Asher, sliding scale

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Never thought I’d see those 3 words together :shock:

We are trying this to see if it works. Mostly to get rid of the bouncing around and the yukky 300 pre shots.
Please feel free to tell me if we’re nutz :lol:
Carl was kind enough to give a dose suggestion, and we tweaked it a bit since Asher’s night numbers are lower than his day ones right now:

200-250...2.6u night...2.8u day
250-300...2.8u night...3.0u day
300-350...3.0u night...3.2u day

Yesterday was one of his high flat days so numbers sucked. 300s pre shoots and only ever got down to 267 mid cycle.

I woke to a 165 amps (after 3 snacks overnight too), waited 25 mins and then got a 263, a little higher than I wanted but it is what it is. We shot 3.0u.

SS is current.

Hope all you nice folks and felines have a super good day! Good numbers to all!

peace.....
 
Looks like a good choice for the sliding scale. Let's see if Asher agrees! Kind of a big jump from the snacks... wondering if the amps was a little off? After my 85 point spread in 4 minutes yesterday, I'm questioning EVERY reading!!!
 
Yeah Lu, he has been known to zoom up but jeeze, that’s a lot. I am doubting the first reading a bit but I didn’t test twice then, only for the second number we are counting as amps.

His snacks were around 1 and 3 am, so I doubt they effected his amps as a food spike. Snacks overnight have brought us better numbers in the past.

Dunno. It’s all quite a mystery to us since we had our meter debacle in Jan. Tough getting him back on track after that and his dental. Trying hard to forge ahead and not get too frustrated but I do worry quite a bit anytime he is over 270. Trying to avoid any future organ damage at all costs.
 
Hope this new scale is just the ticket for Asher! I know when Hershey was rising the other day and I kept testing, trying to catch the (200) he was well past it in like :15. Wish I could find a rhyme or reason...

Wishing you great numbers!!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Well, today didn’t go so well. I’m ready to quit the sliding scale before we really start :sad:

Just got a pmps of 401 :evil:
Shot 3.2

Don’t know if we should try to stick with this or go back to holding. Ugh!
 
I've been told to hold new doses for a couple or three cycles to give them a chance to settle into it, unless they go too low and you need to reduce.
 
We have held forever, consistency was our friend for about a year. But now things are different since our meter issue and then the dental. So all bets are off. Thought we’d try the sliding scale to stop the bounce.
 
donnahc said:
Yeah Lu, he has been known to zoom up but jeeze, that’s a lot. I am doubting the first reading a bit but I didn’t test twice then, only for the second number we are counting as amps.

His snacks were around 1 and 3 am, so I doubt they effected his amps as a food spike. Snacks overnight have brought us better numbers in the past.

Dunno. It’s all quite a mystery to us since we had our meter debacle in Jan. Tough getting him back on track after that and his dental. Trying hard to forge ahead and not get too frustrated but I do worry quite a bit anytime he is over 270. Trying to avoid any future organ damage at all costs.

Depends on what your snacks are. If it's 1/2 can FF, it'll spike. If it's Ocean whitefish, shouldn't... I've found the same thing... if I give Grayson something during the night (like if the dogs wake me up to go out - for which Grayson probably pokes them to wake them up first) :lol: - he gets 1/2 can and his AMPS is lower. Definitely support for the auto feeder - but then I'd have to lock him in a room by himself, or do one of those nifty "feeding chambers" w/ the magnetic collar on him. Not sure he'd like the collar, but it can't be any worse than Hershey's saddle! (I LOVE that visual!)
 
