Back on the Juice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mochi & Me

Member Since 2017
Hello again.

It's been a while. Mochi was in remission from around September of 2017 until just recently. I popped in during the summer of 2020 with a question about possible CKD. His BUN hasn't changed much since then, so the vet is happy about that.

Unfortunately, early last year his weight took a nosedive (from a high of around 11.5 pounds in Nov. to just under 9.5 pounds at his lowest in May). Long story short, the vet confirmed that Mochi has IBD (even though we already suspected it) and wanted to start him on a prescription diet. I tried it, knowing that it would likely mess with his blood sugar levels. Luckily, Mochi wouldn't eat it and so we donated most of the case to our local recuse and happily told the vet we'd stick with his LC venison.

The vet started him on prednisolone in June and it helped a bunch. Mochi stopped vomiting and started gaining back the weight he'd lost. It did raise his numbers, but they were staying under 200 - which is the vet's threshold for treating it - so I thought we managed to dodge that bullet.

Fast forward seven months. Out of the blue, Mochi's numbers started creeping up. This happened to coincide with switching venison brands due to supply issues, so I thought maybe it was the new food even though it was still low carb. I contacted his vet. He dropped the steroid down to once a day. Mochi stopped eating, and his numbers continued to creep up, so we went back to twice a day.

I took him into the vet's office and was told he has gingivitis. The vet didn't think it was the root cause, but I pressed the issue and the vet agreed to put him on an antibiotic. It did nothing, so the vet finally agreed to clean his teeth. I thought for sure it would be like last time and his numbers would come down after his teeth were taken care of and he'd be fine. Nope.

About a week and a half ago we started back on Lantus, 1 unit twice a day per the vet's instructions. Since then his numbers have been all over the place, which worries me. I updated the vet this morning with Mochi's curve numbers and he wants me to up the dose to 1.5 units twice a day since his numbers, aside from a couple of outliers, have all been high. I'm supposed to update him with a new curve in another week.

I'm considering going up to 1.25 for a few days first though. Does that seem reasonable? He went into remission so fast after I adopted him that I really don't have much experience.

Thanks =^._.^=
 
So you re started lantus on 2-26 -22
Why did you go down to 0.5 units on 2-27 and 2-28-22
One thing I notice on your SS you are not testing after his AMPS or his PMPS cycles only when you have done the curves. So we really don't know how the insulin is working. You have jumped from 0.5 units to 1 units. Are you still following SLGS

Tagging some members for you
@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Last edited:
How did the vet confirm IBD? What tests were done? It can look like small cell lymphoma if you don't have a biopsy done. Just saying that because diet doesn't make any difference to an SCL cat - which can go into remission on the right treatment, don't let the name scare you.

Twice a day prednisolone makes little difference from once a day, you can give twice as much once a day.

When the vet did the dental, did he/she do dental x-rays or just cleaning? Often problems can hide below the gum line and only show up with dental x-ray. I had that happen to Neko. Dental vet specialist said she looked fine with visual inspection until he did the xrays. Dental issues are one of the most common reasons a cat goes out of remission.

As for insulin dose, any chance you can get a before bed test at night? Many cats go lower at night, we determine how to change the doe based on how low the dose is taking the cat, hence the value of the night time data. I'm a little worried that we don't know how low the 1.0 units is taking Mochi, with only a couple cycles with mid cycle tests. It could be possible your curves were on bounce days. Would it be possible to get a couple cycles worth of mid cycle data on 1.0 units so we get a better idea of how that dose is doing? The reduced dose on the PM of 3/6 PM also impacted the depot, meaning the cycle on the 7th was not a good day to do a curve.

With SLGS, we hold the dose 14 cycles/7 days before increasing. And then only increase by 0.25 units.
 
So you re started lantus on 2-26 -22
Why did you go down to 0.5 units on 2-27 and 2-28-22
One thing I notice on your SS you are not testing after his AMPS or his PMPS cycles only when you have done the curves. So we really don't know how the insulin is working. You have jumped from 0.5 units to 1 units. Are you still following SLGS

I went down to 0.5 because the 117 PMPS on 2-26 scared me.

