Asher Thurs July 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Mornin kids:
Just wanted to mention I posted the" Asher story" on Lantus and Lev. Post is called “considering a switch to another insulin”.
I have 1/4 bottle of PZ left. I am a bit scared about this and don’t know how my vet will be about it, but I am considering it at this point.
With all your wonderful help we have come really far. And I guess I could just be satisfied he is (usually) regulated now. It’s the “usually" part that worries me. You can keep track or I will keep you all informed.....
 
Best of Luck Donna with whatever you decide!

Wishing you and Asher all the best, whether in PZI land or LL!

Kim and Kitty
 
Aw, we will miss your sweet unpredictable Asher if you switch. But you have given PZ a valiant try and beans need to do what is best for their kitties. I think you wiould do fine on either insulin. Levemir seems to be a smaller, more flexible forum, but Lantus is full of good people and much busier. Both insulins seem to work about the same. And you test enough for either forum.

Re your vet. There is a protocol written by vets for Lantus. You might print it off and give it to him. Having researched info on how to dose and what to expect might make him more receptive to a new insulin.
 
Oh no, I would miss Asher's picture so if you do switch you have to post over here also! And I say we still get to claim those cute boys as ours! :smile:
 
Not so fast...You guys aren’t rid of us yet :)

I am so confused thinking about all of this today I don’t know what to do. I am going to read all the info on the Ls and talk to my vet, so things could change in the near future, but naturally today Asher gives us good numbers ;)

amps 227
+5.5 154
+12 156
+13 156

So we haven’t shot yet tonight. And now I def think Robin is correct and he needs a dose reduction. Just afraid we are gonna see a 300 tomorrow somewhere.

I am tired from mowing and working on my Mom’s house today so now is not the time to decide anything.
All I wanna do is shoot and go to bed @-) But I am going to consider this insulin change one more time and see what my vet says.
 
I was thinking 3 units if we can get him high enuf to shoot. Gonna test again in 10 mins. The troops want to be fed so we can’t hold out much longer.
If he sticks around 160 do you guys think 2.6-2.8?

(we have been shooting 3.1)
 
I'll defer to you, Donna. You have always been much braver than I am and it has always worked out.

I bet Asher heard you were leaving PZI where all the ladies adore him and decided he'd throw some better numbers.....
 
I'm with Sue, you're much bravier than I am. But if you shoot at these numbers I'd go 2.8u? Go with your gut. You've done such a great job so far.

What is it about threathening to switch insulins that gets their attention. :o
 
You know I’d be the happiest bean on earth if we could make pzi work for us :)
And yes, Asher is the ladies man with a mind of his own.

You know on days like this I keep thinkin’ we’re close. Close to the magical dose we can shoot every day. (Yeah right) He obviously responds to the insulin.

But then there will be a flat day and a day where he hits 300 and then I wonder if I am doing all I can to keep him in the best health possible. It creates a terrible decision to make.

We hit 203 now so there is lots of lip smackin downstairs. I think I am gonna shoot 3. I always check on him at 3am when he comes to me for his snack.
Am I crazy?
 
You know I think he will do well on any of the insulins, so I would go with what feels right to you. He's really doing fairly well on PZI and though it's uneven, his #s are pretty good overall. It's not consistent though, so I wouldn't blame you at all for trying a different insulin and seeing if he does a little better. It could be he just doesn't get quite enough duration on PZI, hard to say really. I suspect his pancreas may be awakeable if you can get him in a few more greens, and maybe one of the Ls would help you do that. If you stay on PZI, I might consider doing some early shooting on a long weekend or something just to see what happens. Of course not on days like today. :mrgreen:

I think you are doing pretty well with the dosing - I would trust your instincts, and whatever you do, view it as data gathering so you can refine it the next time you are in a similar situation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top