Asher Monday 4/25, what to do???

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi Kids:

Had to help Mom today so didn’t get a chance to post until now.

Not a great numbers day. We had low pmps (213) last night so I stuck with the 2.6F instead of raising last night.

This morning we woke up to amps of 328 so I shot 2.7units

Prob should done 2.8 because his +6 was only 220 :cry:

So, unless he throws a curve for pmps tonight I guess we should move to 2.8. I feel frustrated we take one step forward and another back.

Any thoughts? Seems like he does real good and then has bad days after that. Should we not back off when he goes low/has a good day?

edit: amps 328
+6 220
pmps 324 :(
 
2.8 sounds good. The last time you did 2.8 you got a big bounce after a green nadir, but you had increased from 2.5 to 2.8---this time you are increasing more gradually, which may make a difference. You might think about making a plan for the week and sticking to it, then re-evaluate from the data it brings. So you can decide to keep increasing by small increments and continue doing that, or decide not to, and continue doing that. I think it might make thing clearer than evaluating every day. Make any sense to you? and you could decide not to back off unless his PS goes below a certain number (200? 180?). Sorry this remains so frustrating. I was so much hoping that the dental would really change the scenario. Disappointing. But still, these are not terrible numbers and he is acting fine, right? Don't forget how important that is.
 
We ended up shooting 2.8 tonight. I will test overnight for sure.

Yes Judy, a GIANT blessing that he acts normal and plays and does funny cat stuff! Tonight it’s hot here and both kitties are impersonating a Salvadore Dali painting, and are draped upside down across tables and such :)

I would love to hold a dose for awhile :shock: It just hasn’t seemed like we could for any length of time. So we’ll try this time. Don’t tell Asher.....

Just wondering...Is backing off on dose always the thing to do when the kitty gets a bounce?
 
I don't think there is ever an "always" answer---except, of course things like do not give insulin when cat could hypo, etc. Usually people take a bounce to mean that there is too much insulin, but you have to think about what the nadir was (really low, or not so much) and how big the bounce. And if the bounce could be related to a fast drop rather than to the absolute number. Oh, there are so many factors! :dizcat
Just compliment yourself on your dedication and your ability to keep Asher in good health, no matter what the numbers are saying.
 
Aww...would love to see pics of the "kids" doing their Dali poses. We are forecasted for 2-4 inches of snow overnight. Ugh!

I don't know what to make of Asher and his non-pattern. Paws crossed that 2.8u gives you nice #'s.
 
God love ya, snow? You are a tough chick! :lol: Sturdier than me!
Yeah, non- pattern is a good way to describe the gray dude!
 
ECID, look back on your ss to see what Asher did on xday, ybg & zdose to see what he might do on a similar xyz.

I suspect that today is another bounce, you don't know how low he went last night.

4/23 - am 252 shot 2.8u you got a steep drop and a bounce
4/23 - pm 367 shot 2.6u you got a 100 point drop
4/24 - am 246 shot f2.6u you dropped 30 points at your next ps
4/24 - pm 213 shot f2.6u higher bg's the next day.

Does seeing it this way make more sense?
 
donnahc said:
Should we not back off when he goes low/has a good day?

Not necessarily. The reasons people back off are 1) general chickenness (guilty! :oops: ) 2) safety & data collection, especially on a lower PS 3) signs the dose may be too high.

The reasons you *shouldn't* back off are 1) sometimes it's the breakthrough you seek and if you back off you lose that and 2) sometimes you get WOW factor on a new dose and that will be lost on the next cycle, and it turns out that dose is still too low even though you got a good nadir once upon a time.

The difficulty IMO is really the safety factor. If you got a good nadir on shot one, you don't know if you will get an even better one on shot two. So if you won't be home to monitor, or will be asleep, there's a safety reason to pull back on the dose, even if it does result in loss of progress.

So it's often a tough choice what to do. Since you got a 75% drop on that good cycle, and were now presumably going off to sleep, it seemed to me reducing the dose was the right move. But that call could have been wrong. I only made progress with Bix when I *stopped* reducing out of fear everytime I got a good nadir.

donnahc said:
Is backing off on dose always the thing to do when the kitty gets a bounce?

There are 2 kinds of bounce and it's important to distinguish, b/c the answer is different for each. I think I'll make it my new pet peeve :mrgreen: that we use the same term for both. I usually try to distinguish "rebound" from "liver training" but I realize that really isn't clear either.

