Asher overnight and Monday

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
We did ok last night. Overnight numbers were +4 173, +6 165, +8 142.

Our amps today was 327.

We stayed with 2 units again this morning. Might stay here for a couple cycles, then if we can try to raise again we’ll try 1.1 instead of 1.2, which seemed to be too much.

Happy Monday everyone! ~O)
 
Good call on the dose last night, Donna. :RAHCAT :RAHCAT Gave you good numbers and maybe didn't slow down the nice cycles you have going.
 
Monday morning fun :)
 

Attachments

  • under alby.jpg
    under alby.jpg
    135.4 KB · Views: 944
Nice shootin'!

Asher flip_cat
Alby flip_cat

Wishing you lovely numbers today - and few surprises. :mrgreen:

Love the pic. of Alby, I'm surprised he stood still for that. Or did you take it by remote cam?
 
Our cats are used to cameras and flashes and all other kinds of ruckus here with the business. They grew up with it so it’s really no big deal to them. We should take their photos more than we do actually.

We’ll have a pmps later but decided to give Asher’s ears a needed break after yesterday, and we needed a break too since I have to be out making deliveries today.

So numbers later.....


:mrgreen:
 
Hi kids,
I’ll be a bit later tonight posting a pmps since we got bumped back last night due to the late nadir yesterday. With the time change coming up and our work schedule not being so strict this week so far, we’ll prob just keep the schedule close to the way it turned out last night.

Wanted to mention that today I did call the vet practice that my Mom uses, and the vet I’d like to possibly use will be calling me back tomorrow.
So hoping for a positive response there. Excited and a little scared at the same time, if you know what I mean. I just want to keep moving forward.

Back L8r....
 
Love the pic of Alby! Hoping you had nice #'s today. I don't always like change, and it can be hard to change vets when you've started with one. My paws are crossed for your Mom's vet cause you just plain and simple need someone with a better bed side manner. Someone that brings you to tears is not a keeper in my opinion, but I realize you've got pros and cons whatever you decide. Good luck!
 
Thanks guys. You’ll be the first to know :)

Kind of a meh day, but that’s usually the case after a low pmps on the previous day.

279 was our pmps tonight. Shot 2 units tonight.

I guess we’ll have to consider trying 2.1 soon if we can eyeball it in the syringe. Any thoughts on when I should try that?
What is the correct thing to do there? We just went back to 2 because we kind of knew what that might do.

Didn’t know if I needed to stick to the 2 for 3 or more cycles before trying something different.
 
Some people find that giving the cat a chance to adjust to the new dose works well, other find it doesn't seem to matter.You seem to do a very good job at find king what works for Asher. You could always do an experiment and try each way.
Good luck With the vet. It would be great if you could find someone you could really trust.
 
I hear my current (and hopefully ex) vet in the back of my head yelling at me every time I change the dose. Me changing a dose is what pisses her off the most I think.
So I was curious if there is a “correct" procedure for this insulin or if we all just do what works for us.
 
I have never found a protocol for PZI. In Gator's document there is a study. But, as I read it, they decided twice daily dosing worked. They didn't consider diet, and they only changed the dose once in the month long study. The consensus seemed to be that it helped lower bg levels in most cats. Didn't seem to be very useful.

I think the strength and weakness of PZI is that it acts differently in every cat. As we see here daily, there are basic guidelines about raising and lowering the dose but they work in some kitties while not working in others. It is sort of a "DIY" insulin......It's most useful attribute is that it is flexible, and you can adapt the dosing to fit your cat.

As I lurk on the Lantus forum, it seems that the strict protocol works for some cats. But there are also cats there who have on Lantus for years without being in near remission numbers. I have never decided whether a protocol would be a good thing or not. It would certainly make it easy on the bean - not sure if it would be easier on the cat.
 
I really don't know the answer. I wonder if You contacted the ProZinc manufacturer if they might have a recommendation. I know with Lantus and Levimir it takes a few days for the "shed" to build up and holding the dose is important, but PZI does not work the same way, I believe it is a 12 hour insulin and then it is out of their system. ( tho I found that it often lasted longer for Squaamee). Maybe Sue or Joanna could give you a abetted answer.
Anyhow, I think your vet gets pissy about the dose change as a power struggle and resents your not making her the authority. How she can possibly justify not giving you insulin is beyond my comprehension. Even if you really were doing something "wrong", then it becomes her job to educate you,not punish you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top