? Asking for Lantus Rx tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

20Merlin24

Member Since 2024
So, we're seeing a different vet tomorrow and she's open to prescribing Lantus. If possible I will be going to Walmart right after the appointment in hopes of picking up meds right away. (The office already told me they don't carry it themselves).

Is there a particular way the Rx needs to be written?
What should I ask for?
And how much will this cost roughly? Any discounts possible if the patient is named Merlin...?
 
So, we're seeing a different vet tomorrow and she's open to prescribing Lantus. If possible I will be going to Walmart right after the appointment in hopes of picking up meds right away. (The office already told me they don't carry it themselves).

Is there a particular way the Rx needs to be written?
What should I ask for?
And how much will this cost roughly? Any discounts possible if the patient is named Merlin...?
I would ask them to prescribe you generic glargine instead of brand name Lantus. That will be much cheaper but just as effective. Also you want 5 pens not a vial. I buy my generic glargine at Costco and it is about $75 for 5 pens.
 
So, we're seeing a difB009LTE0DO
We tomorrow and she's open to prescribing Lantus. If possible I will be going to Walmart right after the appointment in hopes of picking up meds right away. (The office already told me they don't carry it themselves).
Most members get the generic you can get generic/biosimilar glargine at very reasonable prices using GoodRx coupon. Most members use the generic because Lantus is to expensive.
https://www.goodrx.com/lantus?label...d-pens-of-100-units-ml&quantity=1&slug=lantus
Make sure that the Match your prescription pull down menue says generic glargine 1carton of 5 3ml pens.
There is no wait time test, feed, give insulin
Lantus usually doesn't kick in until 2 hours after the shot

We buy the pens but use the syringes to draw out the insulin because if you use the pen you can only adjust by full units ,we adjust the doses by 0.25 units
If you do switch back to lantus the generic you will need
U -100 SYRINGES WITH HALF UNIT MARKINGS
I can suggest a few if you would like


Also
The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus



Or this one also

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens
Posted by another member
One members posted this
. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you.

Just call around for the best price

A member just posted this
Allie was using the Lantus and I just switched to the generic and using the GoodRX I got 5 pens for $81.30 at Walgreens.

GoodRX has a 1-800 number to assist you in using their services to get your pets prescriptions filled if the pharmacy gives you any issues.

I think I found it for you
GoodRx / Customer service

1 (855) 268-2822

Glad you're seeing a new vet tomorrow and she gives you Lantus /generic

I assume you already have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
If not you can get them from Amazon without needing a script
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-Gauge-Veterinary-Insulin-Syringes/dp/B009LTE0DO
We use the half unit syringes because it makes it easier to reduce by 0.25 units at a time.

It would be great if you can switch to a human meter ,that's what most of us use since that's what are numbers are based on plus the strips ate more affordable than the pet test strips


Meter
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197

Well if you have any questions about how many units you should start giving if you get Lantus just post and ask, let's see what the new vet tells you
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom Thank you! Sorry, I'm just sleep deprived and stressed, worried about my little guy. And I just screwed up his shot, so he only got a fraction of the dose. Ugh, I need a nap!

Yes, I have these syringes. If you know of better priced ones I'd love to know. Have about 45 or so left right now.

Can you switch back and forth between the brand name and generic without any issues? I'm wondering because the GoodRx Lantus coupon seemed like a great deal. They sent me the discount card with codes on it. $35 for 5 pens it says. But I'm guessing that deal won't last forever and maybe there will be problems with filling it.
 
@20Merlin24
Yes you can switch from Lantus to the genetic version, members here have done that.I know you are stressed and sleep deprived , but once you start Lantus I think you will feel better.,someone is always here to help.
If I didn't take the advice from the experienced members here I know that Tyler wouldn't be in remission for 3 years and 3 months already ( knock on wood) Everything will be OK :bighug::bighug:
Can I ask you your name, oops just saw your name is Anna when you did your intro post :cat:
 
Last edited:
They sent me the discount card with codes on it. $35 for 5 pens it says. But I'm guessing that deal won't last forever and maybe there will be problems with filling it
I just filled a script at Walmart tonight for brand name Lantus, 5 pens, for $35 with the GoodRX discount code. Cash price would have been around $115 without discount. And yes, it was clearly for a cat. :cat:

Make sure the vet specifies that you want the insulin pens (rather than the insulin vial). My vet simply wrote “pens or vial” on the prescription so I could get either—and then of course you simply ask for the pens (Lantus “Solostar pens” is what they’re called, in case you hear that term) at the pharmacy.

