Asher did good!

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone:
Asher did good today. We were away for work if you remember, and gave a reduced dose last night and this morning for safety’s sake.

I expected him to be sky high (and he really wasn’t) this morning and tonight, being that we only gave him 1 unit last night and this morning.

Amps was 336, and tonight pmps was 313.

In the last thread, Joanna was saying maybe he was still overdosed at 2 or 1.8 units due to his number going down throughout the day and still being low around pmps. Could it be that maybe his dose is somewhere in the 1.5- 1.8 range?

We were wondering what you guys thought about tonight’s dose. We’ll be here overnight and could test, and we’ll be here all day tomorrow too.

Thanks for all your help :)
 
Glad he did well!

The two times you got a long duration and weren't able to shoot the regular dose at pmps were 2 units at 391 amps and 1.8 units at 245 amps. So I would think that you might try 1.6 for a few days and see what happens? What do you think, Donna?
 
I just was wondering about 1.8 or 1.6 myself. I am happy to go for 1.6 and we’ll see where that goes.

I am amazed his amps and pmps was close in number and is that the goal? (to have them be close but have all the numbers be in a good range?)
 
I would think you could call him regulated. :razz: This is a chart from the FDMB:

Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
 
Yay! You can kind of set your own goals really depending on what you want. I always like PSs around 150 - 180 and nadirs around 50 - 80. To a large extent it depends on what your cat gives you. Some cats do a 300-100-300 thing pretty steadily, others will give you 150-50-150, others are all over the map and harder to predict.

To some extent it also depends on the nadir. If you have nadirs of say 60, you have to take whatever PSs you get, there's no room for a dose increase. If you have steady PSs but the nadirs are maybe 150, then you would want to increase some and try for better #s if you can. That is more aggressive though than some people want, and there's nothing wrong at all with steady, decent #s even if they aren't green.
 
p.s. that said ;-) I think if he can continue to spend some solid time in upper greens and lower blues, you may see a nice dose reduction path, so if I were you I would aim for that.... if you know you have a lifer you may have more moderate goals, but when you have a cat who is responding well and has a good chance for pancreas healing, I say go for it to the extent that you can without over-stressing over it (that ship has probably sailed anyhow... LOL)
 
Asher is only 7 so I hope maybe he can heal. I don’t know what to think on that. We’ll just aim for the best numbers we can.

I feel blessed he never really acted sick thru all of this. Even when he lost a little weight and was peeing a lot and we took him to the vet for the dx, he was still playing and doing Asher type stuff all the time.

So all that being said, would a good plan of attack be to stay at 1.6 for a couple days and then see what to do next, or do we make decisions ps by ps?
 
If your schedule and stress level permit PS to PS decisions you can do more fine-tuning that way, but for a lot of people that is really too tough to contemplate. If you want to set a dose you will try for a couple days, and only adjust it sooner if you get unexpected low #s, that makes sense to me. Having shot 1u a couple shots now too, you may find the response on the 1st shot at 1.6 is so-so, and better on the next shot or two. Really it is up to you how you approach it! As long as you don't have ketones and he feels/acts fairly well, there is no need to be super-aggressive unless that is what you want to do.
 
Yes, we check his ketones once a week and so far neg, thank goodness.

Ok Joanna. here we go :)

Thanks SO much for all your insight here.

I can grasp the theory and tech once I live with it awhile. Sometimes it’s just hard to make decisions because you’re emotionally involved too, but the stress level is getting better for me :)

That is until we have to take him in for his dental, then I’ll be stressed again. But I’d like to get him a bit more regulated first if we can.

Thank god for you wonderful people and FDMB. We appreciate you all so much!
 
We got thrown a little curve this morning (Saturday), Asher’s amps was 131. So.... since we shot a rich .5 units into that number before, we did .6 units this morning (since we are using the U100 syringes now). He ate like a piggy today too, but he ate less yesterday when we were away.

We’ll keep you posted. Didn’t want to shoot much on such a low number this morning, so tonight he may be high. I am guessing it may take a couple days to get back to a routine and our 1.6 units we are going to try.

Or, he’s up to something new. Always keeping us on our toes, this oreo kitty :mrgreen:

-d.
 
He does throw interesting numbers. Just when you think you might have him figured out. You are going to become our resident dosing expert before this is over.
 
Ha Sue! I can’t imagine me being an expert on anything at this point!
We’re just doin the best we can with great help from you guys.

We’ll try to get some numbers in today to see what’s goin on (like he’d tell us, hee hee). We are having another ice “event” today here in eastern PA, so we won’t be goin’ anywhere....

-d.
 
Oh Donna I'd be anxious with every dose, but what an exciting type of anxiety to have!
 
Wow, so here is an interesting day:

amps: 131, shoot .6 units, +3: 194, +5: 184, +7: 194

So far all in the blues on only .6 units? Could this mean anything or nothing?

And we see no curve here like 150, 50, 150. Should our goal be to do that? I know we’d like to keep the amps and pmps similar but Tom and I were both curious if it should go up and down or if kind of steady is ok too.

So many questions.....

:)
 
We got it from the vet the day he was dx, Jan 3.
Bottle expiration date is April 2012...so I hope it’s good.
We roll it gently in our palm before filling syringe. It’s been in the fridge since we brought it home.
 
Nope I am sure it went in. Being extra carful with these new U100 syringes because the needles are indeed shorter.
But (dumb question coming) if we did get a fur shot, wouldn’t he be up in the 400s?bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
 
I’m real sure it went in so I guess we’ll see what happens next.
We’ll be doing his pmps prob within an hour or so.
If he’s over 200, I guess we’ll try the 1.6 again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top