Onre
Member Since 2017
I posted a previous thread which says Glucose HI ect which is still posted where you can see it. My cat presented in the past three months with ketoacidosis, fatty liver, and pancreatitis and diabetes was confirmed.
We have spend a ton of money and spent weeks syringe feeding in 12 hour intervals until she would eat again. We had one week where she backslid briefly and I had to supplement how much she was eating. Overall, she has been remarkably stable. We took her back to our regular vet once we felt she was stable to get more bloodwook and the vet reacted with her bloodwork is astounding close to normal. However, a heart murmur has manifested during this process.
My routine to get her liver values back to normal included a milk thistle supplement with other ingredients and Sam-E. Two of the vets we dealt with including the emergency vet are on a no-test just give the insulin routine. Another after being pressed about blindly shooting insulin agreed that maybe we should test. That was shortly before this current episode. My cat hates the testing by the way she gets to the point where she hides from me every time she sees me. We will say it is not adding to a positive relationship. I don't see well so it makes it so it so I have stick her at least three times. My vision is correctable but the vet bills are not making it easy to go get that done.
My cat started showing signs that she could not walk right she would get up walk and sit or lay down. I thought either her potassium was low so I went and got more and started to supplement plus at my vets suggestion I added a B supplement. I also restarted sub Q fluids because I noticed she was drinking a ton but still seemed dehydrated. Just a small amount 50-75 mls she would still drink water. Bear in mind she has been to the vet at least a few times before after her rebound. She shows signs of not walking well I communitcated with the vet by phone made point to feed her more and she returned to normal. A day or two later back to not walking right again BG tested HI. I took her to the vet and the vet could only speculate on what was wrong including some difficult type of diabetes which goes up and down often. The BG was HI on her meter to I was told me to monitor her her BG before her next shot. I went and bought strips but accidentally left them behind at the self checkout. They were rang up separately at the pharmacy and were already in a bag I bought more stuff. I was having a stressful day. We consulted with the vet and skipped one shot and fed her a lot. She didn't get up to visit us to get her morning breakfast she ate but her appetite was low I went and got strips her BG was 294 on a Relion meter. I gave her 1 unit of insulin based on my vets advice and got her to eat more. Before the shot she was still sociable and walking normally. By 5pm she was puking profusely and not walking normally. My husband was caring for her at the time I had to go somewhere. He called the vet and was told to get her to eat. I came home to chaos. Based on the vets advice I began to feed in 15 to 20 minute intervals small amounts so it would stay down and I gave Sub Q Fluids. There was a minor improvement but ultimately not enough. We did test her an hour before the emergency vet and once again in the 294 range on the Relion meter. An hour half later The emergency vet said it was over 500 and she had ketones. I felt like she was actually guessing because she made some statements about my cat that were completely strange such as saying the liver values were up when she had no blood work to refer to and they no have no lab.
We have spend a ton of money and spent weeks syringe feeding in 12 hour intervals until she would eat again. We had one week where she backslid briefly and I had to supplement how much she was eating. Overall, she has been remarkably stable. We took her back to our regular vet once we felt she was stable to get more bloodwook and the vet reacted with her bloodwork is astounding close to normal. However, a heart murmur has manifested during this process.
My routine to get her liver values back to normal included a milk thistle supplement with other ingredients and Sam-E. Two of the vets we dealt with including the emergency vet are on a no-test just give the insulin routine. Another after being pressed about blindly shooting insulin agreed that maybe we should test. That was shortly before this current episode. My cat hates the testing by the way she gets to the point where she hides from me every time she sees me. We will say it is not adding to a positive relationship. I don't see well so it makes it so it so I have stick her at least three times. My vision is correctable but the vet bills are not making it easy to go get that done.
My cat started showing signs that she could not walk right she would get up walk and sit or lay down. I thought either her potassium was low so I went and got more and started to supplement plus at my vets suggestion I added a B supplement. I also restarted sub Q fluids because I noticed she was drinking a ton but still seemed dehydrated. Just a small amount 50-75 mls she would still drink water. Bear in mind she has been to the vet at least a few times before after her rebound. She shows signs of not walking well I communitcated with the vet by phone made point to feed her more and she returned to normal. A day or two later back to not walking right again BG tested HI. I took her to the vet and the vet could only speculate on what was wrong including some difficult type of diabetes which goes up and down often. The BG was HI on her meter to I was told me to monitor her her BG before her next shot. I went and bought strips but accidentally left them behind at the self checkout. They were rang up separately at the pharmacy and were already in a bag I bought more stuff. I was having a stressful day. We consulted with the vet and skipped one shot and fed her a lot. She didn't get up to visit us to get her morning breakfast she ate but her appetite was low I went and got strips her BG was 294 on a Relion meter. I gave her 1 unit of insulin based on my vets advice and got her to eat more. Before the shot she was still sociable and walking normally. By 5pm she was puking profusely and not walking normally. My husband was caring for her at the time I had to go somewhere. He called the vet and was told to get her to eat. I came home to chaos. Based on the vets advice I began to feed in 15 to 20 minute intervals small amounts so it would stay down and I gave Sub Q Fluids. There was a minor improvement but ultimately not enough. We did test her an hour before the emergency vet and once again in the 294 range on the Relion meter. An hour half later The emergency vet said it was over 500 and she had ketones. I felt like she was actually guessing because she made some statements about my cat that were completely strange such as saying the liver values were up when she had no blood work to refer to and they no have no lab.

and hope Onre gets through this!