AUSTRALIA BONNIE AMPS 10 Now +6 3.1

Until a moderator picks this up, you can look at https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

Here's an excerpt from "Don't Panic or How to Handle Low Numbers

ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.
If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus, Levemir, or Biosimilars and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
  • staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
  • ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
  • disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
  • twitching
  • stupor
  • convulsions or seizures
  • coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
Click on the link to read the rest...Good luck!!!
 
Until a moderator picks this up, you can look at https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/

Here's an excerpt from "Don't Panic or How to Handle Low Numbers

ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.
If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus, Levemir, or Biosimilars and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
  • staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
  • ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
  • disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
  • twitching
  • stupor
  • convulsions or seizures
  • coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
Click on the link to read the rest...Good luck!!!
 
Thanks sooo much. Just what I needed so I stop freaking out. I ran out of test strips bcoz I'd been watching het yesterday and had to drive to vet - AUD$75.00 for 50!!!! I'm buying a human one as soon as I can leave Bonnie alone for a couple of hours!!

Thanks again
 
Hi Deborah, did you get another test 20-30 mins after that 3.1? Bonnie has earned a reduction down to 2.75U from tonight.
Makes sense to switch to a human meter. Much cheaper strips!
 
Hi Deborah, did you get another test 20-30 mins after that 3.1? Bonnie has earned a reduction down to 2.75U from tonight.
Makes sense to switch to a human meter. Much cheaper strips!
Hi Deborah, did you get another test 20-30 mins after that 3.1? Bonnie has earned a reduction down to 2.75U from tonight.
Makes sense to switch to a human meter. Much cheaper strips!
Yes +7 4.6 (I did give teaspoon of FFgravy and a few bits of kibble as I had to get the strips at the vet.

I've stuffed up the spread sheet (condensed it) and have no idea how to fix it!! So can't put figures in atm.
I'm hopeless with it at the best of times
Oh in Australia we don't have syringes that measure in 1/4 units - I was searching and another person told me that. I can't find them on Amazon either. Can you send me a picture of the box please then I know exactly what to search for. You can email me or Deborah Jordan on FB messenger.
Thanks.
 
I've stuffed up the spread sheet (condensed it) and have no idea how to fix it!! So can't put figures in atm.
I'm hopeless with it at the best of times
Fixed the SS and added the +7

Oh in Australia we don't have syringes that measure in 1/4 units - I was searching and another person told me that. I can't find them on Amazon either. Can you send me a picture of the box please then I know exactly what to search for. You can email me or Deborah Jordan on FB messenger.
Thanks.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) had suggested a website to buy syringes in a previous post. Let me see if I can find it. Yes, you don't get syringes with half unit markings in Australia. You'd just have to use the syringes you get and try eyeballing 2.75U as accurately and consistently as possible. Many people use callipers to do so.

Btw, please take off the 911? Thanks.
 
Debbie, at the moment we cant get any 1/2 unit syringes here in Australia. Before covid, a UK company would post them out. So at the moment we have to use the 1 unit syringes. No-one, by the way, makes 1/4 unit syringes, only 1/2 unit syringes.
The syringes you need to be using are the U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes. BD ultra fine brand is a good brand.
You need to be in a good light and having magnifying glass when drawing up, helps a lot.
 
Debbie, at the moment we cant get any 1/2 unit syringes here in Australia. Before covid, a UK company would post them out. So at the moment we have to use the 1 unit syringes. No-one, by the way, makes 1/4 unit syringes, only 1/2 unit syringes.
The syringes you need to be using are the U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes. BD ultra fine brand is a good brand.
You need to be in a good light and having magnifying glass when drawing up, helps a lot.

Thanks for that. My sister is a nurse in the UK ... It won't hurt me to ask lol!!!
 
Back
Top