Asher checkin’ in

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi kids:
Hope all is well out there in kitty land. Things have been crazy as of late but today is a quieter rainy day and Tom is on a small trip to see his folks, so I had a little time to say hi and check in.

Asher is at 2.8 units BID right now. He is usually hits blue for mid day and 200s for preshoots. Not always, sometimes we are in 200s most of the day. Makes me wonder if I need to raise but.....

Our vet checked in on his spreadsheet and was a little worried that we were going too low. (Back when he was on 3.1 units he hit a 40, with no symptoms, one day at +10) So those greens scare the vet.

His words to me: "Some of those numbers are really scary. If Asher is at 40 or even 80, then there is a serious risk due to hypoglycemia. In cats the renal threshold is 300, this means that when the glucose goes 300 or over, it spills into the urine and there is glucosuria. This can predispose to infections and other problems. If you keep Asher around 200 then there is less chance of hypoglycemia at some point during the day.”

So he wants us to do a glucose curve at home one day soon, but said “keep up the good work” so I guess he’s not too worried :shock:

So there is where we are. Spreadsheet is current if anyone is interested to check out the numbers. Now I must go downstairs and get out the chicken because mr sugar kitty is clammoring for his mid day snack...pretty loudly! cat(2)_steam
 
I've been wondering about modifying the ranges and re-coloring the spreadsheet, so that green was the "normal range" then yellow for values above that to the glucosuria level.
 
Hi Donna,
Been wondering how you 2 were doing...an by the looks of Ashers SS
he is doing really well!
wonderful for you guys!
Keep up the good work!

Densie and Shakes
 
So we ran a curve today from +4 on.
Kind of odd the way it worked....

amps 200, shot 2.8
+4 159
+6 169
+8 217
+10 195
pmps 175, shot fat 2.6
 
His words to me: "Some of those numbers are really scary. If Asher is at 40 or even 80, then there is a serious risk due to hypoglycemia. In cats the renal threshold is 300, this means that when the glucose goes 300 or over, it spills into the urine and there is glucosuria. This can predispose to infections and other problems. If you keep Asher around 200 then there is less chance of hypoglycemia at some point during the day.”

"Normal BG scares me!!!". Hmmmm, if you can "keep him around 200", why wouldn't it follow that it was also good and possible for you to "keep him around 100"? Do you figure the vet believes that Asher will just remain at the levels he lives in now, and that he'll always be a 2 shot per day kitty? I'm not saying that's wrong, or that it isn't perfectly fine. Having a kitty that is this stable sure beats the heck out of a roller coaster ride.

What I find fascinating is that with this "high" a dose - compared to other's who are shooting micro doses - is that Asher handles the insulin and doesn't drop drastically. He's doing terrific, looks like to me. I guessing he's acting like he's doing terrific too, which is what really matters.
Carl
 
Well, you know that I have never understood Asher. I agree with Carl, he requires more insulin than most cats, but with the way you dose him, he stays at very nice numbers. No question he is regulated, happy and healthy. What more could your vet want?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top