back from vet hospital & crossing our fingers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Twyla17

Member
hello,
my wife and i are still new to this forum and have tried to learn fast. the evening of 8/12, our cat Twyla was so lethargic, throwing up mostly water, and not eating for the first time ever that we took her to the vet emergency hospital. they kept her until the evening of 8/16. they got a glucose reading at 10pm of over 600 whereas it had been 293 when i had tested it with our glucometer 7 hours earlier. Twyla was only diagnosed on 7/24 and we didn't receive our Prozinc until 8/5. 8/7 we got what must have been a bad reading of 32 as she wasn't symptomatic of hypoglycemia. we were still very new to this. i wish i had taken another reading. anyway, that reading scared us and we scaled down her Prozinc based on reading the forums, partially because our vet is a mobile vet who doesn't handle emergencies and isn't reachable much of the time. Twyla handles going to the vet very poorly, growls and shuns us, and seems to be depressed for some time afterwards which is why we use a home visit vet. assuming the 32 reading was bad, we should never have scaled back her Prozinc.

it turns out she had a bad infection and has a mass in her pancreas which the emergency vet thinks is cancer. she said we wouldn't be able to biopsy it without surgery due to its location. they said Twyla's blood had gotten acidic and that there was gas in her urine, that she had ketones. anyway, they determined which bacteria she has and is on a targeted antibiotic and all her blood readings are normal besides her glucose now. Twyla is 17 years old. anyway, her glucose readings are listed in the google document linked in our signature below. we welcome any advice, information, or links. we are learning more each day and are scheduling a follow-up appointment with our vet. our biggest challenge at the moment is the great difficulty we have with getting a blood drop from her ear. i was lucky this morning and got it on the first try, but this afternoon it took 4 or 5 attempts and we're worried that her ears will get torn to bits by all these pricks.

thank you and best wishes to you and your kitties,
joe & suloni
 
Last edited:
Two things you can do to minimize brusing to her ears: hold the ear for a f ew seconds after the poke and use Neosporin with Pain relief - the clear gel kind. Just a tiny smear after the poke. Their ears do toughen up. There are long time kitties here who have been poked for 10+ years.

I hope your vet is wrong. Since you won't really know, I'd work on keeping her in good levels, happy and well fed and loved. What cat could ask for more?

Her numbers are all over the place. The 54 could have caused a bounce and at least one of those reds. I'd hold the dose another cycle or two (assuming you don't get a preshot under 200) and then reevaluate to see if she needs a little more.
 
I'd say whenever you get a reading that is strange, go ahead and get another. That will help make YOU feel better, even if it is the right number since you'll know it's correct.

Here's hoping your vet is wrong! Just keep doing what you can and hopefully you'll have years and years of love and snuggles!
 
due to Twyla's high glucose numbers and consulting with vet and friends we gave her approximately .88u Prozinc this morning and 1.0u tonight. we have a house visit vet coming tomorrow morning and she is on antibiotics as well.
 
hello,
i wish i had better news, but when the vet came this morning she felt that Twyla was past any kind of recovery. she was virtually non-responsive to the vet's probing. we had been having to feed her and give her water by syringe yesterday and this morning. i guess i was focusing too much on the glucose numbers, thinking she could turn around somehow if we got them in a better range, but she was just too far gone. she was down to 4.25 pounds. i don't know if it was the cancer that the vet had suspected or if the infection and trauma of her procedures and medical issues that just wore her down too much. anyway, she died in my arms this morning with the vet, and i sobbed for the first time in many years. we are heartbroken and will miss her all our lives. i am so thankful of the time we had with her and the photos that we have of her. and i thank you here on this forum who have offered your advice and comfort. i'm going to turn off board emails for now as it is too much for me to deal with at the moment. best wishes to you and your pets. they are our hearts.
joe
 
Oh gosh Joe, I am so sorry. It takes a whole lot of love to make that decision and to be with her. She is blessed to have you and your family.
 
Oh Joe and Solani, I am so sorry that you have lost your sweet Twyla. It was clear in you posts how much you cared about her and what good care you took of her. I hope you'll be able to remember the good times with her - a life full of pats, love, good food, treats, a warm bed and a sunny place to nap - what more could a kitty want?
 
Dear Joe and Suloni,

It is my hope you'll read our messages when you are ready. I understand all too well how painful it is right now, when the loss is so deep. Please know we understand. I hope when the time is right, our words will offer you solace in the face of such grief and sorrow. You were the most devoted pet parents, doing far more for Twyla than many people ever do for a pet in a lifetime.

Surround yourself with the wonderful memories Twyla gave you for 17 beautiful years and know how much love and joy you both gave her.

My heartfelt sympathy to both of you.
 
Last edited:
I'm SO sorry it was Twyla's time to cross but what a life of love you all shared together. BIG HUGE LOOOOONG HUG to both of you. Thank you for sharing her with us.

Soar high on your new angel wings sweet girl....landing softly back in Papa's and Mama's broken hearts. You're so loved...
 
For Joe, Suloni, and Spirit Twyla ...

iu


My heart aches for you ...

:bighug:
 
I'm so so sorry to hear this. No matter how many years you have together, it is never enough. But I know that she knew she was very loved.
 
So very, very sorry, Joe & Suloni.
Your words make it so clear how very much you have always loved your sweet Twyla ... and will love her forever even as she's traveling on ahead, with her spirit carrying what is in your two hearts along with her. No doubt she knew how very lucky a kitty she was, to have you both for so many years.
My deepest sympathies. :bighug::bighug::bighug:- Robin
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top