? Arya: 2/28, AMPS 411, 3U, PMPS 369, neg ketones, increase?

KatieBDZ

Member Since 2020
Yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...u-pmps-355-2-316-5-5-417.226294/#post-2535197

Having a hard time still getting the ketones test, may try to pick up the monitor that checks both or trying cellophane but it will be easier when I'm home/awake for longer. She ate well this morning, found a wet food she likes but still letting her eat a lot of dry food. Wondering if it's time for an increase? Haven't gotten out of the pinks at all for the past few days :( and last night's +5.5 was 417. Today is her last day of antibiotics too!
 
What does dosing method = 'Custom' mean?

As long as she's eating dry food, what's the carb content of that? Numbers may continue to run higher. Is she on the dry food due to history of DKA?
 
What does dosing method = 'Custom' mean?

As long as she's eating dry food, what's the carb content of that? Numbers may continue to run higher. Is she on the dry food due to history of DKA?
If you look at some of my previous posts I've been told not to change her food yet and to accelerate dosing faster than you would in the other methods because she is post DKA/HL so I wrote custom for now until she's considered recovered..she was released from the ER vet on 2/17. @Bron and Sheba (GA) and @Wendy&Neko have been helping!
 
I vote for an increase tonight. That should give you tonight and the weekend to get some spot checks during the day. Good luck with the ketones test. I like the idea of the blood meter at this point. How is she feeling/acting? Still eating lots?

The antibiotic - what kind and was it pill or liquid? The wet food she likes, which one?
 
I vote for an increase tonight. That should give you tonight and the weekend to get some spot checks during the day. Good luck with the ketones test. I like the idea of the blood meter at this point. How is she feeling/acting? Still eating lots?

The antibiotic - what kind and was it pill or liquid? The wet food she likes, which one?
Ok! How much of an increase? 3.5 or 3.25? And do you know if I can get the ketones blood meter from a CVS or something? And she's still eating a lot and acting playful/happy. The wet food she liked was the soulistic chicken and lamb, my other cat liked the chicken and tuna. I left her a serving of it today during the day and she ate it all (plus a cup of dry food I left her both)..she is eating very well.

The antibiotic was a pill, zeniquin 14.5 mg daily (half a pill).
 
And do you know if I can get the ketones blood meter from a CVS or something?
I don't think so.
ADW Diabetes carries blood ketone test meters.
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/search.aspx?keywords=ketone meter

If you needed other diabetic testing supplies, that may be a good choice right now.
Amazon would have them also.
Walmart has a few of them that you can order online.

There are probably other places to purchase a ketone blood test meter, but I don't know where off hand.

Member Juls and Billy purchased a Precision Xtra blood glucose and ketone meter through Amazon. You have to get the ketone strips for it, they are different than the glucose ones. They run about a dollar a strip, but she only uses this meter for ketones and she said it worked great for her "shy pee-er" Billy.
 
Back
Top