Joanna, I think the only difference in Asher’s day to day lately has been the crazy hot temps and humidity we have had here and mostly, he eats a slightly different amount of food every day.
We feed 3/4 small can (3.5 oz) of food per cat, per meal. The only other food they get is baked chicken as a snack. We feed twice daily before shooting, but after we feed, not every cat cleans their dish entirely. Alby likes to come back to finish later when his brother isn’t there. Asher comes back about two hours later and cleans up whatever is left, usually. We get a mid day chicken snack and a snack around 3am. Sometimes the cats want it, and sometimes they leave it sit. So basically I’d say we do a very modified free feed. I only put a certain amount of food out a few times a day, but they graze on it and eat out of each other’s dishes, and mostly eat what they feel like which differs a bit every day.
I don’t know how I could be more rigid about making sure Asher eats the same amount every day but I am suspecting this is the only environmental difference each day with how he reacts to insulin. He’s a pretty calm dude (unless we are going to the vet) so he doesn’t get fired up about storms or people coming over, etc. At least that we can see.
I wonder if I need to come up with a changing dose now based on his preshot, like if he is 160 he gets 3 units, if he is 200 he gets 3.1, if he is 260 he gets 3.2, etc.
We seem to have done better holding a dose with him, but that is maybe because we are closer to his ideal dose now since we have been holding. Does anyone think this idea has some merit or have I not had enuf coffee this morning?
How does the protocol work on the L’s, is it similar in that you dose on a preshot or a nadir number?