? "As-Needed" Dosing - Am I doing this the right way?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robin&BB

Member Since 2013
Bat's 7-day & 14-day BG averages had been at <130 (on Alpha Trak meter) for over 2 weeks, so tried her OTJ starting Friday morning.

Did well for 3-1/2 days, then she popped a 195 PMBG at mealtime last night. So I fed her, then shot <0.15 U ProZinc, as was worried she'd rise well into the 200s without it. But appears that may have been a fur-shot (drat!) as I saw no real nadir overnight - please see her current spreadsheet numbers. I mini-dosed her again this morning, even though her AM # was an ok 163. I'm thinking that when her BG is more than 150-160 at either am or pm meal time, I should give her that insulin bump. (?) And if it's below that, would withhold the dose.

Has anyone had any success with an "as-needed" approach when down to this type of mini-dose? (I did read the thread about variable/as-needed doses under "advanced" in the PZI Sticky, btw, but that was discussing cats on much higher doses ...)

I guess what I'm really asking is: Am I handling this correctly? Or should I not have panicked when I saw that 195? It seems like Bat-Bat is right on the cusp, and I just don't want to do anything to set her back - & sure don't want her crossing that renal threshold. (Am feeling a bit discouraged; I guess I was really hoping she'd finally turned the corner.)

Thanks for any input anyone can provide. - Robin

P.S. Don't know if a major weather change makes any difference, but it abruptly went as hot as blazes (upper 90's) here on Sunday - yep, the AC is on; it will hit near 100F. this week. (She's doing great on her "5 Ps," regardless. Not quite as playful in this heat, though!)
 
As needed works just fine with ProZinc, Robin. Not sure why she jumped up after a while in lower ranges. It could have been anything - seeing a squirrel outside, too hot and stressed about that. Who knows. But I would have done the same thing you did. ( I love the dog in that movie who reacts madly every time he sees a squirrel…) Hope she drops back down into lower ranges for you.
 
As needed works just fine with ProZinc, Robin. Not sure why she jumped up after a while in lower ranges. It could have been anything - seeing a squirrel outside, too hot and stressed about that. Who knows. But I would have done the same thing you did. ( I love the dog in that movie who reacts madly every time he sees a squirrel…) Hope she drops back down into lower ranges for you.
Thanks, Sue. Knowing you would have handled it the same way is reassuring! I got a nice 151 tonight at mealtime, so did not dose her; will ck. her around +3/ +4 tonight to see where her # goes from that start-point. Didn't even occur to me that she may have seen something outside: There are lots of birds outside her windows here; a neighbor's cat comes around sometimes, too - she doesn't like other cats. (Antisocial!) So maybe she was just agitated ...
 
Where is the 'advanced' reading?? I guess it is too early as I cannot find and would love to read
thanks!
Robin, So glad you seem to be reaching OTJ
 
There is a sticky at the top of the forum with some interesting stuff:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ase-read-newbies-and-oldies-links-info.32799/

Some of it is just discussion threads about various topics, some are topics we wrote, some stuff is quite old. It is interesting and sometimes informative, but I'd ask about anything you are unsure about. There is a section called advance topics which has as needed dosing. I am guessing that is what Robin meant.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top