Asher Monday 5/9

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi Kids:
Hope everyone is doin good out there in kitty land :)

So I’m back with more confusing stuff.

We’re back up to 2.6u as of this morning. Today it looks like we’re getting an inverse curve (too much insulin?).
amps was 276 and +6 was 317

So, I am confused as heck. I thought we needed more insulin since the lowering experiment didn’t work (we left off at 2.8 before we reduced for the experiment).

Do I need to call the vet and talk about changing insulins? Do I need to just give more insulin and see what happens? Do I need to shut up and hang with a dose for two weeks and maybe wonky stuff (like 300s mid day) will go away?

Any thoughts warmly accepted :) Spreadsheet is current.
 
How near are you to the end of the vial? If a ways, I think I would see what shakes out with a few more cycles. If you need more insulin anyway, I think I would try Levemir or Lantus. You have certainly given ProZinc a shot and Asher has been all over the place. BUT if you change, you must promise to come back and visit!
 
We have about a half a bottle left.

Dunno what to do. I feel like we’re getting nowhere but maybe I am too impatient. We have been at this since Jan.

Maybe I should talk to the vet and feel out if he would be hip to us changing if he has no other suggestions on what we should be doing.

I went to him because he is wonderful and did great with my Mom’s cat, but also because he said they use ProZync. Now if I ask to change he’ll prob think I am nutz :shock:
 
The only idea I would have re dose is to try to dose between the 1.8 and 2.2 (Maybe the curve on 5/7 was inverse and not flat.....and we should have reduced there?) Between Asher and Shakes, my head is spinning......
 
I know Sue, I feel terrible bugging you guys all the time and not getting anywhere. I feel like I am overlooking something or doing something wrong.

I have an email into the vet’s office. I am hoping Doc is hip to looking at the spreadsheet online and we can discuss from there (like we all already do).
 
Actually, I think your bugging us is terrific. (easy for me to say, I am not making the dosing recommendations!) it makes everybody think more---maybe even better than crossword puzzles for forestalling dementia! :mrgreen: And it helps you not to be alone and to know how hard it is to find the "right" answers. And we get a chance to enjoy knowing you and your gorgeous adorable boys.
 
I think it's like 6-8 weeks and if you can't get regulated, time to try a new insulin. We often go a heck of a lot longer than that here of course, but a lot of time that is combined with either signs of progress, or specific issues to address like food changes or correcting for vet overdoses ohmygod_smile etc. But the idea is you start at 1u BID, raise with some frequency, and if you don't see decent results in a couple months (barring signs you have a high dose kitty and need more time), you jump ship.

Today's could be more flat than inverse, kind of depends on your PMPS. If that's blue or something then yeah, dose is too high. If that's pink or high yellows, I'd call it flat. He could have more new dose wonkiness than some I guess. I'll veto the 2 weeks idea, that's too long! If you want to hold a dose, I'd say 5 days to 1 week is the upper limit.
 
Judy you are so sweet cat_pet_icon Somedays I think that I already have early onset dementia :shock:

pmps was 297, so could be inverse but maybe flat.

If I am gonna hang out somewhere for a few days until I can talk to my vet (this week I hope), would you guys increase the dose to like 2.8 or 3, or go back to something like 2 units?

Thanks for putting up with us. We are gonna get regulated. One way or another.
 
I wish I could help you.

I have missed the Asher post the last few days!
 
Thanks Kim :)
I guess I haven’t been posting as much because no matter what I do we have pink and yellow in some configuration without a nadir. My editorial and advertising background makes me want to bring new content and I don’t have any of late :roll:
 
/Hi Donna,

No effence please but I am kind of glad I am not the only one banging my head against the wall
every day!
I am so sorry that Asher is going through this, but by reading your posts too I am starting to learn
some stuff, so thank you !

and please hang in there
We will get there some day, and soon too!

Denise andShakes
 
No offense taken Denise :lol: I guess we just have the two ornery boys of the board cat(2)_steam

I have to shoot insulin now so I guess we’ll stay at 2.6 for right now since this morning was only the first cycle on that dose.

In the meantime I’ll try to get with the vet and see what he says. I have a shoot in Philly tomorrow but maybe I can chat with him while I am sitting in traffic :roll:

Thanks Joanna and Sue and everyone for your thoughts and good vibes.
 
You may have the 2 ornery boys but my girl is sure giving me a run for my money! Keeping me up till 2am then shooting back up to 300's today. Ugh....Seems like none of us are having much success!
 
Paws crossed for some nice #'s. Come on Asher...late Mother's Day gift. BTW, I love your Asher posts Donna. He such a cute guy and definitely makes us all think. I think you've had such a good attitude through all the ups and downs. Now, you're ready for some downs, BG #'s that is.
 
Donna, I understand how frustrated you are. We've been at this since end of October and never saw any progress for months.
Just recently, Henry has been getting lower numbers in the mornings and he was above 500 for a long time.
Hang in there, no matter what you decide, you have done everything humanely possible to try to get Asher in regulated numbers.
You are the best kitty mommy!
Hoping Asher gets some movement and nice numbers on new dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top