Evey
Member Since 2024
Hi~ I got some different information about when a cat needs insulin today and I would like to know what your opinions are.
So I was talking to a moderator of a local Diabetic Cats Support Group today. The moderator has lots of experience of helping cats successfully getting remission. The moderator suggests that Evey could try OTJ now since it's low enough and giving a cat insulin for too time would make a cat rely on the insulin and can never get out of it. With 0.5U of insulin, she is currently with the normal range 71-159mg/dL (This is the range provided by the vet. but according to TR, it's not within the normal range yet). I understand that different protocal has its own mechanism. But is it true that a cat can be rely on insulin and can never get rid of it?
Also, another question about OTJ. The local moderator suggests that during OTJ, if the cat's BG is not above 270mg/dL, the cat doesn't need any insulin because the pancrease can adjust the BG level. Just wait 24 hours to see if the BG goes down or not. If the BG still stays above 270, the insulin is necessary. The 270 number seems quite high since when Evey was diagnosed she was about 270. I mentioned about Evey's test results when she was diagnosed (GLU:274mg/dL, FRU 397umol/L, UGLU: 1000mg/dL). The moderator said that based on those results, Evey could have get to remission by just changing her diet into wet food and she didn't really need insulin to treat diabetes. Is it true? I'm wondering at what BG level a cat needs insulin to treat diabetes and when a cat can get to remission just simply by changing diet.
I would love to know what your opinions are~
So I was talking to a moderator of a local Diabetic Cats Support Group today. The moderator has lots of experience of helping cats successfully getting remission. The moderator suggests that Evey could try OTJ now since it's low enough and giving a cat insulin for too time would make a cat rely on the insulin and can never get out of it. With 0.5U of insulin, she is currently with the normal range 71-159mg/dL (This is the range provided by the vet. but according to TR, it's not within the normal range yet). I understand that different protocal has its own mechanism. But is it true that a cat can be rely on insulin and can never get rid of it?
Also, another question about OTJ. The local moderator suggests that during OTJ, if the cat's BG is not above 270mg/dL, the cat doesn't need any insulin because the pancrease can adjust the BG level. Just wait 24 hours to see if the BG goes down or not. If the BG still stays above 270, the insulin is necessary. The 270 number seems quite high since when Evey was diagnosed she was about 270. I mentioned about Evey's test results when she was diagnosed (GLU:274mg/dL, FRU 397umol/L, UGLU: 1000mg/dL). The moderator said that based on those results, Evey could have get to remission by just changing her diet into wet food and she didn't really need insulin to treat diabetes. Is it true? I'm wondering at what BG level a cat needs insulin to treat diabetes and when a cat can get to remission just simply by changing diet.
I would love to know what your opinions are~