Back legs and tail twitching - please help (video attached)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elinor & Sibon

Member Since 2017
Sibon's back legs and tail have been twitching since we started the insulin in July. Before that, he was only a bit wobbly on his back legs due to a car accident he suffered before I adopted him which much have caused some sort of nerve damage, but it was only apparent when he tried to run.
He twitches about half the time and often attacks his own tail when he sees it going around like that. It also happens when he tries to sleep and this keeps him up. If you pet him around that area he becomes very irritated and lets you know about it.
In the first month and a half I only injected the insulin in his pelvic area before I learned you need to switch places. Could this be the reason?
This is never related to hypoglycemia and he doesn't seem to be bruised anywhere.

Video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4fpnPUo021rZU1rbVhNdGdIUEU/view?usp=sharing
 
Sibon's back legs and tail have been twitching since we started the insulin in July. Before that, he was only a bit wobbly on his back legs due to a car accident he suffered before I adopted him which much have caused some sort of nerve damage, but it was only apparent when he tried to run.
He twitches about half the time and often attacks his own tail when he sees it going around like that. It also happens when he tries to sleep and this keeps him up. If you pet him around that area he becomes very irritated and lets you know about it.
In the first month and a half I only injected the insulin in his pelvic area before I learned you need to switch places. Could this be the reason?
This is never related to hypoglycemia and he doesn't seem to be bruised anywhere.

Video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4fpnPUo021rZU1rbVhNdGdIUEU/view?usp=sharing
First - what a cute kitty he is! :) Second - I think this is feline hyperesthesia syndrome. Both Teasel and his sister have a bit of it, especially his sister. They show tail twitching, tail biting, leg kicking and will go running away very fast, etc. when it happens. Lantus is acidic and it's possible some internal stinging or irritation is setting off these symptoms. I've read other reports on FDMB about Lantus aggravating the hyperesthesia.
 
Last edited:
Some good advice above. I hope you are able to treat your kitteh. He is a cute kitteh, and looks healthy - so you're doing a great job keeping him healthy.
 
I noticed that mid-day nadirs are high, and nighttime nadirs are low. That could be from food intake. I get the same for Leo. As a result, I give him a little more insulin in the morning. He is a higher dose kitteh. But his doses are typically:
AM - 5.5 units
PM - 4.0 to 4.5 units
 
Are there any guidelines when switching from Lantus to Levemir?
I read that Levemir could have a later onset and that the 12/12 shooting isn't too strict, but that's all I know.
 
Levemir is dosed 12/12 the same as Lantus. Yes it is just as strict.
The onset and the nadir are usually later than Lantus.
I used Levemir with Sheba and her onset was usually +3 and the nadir was often +9.
Usually when swapping over to Levemir, 70% of the Lantus dose is given.
 
We also switched from lantus to lev--and we usually have a onset of about +3/4 and a nadir of +9/10
I like lev very much because my guy thinks he is the "McDiver" of felines!
Lev is a slower release at least for him. My other guy is in remission and he twitches like that sometimes so I am really glad to have read this!
Good luck if you switch--it is our 4th insulin and I wish It had been the first-
OH we started with a lower dose than lantus-he responded very quickly better safe than sorry:)
 
I will definitely look into Levemir with my vet. His twitching is pretty bad, he sometimes attacks himself while he's next to me at night and I get bitten too if I try to intervene.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top