amy keay
Member Since 2018
Hi
Came back from holiday on Thursday and my neighbours had been giving the injections and looking after him whilst we were away. I was texting and they said that he has been absolutely fine whilst we have been away and acting normally.
Notified he wasn’t quite right and he later vomited his tea on Thursday evening.
Took him to vets on Friday - they diagnosed severe UTI and prescribed antibiotics and Metacam.
Been giving him the tablets (he had 1 24 antibiotic injection on Thursday) and we have administered 2 tablets.
He’s got zero appetite and is hardly eating but testing his BG he is 23.2 this morning (amps). We lowered his dose to 1.5u before we went away and the vet said to continue to carry on with that dosage as the infection may be causing the BG to rise.
How long does it take for the antibiotics to start working ?
Will it be the infection / antibiotics that are causing the decrease in appetite ?
I read on here that the vets can give an appetite stimulant / anti nausea drug ? - Is that a temporary drug (I.e last for the day it is administered or will it be long lasting ?)
Very worried about my little man - he’s not right, any help greatly appreciated
Xx
Came back from holiday on Thursday and my neighbours had been giving the injections and looking after him whilst we were away. I was texting and they said that he has been absolutely fine whilst we have been away and acting normally.
Notified he wasn’t quite right and he later vomited his tea on Thursday evening.
Took him to vets on Friday - they diagnosed severe UTI and prescribed antibiotics and Metacam.
Been giving him the tablets (he had 1 24 antibiotic injection on Thursday) and we have administered 2 tablets.
He’s got zero appetite and is hardly eating but testing his BG he is 23.2 this morning (amps). We lowered his dose to 1.5u before we went away and the vet said to continue to carry on with that dosage as the infection may be causing the BG to rise.
How long does it take for the antibiotics to start working ?
Will it be the infection / antibiotics that are causing the decrease in appetite ?
I read on here that the vets can give an appetite stimulant / anti nausea drug ? - Is that a temporary drug (I.e last for the day it is administered or will it be long lasting ?)
Very worried about my little man - he’s not right, any help greatly appreciated
Xx