Also, the pharmacist will likely try to give you the “pen needles.” You don’t need them, so just politely decline. They’re used when administering insulin with the pen device but you’ll be using insulin syringes to draw the insulin from the pens.

Walmart also sells Relion brand insulin syringes. You’ll want U-100 3/10cc syringes with half-unit markings. They’re about $12.58 per box of 100. They have them behind the counter.
 
Last edited:
Yes, I have these syringes. If you know of better priced ones I'd love to know. Have about 45 or so left right now

@20Merlin24
JL is right the Relion Syringes from Walmart are cheaper

Found this posted by another member
ALL of the 3/10ml Relion syringes at Walmart have half unit marks. Trust me on this. You will want one of these boxes of syringes (the difference is the needle length...blue box are shorter needles than white box but both work fine). As long as the box has the purple stripe, they are the correct syringes.
upload_2024-4-12_20-17-34-jpeg.69856
 
Lantus vials are supposed to be capped at $35 in the US now. Cost used to be around $300, but the last one we got back in December was $35 thanks to recent legislation. We were surprised, as we didn't know that the price cap covered insulin for cats too.
 
Wow, thank you for this most awesome information, everybody!

Something odd is going on this morning... Merlin has been very listless, completely detached and disinterested, and not himself at all the last few days. Poor appetite and limping terribly (front leg). Last night at 8pm his glucose was 359 (and just avoiding everything and everybody) and when I gave the injection an hour later I completely messed it up so he got only a tiny fraction of it. And now his BG is 296 and he's acting like himself. Hungry, seeking eye contact, talkative, trying to chew my hair, and almost running. Limp is 90% less. Is this a coincidence? Should I skip his injection???
 
"It would be great if you can switch to a human meter ,that's what most of us use since that's what are numbers are based on plus the strips ate more affordable than the pet test strips"

Thank goodness for this board! I will definitely pick up this meter and strips today. I was under the impression that human meters were less accurate with cats, (something about the difference in the blood) but these pet strips are soooooo expensive and I only have TWO left right now. Refill order has not come in yet so that's the other problem. When you run low, you're at the mercy of whatever delivery service is used.
 
We are now officially started on Lantus. And I'm switching to a human meter. :cat:

Vet started him on 2 U twice daily. Said it takes a couple of weeks to take effect so I'm supposed to call her with results in two weeks for possible adjustment. (Unless we have an issue before then of course). In a month she'll run a fructosamine test to double check. She said don't go nuts with testing because it's still early days. 3 times a day is what she recommended. Before injection and at about +6. And keep an eye on his behavior. If he's "off", then go ahead and test to make sure he's safe. We're at about +2 now and he seems quite comfortable. Purring and lounging.

She said expect it to take about three months before he's reliably regulated. Most cats his size end up at about 2.5 U.
 
@20Merlin24
Hi Anna That's great news you got the Lantus!
A few things you need to do.
In your signature you need to put the date you started Lantus ,you can put that after NPH.I don't know if you have the human meter yet, but you need to put after the Pet Pro meter /Name of the human meter and date
If it's the Relion you can just put Relion as of then the date.
By the way can you put what food you are feeding Merlin
Is it wet lc (low carb) or lc & kibble.
I see you are following SLGS method add that to your signature
Tap in your name up top then tap on signature and make the corrections, then tap save. Members will need to know this :cat:

On your spreadsheet up top after where you have NPH put /Lantus and the date, and where you have the Pet Pro put/name of the human meter and the date

Did you get a PMPS test last night? (4-17)
 
I added to my post above don't know if you saw it all. Since you are going to be using a human meter now the last 2 color codes up top need to be changed
The dark green should now be 50-99
And the lime green should be BG<50
If you can't change it yourself let me know.
We like members to put a blank line on their spreadsheet when they switch to a different insulin and meter above the date
You can just put Started Lantus and name of the human meter and highlight it any color you want to
@20Merlin24
 
She said don't go nuts with testing because it's still early days. 3 times a day is what she recommended. Before injection and at about +6. And keep an eye on his behavior. If he's "off", then go ahead and test to make sure he's safe. We're at about +2 now and he seems quite comfortable. Purring and lounging.

