get OTJ. I so much want this for Tommy. I also know that he may never get OTJ. I don't think I could try Lantus/Levimier as my schedule is so unpredictable. I'm doing the best I can, but sometimes I don't think it is enough. ( :YMSIGH: , that's probably the tired talking...) Anyway, any help and insights would be greatly appreciated!
 
Hi Sandy,

I think I'd increase the dose a little. Maybe .8 for those pinks?

You can only do what you can do. It sounds like, with your schedule, you do the best you can. He is on a very small dose and not very high.

Sue
 
Hi Sandy and Tommy!

Nice to see you guys again!

You're right - it's tough to see what he's doing without a few more mid-cycle tests. I wonder if you might be able to get a test occasionally about 2 hours after his shot? That number can be a good clue as to what's going to happen during the cycle. I remember Tommy really likes to drop fast early in the cycle sometimes.

Here's a couple things that I'm looking at: first, on 6/14, Tommy was in the 150's at AMPS and you gave 0.2. Mid-cycle, he was at 124 and at PMPS, he had only gone up to 136, at which point you skipped the next shot. He did go up to the 400's by the next pre-shot. You've got a couple other cycles - on 6/8 PMPS, you shot 0.8 on a pre-shot in the 400's and he went low enough and got long enough duration on that cycle to end up with a green pre-shot the next morning. You had something similar on 6/10, where you shot 1 unit on a pre-shot in the 500's and ended up with a green pre-shot the next AM.

If I were to make a guess I'm wondering if you might try just a flat 0.4 for pre-shots over 200, and 0.2 for anything from 150 to 200. I think it's possible that his pink pre-shots are due to bouncing. Hopefully Sue will chime in as well.
 
Looks like I cross-posted with Sue. :-D

Interesting enough, it looks like we saw two different things. :-D

What do you think, Sandy?
 
Tommy just jumped on my lap, so I'm going to get a test done quick like and get right back to you both. :mrgreen:
 
Okay. He was 300 at +3.5

I'm thinking that because I'm not around mid-cycle that I might try Jen's suggestion first as I'd rather him be higher while I'm gone rather than too low. I will convince DH to help out the next few days. What do you think?
 
Thanks, Sue. I work early tomorrow and have a surprisingly easy day tomorrow...if all goes well. I will post tomorrow when I get home and can give a couple of numbers. It's nice to know that I can have a few more eyes on his numbers when I need help. And I really appreciate it. Maybe in the future I will find time to help out others as you two do. Again, thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top