Asher, finally updated the SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Morning kids ~O) Hoppy Easter :-D

At Carl’s suggestions (ribbing :lol: ) I updated our spreadsheet. See what you guys think. We tried the sliding scale for about a week. Seemed to us we should try 3.2 during day and 3.0 at night, so that’s what’s going on now. Still have the nasty 300 preshots we just can’t shake, oh and he went to 68 last night at +5 (we fed after this) and then 69 at almost +6 (we fed again). Maybe I didn’t give the sliding scale enuf time to work, or maybe we just have the doses all wrong. I just see a mishmash when I look at his spreadsheet anymore.

So just when you think "maybe I have to raise", he does this going low thing, then bounces. Clinical signs all fine. He is downstairs pining for his morning treat already. About an hour early. Both kitties try to get away with more when Daddy isn’t home :)

Hope everyone enjoys this day. Sunny and very clear but chilly here in PA.
 
Good morning! :-D

Call me crazy....when I look at your SS, I'd be tempted to stick with the 2.8u for a bit and not shoot more on the bounces. Asher may need 3u but the numbers from 2.8u look mighty good (not counting the bounces).
 
I definitely see the value in a slightly lower dose at night, but it looks to me like somewhere between the 2.8 and 3.2 is still your magic number for right now. The spreadsheet looks great - some of us envy you :mrgreen: - A LOT!!!

What a great place for you to be! Keep up the good work - clearly, it's paying off with his great numbers!
 
A sliding scale can work for Asher, it takes a while to fine tune the scale as you go along. Making adjustments along the way when one of the scale steps isn't working. But you would need to be willing to reduce your dose on low blues. I'm not surprised that he went high and flat when you shot 2.8u into a 112 on 4/1. Too much insulin makes them go high as their bodies try to protect themselves from the insulin until the insulin overpowers their liver and drives the numbers down, but if you never reduce the dose on the lower numbers you will continue on this vicious cycle.

Just my 2 cents.
 
Robin I shot into the 190 something that morning not the +12 low number. But yes I see your point.
 
Love the SS comment today! The "shitty 300" came from the pretty greens last night, no big surprise there.

My gut says the dose is too high at times.
The PM cycle on 3/29 - gave you nice greens and a bounce in the morning. (2.8u)
The AM dose on 3/30 gave you a good cycle (3.2u into a bounce).
The PM dose on 3/30 gave you a good cycle too (2.6 into a 243) which put him yellow in the morning.
The AM dose on 3/31 (3.0 into a 296) looks like it was too much. He was high pink that night.


The AM dose on 4/5 looks like it was about right, and gave you a lower PMPS (276). You shot 3.0 into that, and he stayed flat (too much?)
The next AMPS was the same number, and you went with 3.2, he went lower (blue), but was pink at PMPS (too much? bounce?).
But you stuck with 3.0, and got a good AMPS on the 7th (284).
You shot 3.2 into that, and got flats again. Then you shot 3.0 and he dipped into the greens (shitty 300 was the result) overnight.

So, in general, he seems to either give you a good AM cycle, with the PMPS coming in lower, or he's flat followed by a cycle of much lower numbers.

It almost looks like when he's had a flat cycle, there's insulin "left over" that hits the next cycle, pushing him lower than you expect him to go.

I like what you did tonight, cutting back to 2.8u.
I think I would go with 3.0 on a number above 300. But, if you get a flat cycle from that, maybe a lowered dose the next cycle would be better, in case he is getting some odd overlapping going on.
I might suggest something like this:
> 300---------3.0
250 > 299----2.8
200 > 249----2.4

I you think he needs to be lower dosed PM cycles, then shave .2 off of those numbers for his PM dose, and use that scale for the AM dose?

I think a sliding scale can work for him, and it might lessen the bouncing.

Carl
 
200-250...2.6u night...2.8u day
250-300...2.8u night...3.0u day
300-350...3.0u night...3.2u day

That is the sliding scale we were using. Less at night by .2

So from your new suggestion of:
> 300---------3.0
250 > 299----2.8
200 > 249----2.4

We’d be taking about .2 off the earlier scale.

So Carl, you think we should go back to the sliding scale? I am still trying to wrap my brain around that thinking since I am just so used to holding a dose. But I will do anything to get rid of these 300s!

Thanks for taking the time to look guys, we truly appreciate it!
 
Yes Donna, I think you should give it another try, shaved a little. I guess it's sort of easy to wrap my head around a sliding scale because Bob's doses were pretty much directed at the PS numbers alone when I was dancing. My vet just said, "If he's above 300, shoot X, above 400 shoot Y, and below 200 shoot Z. If he's below 100 call me asap." That was pretty much my sliding scale. The values of X, Y and Z were adjusted, but he had pretty much 100 point divisions in his scale. When I decided to quit increasing and start decreasing, I adjusted all the doses down (without telling my vet nailbite_smile ) but kept the "100 points" concept in place.

Carl
 
And I guess we’ll shave off .2 for the night numbers? Or keep them the same as the day numbers? (since he seems to go lower at night.)
 
I'd continue to shave the .2 off the PM doses. So you have an AM scale and a PM scale, just .2 apart from each other. You'll have to figure out where to pin/hang them so you don't get them confused! ;-)

Carl
 
Tom only got confused once, but being off by .2 for a cycle isn’t the end of the world for us, we just have to pay attention if he’d go low.

I will make a new sliding scale sign for our test area and we’ll give it a go. You guys will be the first to know!

Thanks so much!
 
Good day kids: ~O)
Well, so far Teresa and Carl are on to something here. Numbers are better on reduced dose/lower sliding scale (touch wood).
Today we had amps of 251, shot 2.8, and +6 of 167, so safe respectable numbers. We’ll see how it goes.
Thanks to you all for the support and good vibes always :-D
 
Just checking in on you and Coverboy Asher! Looks like you might be on to something with the sliding scale! Good Luck!
 
Thanks Carl. I was amazed. But he did bounce tonight, we got a 310 somethin' pmps. I think he went fairly low late last night and this was rebound. We shot 2.8 tonight.
 
Yeah, I expected the bounce, since he dropped at some point after nadir and before AMPS to lower than that AMPS number I am assuming. And then again after AMPS. Not a bad 24 hour stretch for the Cover Boy. :smile:

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top