She said expect it to take about three months before he's reliably regulated. Most cats his size end up at

I disagree with only testing 3 times a day
You need to test at AMPS to be sure his number is safe to give insulin
I would get another test in at least @+3 and @+6
Same goes for the PMPS cycle to see how he reacts to Lantus
It usually takes 5-7 days for the depot to build up to see how he's doing.
You can also test at different times switch it up
Like get a test in @+2 and maybe @+4 both cycles
I suggest reading all about Lantus here , please read all the yellow stickys

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

@20Merlin24

If you have any trouble making all the changes let me know and I will ask one of our members to do it for you
With Lantus you test, feed and shoot, you don't have to wait an hour to shoot after eating like you had to do with NPH
Lantus usually kicks in @+2
If you ever aren't sure about anything please post starting with a ?
 
Last edited:
We are now officially started on Lantus. And I'm switching to a human meter. :cat:

Vet started him on 2 U twice daily. Said it takes a couple of weeks to take effect so I'm supposed to call her with results in two weeks for possible adjustment. (Unless we have an issue before then of course). In a month she'll run a fructosamine test to double check. She said don't go nuts with testing because it's still early days. 3 times a day is what she recommended. Before injection and at about +6. And keep an eye on his behavior. If he's "off", then go ahead and test to make sure he's safe. We're at about +2 now and he seems quite comfortable. Purring and lounging.

She said expect it to take about three months before he's reliably regulated. Most cats his size end up at about 2.5 U.
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Chris & China (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
Hi ladies I gave Anna lots of information as you can see
Any suggestions on the starting dose ?
I have asked her what she's feeding Merlin waiting to hear back and to add it to her signature
 
I will go through this and make the changes.

Yes, I will be using the ReliOn meter with the iPet meter as a backup if anything seems off.

I tested the iPet meter against the one at the office yesterday, and it was pretty close. Her reading was 294, mine was 288. Actual blood glucose was 327 according to the bloodwork. I asked to have his kidney function tested as well to be sure. All is well.

Merlin gets low carb wet, mostly Fancy Feast. Gerber baby food and boiled chicken when his appetite is low. Also Friskies, American Journey, and Meow Mix at times. No kibble.

I already started him at 2 Units this morning since that's what she insisted on. She said for his weight he should actually be at 2.5. He's 12 lbs.
 
If she has been actually giving the NPH diluted to half strength, it looks like she had given up to 3U (which at half strength would be 1.5U).....so I'd probably suggest starting at 1.5 of Lantus.
I made sure she understood this. She said we have no way of knowing what I was actually giving him. She's never heard of it. She said these insulins are completely different anyway, so she's treating it as a fresh start.
 
You didn't need to skip the dose last night. NPH is an in and out insulin, unlike Lantus/glargine where the depot hangs around. Which is a good thing for Lantus getting flatter cycles once the depot is established.

If you can get 3 tests in the AM and 2 tests in the PM (preshot and one before bed if at least +2), that'll give us a good idea how Merlin is doing on the Lantus. Depending on the cat, we've seen either an immediate response to the change in insulin, to not much action for a few days. Best to keep up the monitoring, just in case.

Good luck with the Lantus!
 
I think you should enter skip on your spreadsheet for last night
@20Merlin24
Done
You didn't need to skip the dose last night. NPH is an in and out insulin, unlike Lantus/glargine where the depot hangs around. Which is a good thing for Lantus getting flatter cycles once the depot is established.

If you can get 3 tests in the AM and 2 tests in the PM (preshot and one before bed if at least +2), that'll give us a good idea how Merlin is doing on the Lantus. Depending on the cat, we've seen either an immediate response to the change in insulin, to not much action for a few days. Best to keep up the monitoring, just in case.

Good luck with the Lantus!

I will do my best! Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top