Asher/Freestyle/Vet update

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
~O)
Hi kids:
Hope all is well out there in sugar kitty (and doggie) land.

I wanted to post last night, but yesterday was a bad day topped off with a vet visit that stresses me as much as it stresses Asher. We blasted in the door last night, had to test and feed and shoot for pmps right away, and naturally he was over 400. More stress. Then this morning was over 300 and we had to fly out of here for work right away.

We went to the vet yesterday to test all of our meters against the vet’s bench top machines, to get a fructosamine taken, and also just a general checkup and game planning session for Asher.
This was planned after we discovered he probably wasn’t regulated once we got the info that Freestyle meters can read too low. He was showing no clinical signs of diabetes, but once checked with and Alpha Trak meter, we needed to get to the bottom of this.

We tested all the meters at the vet. The Relion Micro was the closest to the benchtop machines the vet uses (Idexx vet test, and Kacey Diagnostics). It was closer than the Alpha Trak, by 13 points. Our vet said he was happy with the numbers from the Relion Micro and we should use that meter for sure. He also drew blood for the fruc test and we should have that info in a few days.

The freestyle meter isn’t even worth discussion of keeping. It read 197 points lower than the vet’s machine! In all our tests at home and now at the vet, we can determine the FS isn’t bad at low numbers (like the 80s) , but once the real reading is over 2-300, it is awful. It’s going in the bin.

We decided we will let Asher settle in at 3.8 for a couple days, if he’s still high, we will move to 4 units. The vet doesn’t think these doses are too high and that we should continue with ProZync.

The tougher news is first off, Ashers teeth are bad again. He just had a dental in April of last year, but he has one loose molar, and all his teeth need to be cleaned. No infection yet, but soon if we let this go. So, we have to march back to the vet next Wednesday. I was really disturbed by this. Never thought this would be an issue so soon. Hate to have to stress him again, probably around the time we’ll get his numbers in line. It is very frustrating. But the teeth are bad enough that we can’t put it off, so that is the decision. The thought of two hours (there and back total) in the car with him crying sends me into a panic. Not to mention the worry again of anesthesia.

Secondly, Asher went from 19 lbs last Jan to 21 this Jan. The vet would like him to loose 5 lbs. So he has suggested we cut his foot intake by 1/3 and we play laser more often. The food thing is going to be hard. Today I have already substituted catnip for treats. He has come to ask us a few times since we got home after lunch. He is a hoover kitty and wants food all the time. It’s going to take some patience. He is not going to be happy with us.

So we are going to try to get his numbers down as soon as possible. And then start over again after next Wednesday. We’ll need some prayers for Asher, and our pocketbook too. Timing is just never good on any of this stuff. But, this too shall pass. So we are taking it one day at a time, or trying to.

Thanks again for all your concern and support.
 
sorry Asher has dental issues cat_pet_icon I don't know how you do it I just have to take callie less than a mile to the vet and by the time were there I'm a wreck :shock: and good luck with the less food when they look at you with those begging sad eyes its hard not to give in (I would have to go outside last summer) can't now its to cold and snowing an blowing !
 
Just a thought about feeding...

Two of my three cats are also "Hoover Kitties." They practically eat without chewing. A few days ago, though, my wife came up with a little trick that seems to be slowing them down.

Instead of just plopping the pate onto a plate, we now smear it on the inside walls of a bowl. Whereas it used to take only a minute or two for Melville and Baxter to clean their plates, it now takes them close to ten minutes. They really have to work for it. It's kind of funny watching them twist their bodies around trying to get a good angle to unstick the food. I can't say that I have been able to reduce the amount of food they're eating, but it at least slows them down.

Good luck, and thanks for sharing your Freestyle experience with us.
 
Very interesting about the meters. I know the 3.8 sounds like a lot, but it appears that the higher dose is becoming more of the norm for the prozinc kitties. My Kitty, is getting close to 3.8 tid...so, the 3.8 dose doesn't alarm me!

Sorry about the dental.

I will add you and Coverboy to my prayer list.....and your pocketbook too! My net worth took a hit this week!!!

Good luck....
 
First off, the Freestyle meters are crap, so they may as well be tossed by everyone; useless and a waste of your money.

For feeding, try using an autofeeder, Petsafe has a 5 section one at Petsmart and other places that is very good, and you can also water down the pate foods. Build up to equal parts water and food. The water is great for the body, and it fills up the cat and slows down the eating.
 
Hi Donna,
Sorry you had such a bad day.
I had the same problem with Shakes teeth when I took him,
he had 5 teeth pulled in August and he needs another dental 5 months later
so thinking about it could it be because we thought they were regulated but actually
they have been higher than they should be for awhhile...just thinking out loud!
I am praying for everyone pocketbook, mine included as I know how freakin expensive
this can be..
thanks for the info on the meter but I think I will stick with the Alph for a little while as the relion
is quite a bit higher that the alpha and that would just give me a nervous breakdown!
Good luck with the 3.8 I am praying that works for Asher!
Hang in there!
Denise and SHakes
 
Thanks for your thoughtful replies and suggestions everyone. We do add water to the kitty’s food already. Asher was a UTI cat before he was diabetic, and the water helped a lot so we continued it. Kitty soup we call it :)

So today we cut down on food as the vet suggested. Catnip was very popular today ;) I think civvie Alby is more bummed about the diet than Asher.

This morning we had amps of 354 (yuk) but stayed with the dose of 3.8 just to hope he settled in a bit. I thought we’d have to raise that this weekend. And then tonight for pmps we had a surprise, 118/116. I checked it twice. So we waited a half hour, then retested and got 153. We fed and shot a reduced dose of 3.2 and obviously we will be testing all night. I think the reduced food intake and no stress today had all to do with this lower number. So...the dance continues.

It’s been a crazy week, and tgif, so I am off to mix a drink. Hope you’ll all join me! drinking24

We’ll keep you posted :mrgreen:
 
Donna,
Sorry everything is in an upheaval again for you and Asher.
The vet visits don't sound fun, the cutting down on the food doesn't sound fun, but hopefully things will improve soon.
Take care and I'll pray for you and Asher!
 
The week from hell so I am so up for a drink tonight!
GREAT PRESHOT!!!!
hopefully you are getting somewhere
nad maybe you can keep him down by shooting the low number
Fingers toes and paws crossed, at least until I have my drink!
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :YMPEACE: \M/ :YMHUG: dancing_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top