Back Again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darcy D

Member Since 2012
Hi All,

I'm a returning war veteran of this disease with another kitty, Miss Kitty, newly dxd and need some advice.

She was prescribed, Novolin. I don't see this insulin in the ISG. Of course the doc told us to start out with 1U 2Xs a day and of course we adjusted that to 1/2U the first morning. Her BG was 236. Later that evening she was 150. And hasn't been above that in three days, last night after she ate a bit she was 138. We haven't shot her again since our experience tells us that number is too low to shoot. She isn't eating much at all and is obviously not feeling well. Vet ruled out infection and sent us home.

Any advice will be most appreciated.

Donna

Gabby (GA) 2011
 
Novolin Insulin is the brand name of a family of insulin products sold by the pharmaceutical company Novo Nordisk. As of January 1 ,2010, the company has discontinued the line of products.
I suspect hopefully that it is N insulin. Novolin is also available in a mixture of N and R.

Have you checked the urine for ketones via dipstick that you can purchase a a drug store?
You have to get your Miss Kitty to eat. Syringe feed if necessary
How did the vet rule out an infection?
 
Yes it is N. And yes the vet checked urine and found glucose also checked her teeth and she had no temp, ruling out infection the way vets do I suppose.

My main concern is that her BGs at 138-150 are too low to shoot?
 
HI Darcy - the general rule is to not shoot if numbers are below 200. You might do a curve if you have a free day - do your AM preshot and then at 3 hour intervals do a bg test (so that would be +3, +6, +9, and +12 pm preshot) so you know how your cat responds to insulin and what their lowest point (nadir) is. I've done enough curves with my cat that I will shoot her if she is under 200 with a reduced dose of .5 unit (she is normally at 1 unit). If she tests under 100 then I don't shoot because that will make her go too low. I'm not familiar with your type of insulin - I use Lantus which the low point is usually around +6 hours from the first shot. Jan
 
thanks nw. We were on Lantus with Gabby (GA) for 4 years and thought maybe this insulin uses a different protocol. Our rule was never to shoot Gabby below 200 and Miss Kitty hasn't been higher than 150 since her first shot a few days ago. Also familiar with the curve. If ever we get her BG up and can resume shooting we will do that.

D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top