Hey Donna,

Looks like Asher gave you a liver dump. Looking at your SS, even my eyebrows raised on the 181 @ +9 to a PMPS of 401. WOW!!
Seems like it may not be a matter of not enough insulin but perhaps may be due to grumpy Mr. Liver. Matter of fact, I'm wondering if you got the dump simply because he's been so low since the eve cycle on the 27th...??? Would not be surprised if you saw a flat cycle tonight (although I hope that it not the case!!) because of the dump. I guess tonight's cycle will tell you if there wasn't enough juice for the am cycle or if it was liver panic from rocking out some pretty low numbers for a long duration. Either way...Asher is looking better and better. (anti jinx)
 
I’m fairly sure it is grumpy Mr. Liver, Lisa. I thought we were on our way to rid ourselves of these ikky pinks, and then a red certainly gets your attention :sad:
We press on, what else can we do......
I count my blessings that he feels good, he was just into some naughty stuff with his brother, and was playing in the kitchen with a piece of cardboard for about 20 minutes. These small things make me feel better :-D
 
Well, as you know Miss Thumper is the queen of bounce. Tonight she gave me a +11 of 222....an hour later PMPS - 343! @-)
 
Well Barbara, you did get a 36 today, so bounce it is :sad:
So you are still on Lantus? Did I read you might be going to Lev?
 
The vet suggested I stay with Lantus till we can see if any of the treatment for her hip helps. I thought it was getting better for a few days but the last few days she's been creeping up once again. I decided to increase by .25 this morning, knowing full well she got a 36 the last time we tried this dose & sure enough you see what happened. I wanna beat my head against the wall. She's too high on 1.5 but drops to 36 on 1.75! Tonight I shot a "fat" 1.5 we'll see what happens. Good news is that she is walking better & has jumped up on the second level on the cat tree. Petey is scared of her so he ran off when he saw her coming. :lol: She goes tomorrow for her 3rd laser treatment & 2nd Adequan shot. I'm glad they are doing the laser free right now cause the gas is killing me for the 45 mins one way drive!
 
Well that’s great news that she is walking better already! Good, I hope the progress and relief for her continues. And that Mom gets a break soon! :-D
I hear ya on the 45 min drive. Our vet is that distance too. Doesn’t sound far, until you have a cat or two “singing” in the car with you....
 
Give the sliding scale some time to work. Baxter is on a sliding scale & it has seemed to work. It took some Twiking a couple times, but over all I think it's been really good. Sshhh don't tell Baxter I don't want things to get all messed up by talking about this. So this comment never happened.
 
I'm with you on the grumpy liver. copper loves to have the major liver dump these days. Messes with my mind!
 
Mr Liver took a break for the night. We had a +4 of 176 and a +8 of 190 overnight. Woke to a 268 amps (we shot 3.0). Much nicer than that nasty 400 last night.

Hope everyone out there has a great day with some great digits to go with it!
 
A 200’s flat day yesterday, shot 2.8 pm, followed by an awesome cruise thru Thurs night: +5 78, +6 69, +7 91.
And then naturally, grumpy Mr Liver this morning : 366, shot 3.2u.

I guess I am just a trained monkey, but I keep thinking, "maybe I should hold a dose for awhile until he settles". :shock: And I know we are trying this sliding scale thing to try and stop the rebound. Rebound we had when we were holding the dose. Dunno. I think my brain is fried.

Good day and good numbers to you all!!! TGIF!!
 
Those cycles look pretty good. Stick with the sliding scale, give it some time. Take a look at Baxters SS I have the different scales & when I reduced. Keep in mind you can't dose to Baxters scale, but it can give you a idea of how long it took for certain scales to work & where we are today. ECID but it will give you a idea maybe.

Now trained monkey go train the other monkies. Show the liver & pancreas how it's suppose to be!!
Wwwhhippp, 1,2,3 get in your place, now hold steady...whhiippp...GET IN YOUR PLACE MR.LIVER & YOU TO MR.P! Now listen up...this how things are going to be.... :twisted: :lol:
 
Hi Donna,
That is one heck of a surf!
Looks good and he must have been feelin good too!
Hopefully the bouncing will stop for you guys!
I know how frustrating that can be!
Hang in there with the scale, you never know!
 
Thanks everyone. Thought he’d be sky high tonight but we got a 240 somethin’ for pmps. Very happy with that. So happy, I mixed a drink :-D drinking09
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top