Somogyi rebound is caused by either dangerously low #s or an overly steep drop that causes their body to go into actual defense against possible hypo. If you have that, your dose is too high, and an immediate dose reduction is warranted.

Liver training rebound is caused by their body going into safe numbers that are lower than what they are used to. So generally blues or greens that they haven't seen in a long time. Their body freaks out & thinks there is a hypo danger when there isn't any actual danger. If you have that, your dose is not too high (unless it's high for other reasons, but leaving aside complexities), and you should *not* back off the dose. Backing off the dose allows their body to continue to hang out in higher #s and from what I have seen it delays regulation. This kind of rebound never wears off on it's own, and the only solution is to get them in good #s for long enough that they get used to them and their liver settles down. Some of us here on the board disagree (I think?) on how aggressively you should shoot through this kind of rebound - take it gently and gradually vs. just go for the good #s (if you can in terms of safety & monitoring) and be done with it. But regardless of the degree of aggressiveness in dealing with it, the general concept is the same I think.

As far as the dose, I think I'm in the other camp from Rob on this one. Although the drop on 4/23 I think is too much in % terms (meaning if you got a PS of 150 you could be in hypo #s by nadir time), the drop doesn't look too steep to me (can't know for sure, but basically 200 points over a few hours seems likely). You've barely gotten any action since then, and you have U-curves that look too shallow.

That said, I can't say for sure that you need 2.8, it's really just guesswork. If it were me, I would probably be trying 2.7 or a skinny 2.8, with nadir monitoring as many cycles as I could manage it.
 
Thanks everyone!

It’s a lot to digest but I think I have the gist of the rebound/liver training deal. I have a vibe that what we just saw on the 23rd (the drop to 65, then a 367 pmps) was more in the liver training realm...but I could be wrong.

I guess what confuses me is when you get something like the 4/24 pm shot that Robin pointed out, on ps of 213, a fat 2.6 gave us higher BGs the next day. Compared to all the other shoots there, that one makes no sense to me. So I guess I can’t figure on mid 200s preshoot and x units always producing the same drop.
I feel like I have one good day, followed by a few crappy ones, always fumbling for the right dose.

After reading all of this, I wish I had shot a tad less than 2.8 nailbite_smile , but that’s what we shot since I was freaked by those 300s, so I’ll test him tonight and we’ll see where he goes.

I really appreciate you guys taking all the time to explain all of this. It’s complicated for sure. But we’ll get there.

Hugs to you all :-D
 
So the answer is---it's black unless it is white! :mrgreen: that's life. Rebound, lower the dose, liver training , don't lower. Now we have to teach Asher to tell us which it is! \M/ cat_pet_icon
 
donnahc said:
I guess what confuses me is when you get something like the 4/24 pm shot that Robin pointed out, on ps of 213, a fat 2.6 gave us higher BGs the next day. Compared to all the other shoots there, that one makes no sense to me. So I guess I can’t figure on mid 200s preshoot and x units always producing the same drop.
I feel like I have one good day, followed by a few crappy ones, always fumbling for the right dose.

I don't know that anyone can really know for sure without data. He could have gone low and the higher PS the next day was a bounce, or it could be by cycle 3 on the lower dose you were losing ground and the #s starting to drift up. Or something else that just made it wonky. It's just speculation really.

If you are seeing a trend, like every time you shoot on a mid-200s you get a wonky next PS, then I'd try to get more data if possible next time you see that same kind of PS. Curve if you can, or if not, maybe try for some spot tests, maybe mix up the times on different days. I would try for a +1 and a +2 maybe on a lower PS, so you can see if the PS is zooming up or not, and then a nadir, and something like a +9 to test for rebound.

On the second point, good day - crappy day - good day, that seems to be a theme with our Asher. I'm not sure why, but he really seems very variable in his response. Maybe others will have insight. Bix was a consistent kitty (somewhat rare I guess), so Asher definitely puzzles me in that sense. You don't ever really know where you stand with him. I don't know if it's just a sign the dose has tended to be too low, or if it's something else.
 
Just an update, I don’t usually test this early but in the name of science ;)
(pmps was 324)
Overnight +4 was just 220, and he had a snack ;)

Edit:
overnight + 6: 231
+ 9: 271
amps today: 280
shot 2.8 again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top