Hope and Aria
Active Member
Hey all! I'm Hope and I have two wonderful 15 year old girls who I picked out when their litter was born. My Aria was diagnosed w/ diabetes last year after we noticed that she had all of a sudden gotten SO skinny and bony. We were told by our vet that we would probably have to euthanize her, but she had always been healthy before (and this was such a shock to us) that I took her home, cried, cried again then told him that I wasn't prepared to do that.
In the last year, she's been on PZI, then Vetsulin when PZI ran out and now they switched us to ProZinc. I learned how to home test about 3 months after Ari's diagnosis and now I'm at the point of disagreeing with some of the younger vet's decisions. I found one of the vets (there are several at the practice) is very willing to work with me and my home testing and she's on board with helping me through TR. Every time we switch insulin's the regulation process starts over and it's just exhausting.
She's on a complete FF wet food diet and I've run 3 days of 12 hour curves (every 2 hours) to see how she reacts to ProZinc. The nadir for her seems to be right at 7-8 hours instead of 6. I had one time where it was at 8. Her numbers suggest that she drops 130-150 per unit of ProZinc. I keep her numbers in an excel sheet that does all my graphing and calcs for me which is quite nice. I'm not sure where I should post my numbers for help here, so if this isn't the right place, I apologize confused_cat
2/23/10 - Odd day - coming off a rebound
+7 FF Fish (husband fed w/o telling)
+9 FF Chicken
amps +12 - 364 - 2 units
+2.5 - 346 - FF Fish (didn't realize hubby had done this earlier)
+4.5 - 279
+7 - 246
+8.5 - 241 - FF Chicken
+11 - 376
pmps +12 - 411 - 2 units
2/24/10
+10 - 502 - FF Chicken (beggars)
amps +12 - 477 - 2 units
+2 - 353
+4 - 227 - - FF Chicken
+7 - 163
+8 - 178
pmps +11 - 431 - 3 units - FF Chicken(vet said to make her night dose earlier if numbers rising)
+2 - 388 - tested because she fell off the couch while sleeping on the arm. She's done this before and it always freaks us out.
2/25/10 - starting TR
amps +12 - 68 - No Shot Given -- FF (saw her eat a little. she's eaten well the last few days)
+14 - 176 - .5u (here we go! whiskers crossed)
+2 - 256 (273 on ReliOn - got a 2nd monitor for cheaper strips)
+4 - 279 (ReliOn) - hasn't hit over 300 so that's nice.
+6 - 259 - huh? Ok. that's odd. Going to get another reading.
+6 - 259 - 1 u - (Accucheck) so that's correct.. Since her bg usually drops by @150 per unit, I'm going conservative.
+3 - 256
(ETA latest reading)
If anyone has any advice/insight, I'm all ears. I've read so much about FD in the last 6 months, my mind boggles.
Hope & Aria (and her civvie sister Gira)
In the last year, she's been on PZI, then Vetsulin when PZI ran out and now they switched us to ProZinc. I learned how to home test about 3 months after Ari's diagnosis and now I'm at the point of disagreeing with some of the younger vet's decisions. I found one of the vets (there are several at the practice) is very willing to work with me and my home testing and she's on board with helping me through TR. Every time we switch insulin's the regulation process starts over and it's just exhausting.
She's on a complete FF wet food diet and I've run 3 days of 12 hour curves (every 2 hours) to see how she reacts to ProZinc. The nadir for her seems to be right at 7-8 hours instead of 6. I had one time where it was at 8. Her numbers suggest that she drops 130-150 per unit of ProZinc. I keep her numbers in an excel sheet that does all my graphing and calcs for me which is quite nice. I'm not sure where I should post my numbers for help here, so if this isn't the right place, I apologize confused_cat
2/23/10 - Odd day - coming off a rebound
+7 FF Fish (husband fed w/o telling)
+9 FF Chicken
amps +12 - 364 - 2 units
+2.5 - 346 - FF Fish (didn't realize hubby had done this earlier)
+4.5 - 279
+7 - 246
+8.5 - 241 - FF Chicken
+11 - 376
pmps +12 - 411 - 2 units
2/24/10
+10 - 502 - FF Chicken (beggars)
amps +12 - 477 - 2 units
+2 - 353
+4 - 227 - - FF Chicken
+7 - 163
+8 - 178
pmps +11 - 431 - 3 units - FF Chicken(vet said to make her night dose earlier if numbers rising)
+2 - 388 - tested because she fell off the couch while sleeping on the arm. She's done this before and it always freaks us out.
2/25/10 - starting TR
amps +12 - 68 - No Shot Given -- FF (saw her eat a little. she's eaten well the last few days)
+14 - 176 - .5u (here we go! whiskers crossed)
+2 - 256 (273 on ReliOn - got a 2nd monitor for cheaper strips)
+4 - 279 (ReliOn) - hasn't hit over 300 so that's nice.
+6 - 259 - huh? Ok. that's odd. Going to get another reading.
+6 - 259 - 1 u - (Accucheck) so that's correct.. Since her bg usually drops by @150 per unit, I'm going conservative.
+3 - 256
(ETA latest reading)
If anyone has any advice/insight, I'm all ears. I've read so much about FD in the last 6 months, my mind boggles.
Hope & Aria (and her civvie sister Gira)