I suppose that I am not actually doing SLGS right now as I am following the vet's recommendations.

How did the vet confirm IBD? What tests were done? It can look like small cell lymphoma if you don't have a biopsy done. Just saying that because diet doesn't make any difference to an SCL cat - which can go into remission on the right treatment, don't let the name scare you.

A combination of symptoms, ultrasound, and lab tests. He has not had a biopsy. The vet used a blood test that looks for certain cancer markers - I don't recall what exactly it's called - which was negative.

When the vet did the dental, did he/she do dental x-rays or just cleaning? Often problems can hide below the gum line and only show up with dental x-ray. I had that happen to Neko. Dental vet specialist said she looked fine with visual inspection until he did the xrays. Dental issues are one of the most common reasons a cat goes out of remission.

He did x-rays, yes, and showed them to me. He was actually surprised at how good everything looked.

As for insulin dose, any chance you can get a before bed test at night? Many cats go lower at night, we determine how to change the doe based on how low the dose is taking the cat, hence the value of the night time data. I'm a little worried that we don't know how low the 1.0 units is taking Mochi, with only a couple cycles with mid cycle tests. It could be possible your curves were on bounce days. Would it be possible to get a couple cycles worth of mid cycle data on 1.0 units so we get a better idea of how that dose is doing? The reduced dose on the PM of 3/6 PM also impacted the depot, meaning the cycle on the 7th was not a good day to do a curve.

With SLGS, we hold the dose 14 cycles/7 days before increasing. And then only increase by 0.25 units.

He gets his insulin at 8:30 and I'm asleep by 10:30pm most nights. I could potentially squeeze another test in before I go to bed, but I've never done PM testing because I just can't stay up unless it's a legitimate emergency. I'm also running quite low on test strips and haven't been able to get any more. There have been supply issues for months now. I'm contemplating switching to a different (not local store brand) meter because it's gotten so bad. I'm looking at the ReliOn ones, but my current one doesn't require coding and I'm confused if the ReliOn does or not. I'm assuming it does, since it doesn't say otherwise.
 
A +2 test is an excellent test on Lantus. If you see a significant drop from the PMPS test, then you know it'll be active cycle needing either extra monitoring or leaving out more food to keep him safe.

The Relion meter does not need coding and the test strips are quite inexpensive. The Relion Prime tests strips are very similar in price and blood drop size to the one you are using.
 
I added a pm +2 from Sunday. Not sure how I missed putting that one up there. I will try to get another +2 tonight and more tomorrow during the daytime.

That is good to know about the Relion, thanks! I will probably go ahead and order one in the morning.
 
Thanks on that Sunday test. Looks like Mochi bounced after those blues during the day.
 
The Relion meter does not need coding and the test strips are quite inexpensive. The Relion Prime tests strips are very similar in price and blood drop size to the one you are using.

Unfortunately it looks like the Prime is no longer available.
 
The upside of some of the other Relion's is that they need a smaller blood drop. Worth at least checking prices on strips.
 
You can get the Relion Premier Classic 9 dollars and 17.88 for 100 test strips
No coding needed

Doesn't the Premier Classic take the Premier test strips though? Those are $36.46 for 100. The Prime are $17.88 for 100 - roughly half the price and similar to what I'm paying now. I'll go with Premier if I have to, but I'm just wondering if I wait a bit if the Prime will come back in stock (if it hasn't been discontinued)? I've got about 100 strips left for my current meter. I'm hoping they'll be back in stock today. *fingers crossed*
 
Doesn't the Premier Classic take the Premier test strips though? Those are $36.46 for 100. The Prime are $17.88 for 100 - roughly half the price and similar to what I'm paying now. I'll go with Premier if I have to, but I'm just wondering if I wait a bit if the Prime will come back in stock (if it hasn't been discontinued)? I've got about 100 strips left for my current meter. I'm hoping they'll be back in stock today. *fingers crossed*
thats weird. my walmarts and online are 17.88 (100) for the PREMIER STRIPS.
the PRIME are more expensive.
i use the compact premier and the strips. cheapest STRIPS i have found.

really hoping Mochi can get regulated, sorry for his DX <3
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top